We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Mayan Ruin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caracol Mayan Ruins

Caracol Mayan Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Caracol Tour from San Ignacio
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Cayo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 30-acre complex is the largest Mayan ruin in Belize.
Alton, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Mayan Ruin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Once we arrived at Caracol it was a very beautiful site still very much in the process of excavation and discovery. Make sure that the tour company you are going with has good 4 wheel drive vehicles with good suspensions as the road into the site is usually extremely bad due to the extreme rainfall in the area and it is a very long drive. It took us 2-3 hours each way. We stopped at Rio Frio and Rio on Frio which were both absolutely gorgeous. Bring a bathing suit, towel and water shoes to go swimming after visiting Caracol.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    82
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilber, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The biggest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went on this tour. The road is long and not that great, But part of the adventure! It is a huge area that is toured and was very interesting. We stopped at the Rio Falls on the way back which were fantastic. Usually the tour either stops at the falls or the pools, choose falls if you get to!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Mayan ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had an amazing day at Caracol. The road is a bit of a challenge, unless you are used to off-roading. Crossed a river with crocodiles, military escort wasn't able to escort as their vehicle was in for repair, but our guide Eric, from Crystal Paradise was fantastic. These ruiins are immense and you get the feel for what life must have been like for the natives. There is much that hasn't been uncovered, but we certainly challenged our legs in climbing what we did. There were maybe 20 people at the ruins when we were there, so you are not fighting the crowds as is so common at many of the ancient Mayan cities. This is definitely a must visit for Belize!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Milehighhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The trip to Caracol was very interesting. It was a 2.5 hour very bumpy car ride. You need to get to the Military escort point at 9:30 am to be escorted into the ruin, then you leave at 2 pm to be escorted the hour back to the point. Apparently in 2006 there were robberies on this road and so there is now a military escort to protect the tourists. The ruins themselves are still mostly unexcavated, but the areas that are excavated are very interesting. We enjoyed this trip very much. We also went to Tikal and Xunantunich. Caracol was interesting, I would not say that it was the best ruin that we saw, but the overall experience was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Belize's Best Maya Ruin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Caracol is an awesome experience. The adventure starts long before you reach the actual Maya site. The drive time from San Ignacio is 2.5 hours one way. It's less than sixty miles away, however the road is mostly dirt, rutted, and would make for a great Hummer adventure. You leave tropical vegetation for the Pine Mountain Reserve area of Belize. The pine trees look like the Lodge Pole pines of Yellowstone just not as dense. An hour's drive from Caracol you stop to join the military escort. Our guide said that previously visitors to Caracol had been accosted by robbers from Guatemala. Caracol is four miles from the Guatemala border. The military keeps the bad guys away. The ruins are awesome. The largest man-made structure in Belize can still be found at Caracol. Very impressive ruins with several preserved stones that contain Maya writing/drawings. There is ongoing research at Caracol with people living next door to the ruins. It was interesting to see Maya ruins, drying laundry, and soccer goal posts all in the same picture frame. It is a full, long day, but very worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeddyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracol Mayan Ruins also viewed

 
Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Caracol Mayan Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing