We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual hotel but a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize
Ranked #4 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What struck me most about the Eco-Village Hotel is the high level of personal service from its staff, particularly proprietor Christine and driver El Fredo. The kitchen staff were also very helpful and prepared lovely multi-course meals every night using locally grown, organic produce. The breakfast orange juice was particularly memorable for its freshness. Note the hotel does not have a wine cellar but you can consume your own wine, beer etc (these can be purchased from the nearby local shops).

My room was spacious and the air conditioner coped with the humidity quite well; there was also a refrigerator that proved useful during a stay of some days. Mosquitoes are a force to be reckoned with, particularly at certain times of the year, so repellent is a necessity.

The Eco-Village Hotel is located a little distance outside Belize City itself, which is desirable as some parts are not especially safe. However, the staff can organise a variety of excursions or arrangements can be made for the driver to take you to places such as the Belize Zoo. The zoo proved to be one of the highlights of my stay and I highly recommend it. Also the trip to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai via the river was very good indeed.

So, if going to Belize City, this hotel has much to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourne3058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here a total of 6 nights during a recent trip to Belize to visit family. Christine and her staff could not have been more gracious and hospitable. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms more than adequate. The meals there are outstanding. We did not have Christine arrange any excursions as our purpose for visiting Belize was more to visit family but in talking to another couple there who did have Christine arrange their excursions they indicated they were pleased. My wife and I would highly recommend the Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel.

Christine told us she grows a significant portion of the produce used in the meals on her property and the produce she uses from her garden is 100% organic.

There is not a fitness center nor swimming pool that I am aware of.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms because our trip was split. Both had king size beds. The mattress...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had the most wonderful 10-day trip to Belize in July 2013 for our family of 5 with kids ages 6, 11, and 12, all thanks to the coordination of the trip by Eco Village Hotel. We stayed at the Eco Village Hotel for 6 nights, and then spent one night near Tikal, Guatemala and two nights in San Pedro town. We chose an adventurous itinerary with zip lining, cave tubing, jungle horseback riding, snorkeling, exploring the ATM, and much more. We were initially afraid that it would be too strenuous for our youngest the 6-year old, but it turned out to be quite an adventure for her and the rest of us. She was able to participate in all the activities we chose and enjoyed them all.

I think what made our trip most memorable was the warm hospitality from the owner of Eco Village Hotel – Christine, and her entire entourage of staff that made us feel so welcomed. They made us feel like home, tended to our needs, and prepared for us daily the most delicious meals we have ever tasted with the freshest of ingredients. Christine made sure that we were well taken care of by giving us directions on what to prepared each day, what to expect, and by providing towels and bottle waters in the car each day to embark on our adventures. The activities all required physical strength, but they were all very interesting, educational, and enjoyable.

I highly recommend the Eco Village Hotel for your adventure to Belize. The weather was a bit humid in July and you will get wet in the caves/river streams and sometimes a little muddy from hiking and walking around, but the experience is well worth it all. Just be prepared with lots of energy, sun block, bug repellent, anti-itch cream, and water-proof shoes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We traveled in a group of 6 to Belize and stayed her for 5 nights. We tremendously enjoyed the hospitality Christine and her staff had provided. Our guide and driver El Fredo was such a loving and caring person, who took great care of us The kitchen staff prepared great meals that we kept asking them to cut back on the portions. Food was delicious and the vegetarian version was equally enjoyable as Christine and her husband are also vegetarian. It was very pleasant to have dinner with other travelers as we exchange our experience of the day. I would go back and stay at this hotel if I ever visited Belize again. The food and place were fantastic but above all it was the people who really made our trip relaxing and enjoyable. Love all the staff. Love you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the best time at the eco lodge! We did the seven day package with inclusive tours and food and it was so fun! We did the baboon sanctuary, cave tubing and zip lining, ruins, and the ATM. The ATM was really the highlight of the trip. As it was rainy season, Christine and the other staff members were constantly rearranging things so we would have the best activity for the weather of the day. Our drivers would also go "off tour" with us at our request and we got local wine, local food, and visited the prison gift shop, which was actually really cool. Then we went off to San Pedro to a lovely hotel and snorkel experience, which was also a part of the package.

And then the food... It was amazing! We ate like kings! I don't think we have ever eaten so well! I still think about the food.

The best part of the eco lodge is they are who they are. They are a lodge in the jungle and they embrace the jungle, not try to overly control it. The staff are so genuine and kind. Christine makes sure everything is perfect because she just really cares about her guests. I highly highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwillbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here with four of my girlfriends during the first leg of our Belize tour. The hotel is located in Hattieville, a village 15 minutes away from Belize City, which was perfect as we were away from the hub bub of the city itself.

Amidst the fauna and flora surrounding the hotel and lining the way back to our rooms from the main area it was hard not to feel like you weren't in a place outside of the city. Added plus for the ducks that greeted us. Also like the way how dinners and breakfasts are set up. There is a huge dinner table, so all of the guests have the opportunity to communicate with each other. Like a dinner party, minus the alcohol because they do not serve alcohol on the grounds. We made a couple of friends who were also staying as long as we were. Best food of the dinner? The Chocolate cake. Hope you have the chance to try it.

Christine is an absolute sweetheart, and we took advantage of the cave tubing/zip lining tour that was suggested by Jason. Staff on site are also very accommodating and helpful. Great value for what it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idreamstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved the "back to nature" feel of the Orchid Garden Eco-Village Hotel. We decided to pay extra for the pick up from the water taxi, eco-tour and dinner the first night we arrived. It also included the ride to the airport our last day. So glad we did. The food was so great that we decided to scrap our plans to eat in town and just let Christine and the girls prepare all three of our amazing dinners. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was just as tasty and well prepared.

Christine was very attentive and even arranged for me to us their laptop in the main lobby since my was stolen earlier that week. She had great advice about the zoo and we loved it. We stayed 3 nights and loved that there were only a couple other guests there at the time. It was off season but they were expecting a full house the week we left. For us it was a much better option to staying in Belize City.

We had hoped to use the "swimming hole", but it was out of commission during our stay. Cucumber beach is about a 10 minute ride towards Belize City and some other guests went there for the day. Despite this, we enjoyed our relaxing retreat in the jungle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.0 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize

Address: 14.5 Mile Western Highway, Belize City 225, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Belize Vacations package take in the tropical rain forests, abundant wildlife, fascinating Mayan monuments, awesome underground caves, amazing coral reefs, mangroves and wetlands; they involve activities such as world-class snorkeling or diving along the coral reef, zip-lining through the rainforest canopy, tubing through a caves branch system, jungle horseback riding, river and lagoon wildlife cruising, exploring the ruins of ancient Mayan cities and other activities to experience the beauty of the tropical ecology in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Garden Eco-Village Belize Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing