We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Actun Tunichil Muknal

Actun Tunichil Muknal
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM) Caves from San Ignacio
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This remote cave is filled with relics left over from the Mayans.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“definitely worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Like many others on this page we had Carlos take my friend and I to the ATM caves. ( We booked through David's adventure tours)

He's a fantastic guide made all the better by his enthusiasm and personable nature, cracking jokes and making sure we were all comfortable with what we were doing. Make sure you are not scared of small spaces before booking this as there are some pretty tight squeezes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mcspazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    29
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a legitimately amazing tour. The cave itself is pretty cool, with a (very) short swim at the entrance, and then a reasonably long hike through the tunnel complex. This part of the hike essentially takes place in a river, so your feet are wet pretty much the entire time. There are a few relatively tight squeezes, so not for the claustrophobic. Then you get to the dry portion of the cave, with bigger chambers and the typical cave formations.

What makes this truly amazing, though, are the mayan artifacts in this part of the cave. The pottery, the bones, all this material that should be behind glass in a museum somewhere, just sitting on the floor of the cave. And imagining the folks who created these artifacts, hiking through the cave and using it many centuries ago - really amazing.

You should probably be moderately fit. No part of the hike was all that difficult, although the footing can be a bit slippery in places. And if you are at all claustrophobic, probably not a good attraction for you. But otherwise, highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jodydavis617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a fantastic tour with Carlos Panti. He is clearly passionate about the cave and the entire area, and that makes for both an exciting and very informative experience. The hike to the cave and the caving itself are at a slow enough pace that Carlos has a chance to cover every aspect – archaeology, geology, biology, etc. Can't recommend him highly enough. His email is carlos.caveguide@yahoo.com, and you can call him at 501/669-7619 or 501/668-5552.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ajabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ATM and the Cave Queen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are in the area and want the experience of a lifetime, this is for you. Being 58 and in fair shape, I was apprehensive about this tour. Thanks to Carlos Panti and his great lead, I was able to conquer this challenging and exciting tour. This tour is rated #1 for good reason and you will not be disappointed. You will swim, crawl and climb your way deep within the cave and experience incredible Myan artifacts and remains up close and personal. Carlos is an incredible guide and we were totally entertained from start to finish. This experience is over the top. Thank you Carlos for an adventure of a lifetime. The Cave Queen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Breathtaking!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide Danny was awesome! He works with Mayan heart world a small what looks like a mom and pop tour guide service. Which cost us around $80. And was worth every penny! After a 45min hike through the jungle we jumped in the water and swam into the cave. Once in the cave the adventure starts! Danny knew everything about the cave and gave us so much information. Artifacts date back around 700Ad. No need to say any more... If u have the opportunity make sure to do it!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Actun Tunichil Muknal also viewed

 

Been to Actun Tunichil Muknal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing