We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see in Belize” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xunantunich

Xunantunich
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Xunantunich and Cave Tubing from San Ignacio
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must see in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

These ruins are actually situated quite nicely in the trees...so on hot days there is lots of shade. Make sure to bring lots of water, there is a little store at the beggining of the tour so you can purchase water, snacks, souvenirs. We took our 2 kids with us (12 and 14) and it wasn't to hard for them..although if they were younger it wouldn't have been hard for them then either...its about a 2 hours tour..not too long. When we went Prince Harry was going to be coming the next day ..so they were super busy cleaning and such...you could feel the excitment.
A must see if you are in Belize.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalstorm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    221
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just amazing! What a beatiful view of neighboring Guatemala from atop the Mayan Ruin at Xunantunich in Belize. Deep in the rainforest sits this partially excavated Mayan City. You can walk inside the grounds and photograph the different structures and climb "El Castillo", about 130 ft. Amazing view of the extensive rainforest below and the Guatemalan border. It is about two hours from Belize City but worth visiting if you like Mayan history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not the biggest and greatest, but such a beautiful location and view. And you'll be able to avoid the crowds.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Howler Monkeys are Lurking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Mayan ruins were pretty darn cool, but for the most part similar to the others. Our tour guide with Searious Adventures was knowledgable. The thing I loved the most was that despite several weeks in Belize, this was our only sighting of howler monkeys and it was AWESOME!! They seem very used to large amounts of people and did not shy away. I am so glad we had the opportunity!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great site, small but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lying just a few miles east of the Guatemalan border, this site was small for a mayan ruin since most of its still uncovered but breathtaking nonetheless. The main ruin is the one pictured. Once you climb up to the top of the main pyramid you get a fantastic birds eye view of the rest of landscape. The whole site can be visited in a few hours and I recommend doing this tour with something else during the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xunantunich also viewed

 

Been to Xunantunich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing