We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Xunantunich

Xunantunich
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch
More Info
$137.50*
and up
Xunantunich Mayan Ruin And Cave Tubing
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Xunantunich and Cave Tubing from San Ignacio
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have loved mayan history for quite a while now. I wasn't disappointed here at all. They're the best ruins I have seen in person. It's a very easy walk, no need to be extremely fit, very easy for the everyone to walk. The people here are very friendly and not overly pushy to purchase any souvenirs. Although I do admit I did buy some things. You won't be disappointed here. I visited back in 2011.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    230
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“View From The Top”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

These ruins are so amazing to see in person. If you are in Belize
This is a must see! They are so huge and the history is so interesting. We booked a tour thru Caves Branch and our guide was great. I would recommend using a guide because you find out much more about the ruins. The view from
The top is amazing and an unforgettable feeling being up there. This is a must see!

Helpful?
Thank wohdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Really fun to look around, see the carvings the Mayans did, see the surroundings from high up on the castle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy access to spectacular views.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This ruin is in great condition and provides beautiful views of the plaza structures as well as the surrounding hills. It is located less than 20 minutes from the center of San Ignacio and is very near to the Guatemala border. As with many of the other attractions in Belize, it is $10BZ per person to tour the grounds and visit the interpretive center. Most of the language and information in the interpretive center seems recycled and quite similar to the other ruins we visited. The facilities (including the bathrooms) are new and well kept.

Save some money (or a lot, depending on the tour company) by taking a border taxi ($3BZ) or bus ($2BZ) to the ruin, crossing on the free river ferry, and then walking about a mile up Xunantunich. All of this can be done in less than 3 less hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit mayan ruin”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The ruins are accessible once you're driving on the western highway, close to the Belize Guatemala border.

There is some Giftshop and restroom facilities just be for you enter the site. Which Worked out great for us, after the visit we were a hurry to leave, it was a bit late for the babies.

The ruins are well excavated, they really give you an awe sensation once you have climbed to the top. On the main temple El Castillo, you can still see hieroglyphs from the time of the Maya's.

Our visit consisted of babies teenagers and adults, everyone had fun, those of us who never climbed the ruins had just as much fun in the plazas.

They were other tour group but they seem well place apart so as to not interrupt each other.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xunantunich also viewed

 

Been to Xunantunich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing