We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“serene living in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Ridge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Ridge Lodge
Ranked #35 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“serene living in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Pine Ridge Lodge was more than I could ask for- a rugged, yet extremely comfortable, all natural, humble, and very beautiful place to lodge in the Cayo district in Belize. The lodge is very close to the Caracol ruins, about an hour drive. I would love to comment on the food that was prepared for us every night, it was not typical Belizean food, but it catered to the amazing tastes of all foreigners alike. A nice gentleman who was the "caretaker" of the lodge, who's nickname was Ri, was so hospitable, and very knowledgeable of the country. There are only about 4-5 cabins, each with their own unique structures, and the grounds are covered in beautiful orchids. Overall, I would recommend this place, especially if you are wishing to get away from the technology-clad cities, for this place was the ultimate tranquil lodging

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie8605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

Spent 3 nights in this great remote location, my second time in the region. The cabanas are spacious and very comfortable. No electricity: who cares, enough kerosene lamps light up your evening. Plenty of hot water in the shower too. All meals at the lodge were sumptuous and elegantly prepared by local Mayan senoritas. The hosts, Stuart and Brenda, a lovely Canadian couple, are great company and will make sure your stay in the area is one to remember.
From the lodge you can explore Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, a day trip to the exotic Mayan ruins of Caracol, view 1,000 foot Falls, walk through the amazing Rio Frio cave, swim at Rio On pools, or simply explore the trails through the pine forest and rainforest and visit numerous small waterfalls. There is plenty to keep you busy for a few days.
You will need a vehicle with high clearance to get here, as the road is quite bumpy, but its well worth the effort. Booked accommodation over the internet without any problem.
Nature lovers will be delighted with the abundant and exotic birdlife in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandpiper176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We spent 4 nights and liked everything about Pine Ridge Lodge. First and foremost, the managers, Brenda and Stuart, are not only totally attentive but are terrific company. After a long day seeing Mayan ruins or caves, we really enjoyed coming back, having a beer with them, and chatting -- quite a lot of that, actually. The rooms are simple but very nicely kept. They have several oil lamps, so just bring flashlights, and battery-operated book lights are good if you prefer more light for reading. The food is excellent too. What's especially nice is how out of the way it is. Totally quiet except for the birds and the crickets. One other thing to know: if you are coming in from Belize City (rather than Guatamala), be sure to take the second road to Pine Ridge, out of St. Elena. The first road, out of Georgeville, is in terrible shape even for 4-wheel drive. You'll save time and your car.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triceucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at the Pine Ridge Lodge for 5 nights, looking for a unique jungle experience. We found it! The cabanas are simple, yet clean and comfortable, and the kerosene lighting adds to the charm.
The staff is friendly, helpful and lots of fun to be around, especially during the communal breakfasts and dinners. Brenda and Stewart do a fabulous job as managers, and Gary has made sure the grounds and facilities of his lodge remain top-notch. By the way, he is easy to reach by email, and is quick to respond to any questions or concerns, and gives lots of helpful hints for your travel experience.
Yes, you must have flashlights, and make sure everything is charged up beforehand, since there is no electricity at the lodge. That said, you will be in for a real treat during your stay. Relax in the hammocks (be sure to ask for hints on how to get out of one before attempting this!), stroll the grounds, dip in the river on the property, hike to the waterfall, and enjoy bird sightings (toucans and parrots!). And at night, the starry display is absolutely incredible.
The food is delicious, beautifully presented, and plentiful. Since the roads are so rough, it's best to plan your day so that you are back at the lodge by dark, and relax for a while until dinner at 7:00. We met people from England, Ireland and the U.S. while there, and the evenings passed quickly with shared tales of adventures (Caracol, Big Rock Falls, Rio Frio Cave, Rio On pools, etc.) during dinner. It must be the air, but everyone was exhausted by 9:00, and the cool night air and sound of the river made for peaceful rest.
If waking to the sound of birds and a rushing river while the sun burns away the morning mist, and enjoying unspoiled natural surroundings is for you, then come to Pine Ridge Lodge.

  • Liked — Comfort, and access to sights
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnestNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston Taylor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

This hotel is rustically charming. It does not have electricity, but has lamps. The evening stars are brighter than most places you will go, because of the rural darkness. The property is large and most rooms are spaced far apart. We slept to the sound of a small river.

The food is excellent. It is surprising that in the middle of the woods, food can be this good. The food here is better than the more expensive hotels near by. The menu changes nightly.

A 4x4 should be required up here, because some of the roads can be tough. The local waterfalls and ruins are recommended. The flies will bite and are tough around this area, but it is still worth it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarstonTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

We stayed at the Pine Ridge Lodge in March 2007 and had a wonderful time. We are active outdoor adventure lovers and wanted a nice place to decompress after traveling before launching full bore into our adventures. The Pine Ridge Lodge was a very relaxing and beautiful answer to this need. The cabanas were gorgeous, the staff imensely friendly, the food to die for and the grounds were amazing. Grounds included several miles of breathtaking trails, swimming holes and waterfalls. Plus it is within driving distance for a visit to the amazing Caracol Mayan ruins.

The one detail that was a bit of a buzz kill which had nothing to do with the lodge, was the weather was a good 10 to 20 degrees cooler and rainy compared to the coast. The change in elevation and the mountainous region really makes a noticeable difference from the weather on the ocean.

All in all a wonderful experience and we fully intend to return on our next adventure vacation to Belize.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WormtTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We stayed in Ambergris Caye for about 10 days, and then wanted to try someplace inland in Belize. We found Pine Ridge Lodge by searching on the internet. We stayed there 4 nights. It’s not some fancy resort, but very clean and comfortable, and a place you can have some privacy from the crowds.

We had a great experience there, and really enjoyed it. This lodge is fairly small and low key, with just 6-7 bungalows, and a main dining room. It is about 16 miles up a rough road, from the Western Highway. It takes about 50 minutes to get there on the rough road. You'll probably want some kind of SUV. The road is wide and safe though.

The bungalows a pretty simple, concrete block structures with a metal roof....windows has screens to keep out any bugs, (we didn't see any), and slatted blinds, you can close. Simple double bed, with mayan blankets, night stand and chair. Very clean. Bath room had nice warm shower. There is no electricity, but we enjoyed the kerosene lamps and the semi-rustic feel. Amazingly, you can drink the tap water which comes directly from the river. This shows you how remote and pristine this place is.

There is plenty of privacy between bungalows. There are some amazing gardens, which Gary and his crew have cultivated for years. He is happy to show you orchids, and other cool tropical plants. You can hang out in a screened hammock room. We didn’t have much time to do that, because of all of our day trips.

The dining is family style. You’ll meet some other intrepid travelers and dine with Vicki and Gary. Vicki directs the kitchen, and they make all kinds of great meals. Vicki may ask you what you prefer from a few choices, and they will make it. We don’t eat much red meat, so they fixed us some incredible vegetarian, chicken, seafood type meals. Breakfast is fairly simple, fruits, bread, cereal…all the coffee and tea you want, fresh squeezed juice. After a few days, it seems like you are eating with your family. There is an honor system cash bar. Drinks are pretty reasonable, especially the beer, for Belize.

We saw the Caracol ruins, which to me were the highlight of the whole Belize trip. Also saw Big Rock Falls, Rio Frio Cave…nice close day trip, had lunch up the road at the fancy lodge, went into San Igancio and did the ATM trip….remote, rugged trip to a big cave with hundreds of Mayan pots and human sacrifice remains…if the rivers are rising….give this one a pass (long story). We stopped on did cave tubing near Jaguar Paw on the way. It takes about 2.5 hours to get there from the Belize airport.

Pine Ridge Lodge is an awesome location to do these things from.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo hotels
0.0 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Ridge Lodge

Property: Pine Ridge Lodge
Address: Mile 18 San Ignacio-Augustine Road | PO Box 128, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Ridge Lodge offers the adventurous traveler a unique location, 5 miles within the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve, to accompany our superior accommodations, tropical gardens, orchid lined paths and terrific food. Being within the Reserve provides Pine Ridge Lodge with the best location for an exploration of the massive Caracol ruins or an investigation of the Mountain Pine Ridge and its’ wonders (Rio Frio Cave, Rio On Pools, 1000’ Falls etc.). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Lodge Belize/Cayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing