We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't as good as the reviews make it out to be”
Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belcove Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and it was not very restful. There is a restaurant down the street that plays blaring music all night long, and there was very little sound insulation to our room (which was streetside). Not really a great way to start our vacation. We didn't do much exploring of Belize City, and though I'm sure there actually is a lot to do if you spend time getting to know the area, we found little to do in the vicinity of the hotel. I wouldn't say I felt particularly safe here, nor did we feel like hanging out on the patios. Overall, I don't see the draw of this place. That being said, it was clean, it was inexpensive, and I would agree with whoever said it that an air-conditioning is a must. And yes, the pick-up from the airport is a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haywardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed there for a single night. Room was small but clean, staff friendly and willing to help.restaurant next door offers local meals filling and reasonably priced.($4-8 US).
Be aware that often prices quoted are in BZ $ which are 2 to1 $US dollars , and the locals will take advantage if they can. Confusing I belive meant to be so.
For supplies of any type try Brodies which is a short 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fls8208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Belize City is not exactly a travel destination in itself, but certainly the jumping off point to some incredible spots. I would recommend that if you are on a budget, a stay here would be a good choice. The staff aren't extra friendly, but the airport pick-up girls were great.

Even though the city might make you paranoid, the Belcove makes you feel safe and will provide you with a great balcony overlooking the river. I'm not very familiar with the city, but most people suggest not leaving the hotel at night. Given the city's vibe, I highly recommend sticking around until morning. I would recommend choosing the A/C room, even it is a few dollars more. I stayed again later in a much less cozy room, but it did the trick. Coffee in the morning is a bonus and a trip to the street vendors across from the Water Taxi Terminal will provide you with a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

we spend two nights in this small hotel. the location was great ,just beside the swing bridge and close to the watertaxi services to take us to caye caulker. the room was clean and we had a/c which was a plus in the humid belizean weather. the staff at the hotel was very friendly and we really recommend this hotel.
on the other hand, belize city is not a very tourist-oriented city. the streets are not very pleasant to walk and there isn't much to do anyway in belize city. my advice: skip belize city. if you have to choose a hotel, this is a great choice and not very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zefrenchcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

For $40 US we were kinda dissapointed. NO A/C. It had a TV, but we were told that if we used it they would charge us extra. It is located right by the bus and water taxi station in a semi-rough part of town. Very convenient if that is your intention as we had an early bus to Tikal to catch. Other than that, the room old, stuff, and hot. The window opened to a wall..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinMattS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

This place is great ! , i have stayed here several times for a week or two at a time.
I use this hotel as a base, leave all my luggage in my room, [never had so much as a penny go missing ] i walk the 20 seconds it takes to the Water Taxi Terminal, and catch a boat to differant places for day trips. The Hotel will arrange tours anywhere.
I felt very safe staying there, the desk is open 24hrs a day, and beer is available 24/7 from the front desk , at $1.50 u.s. each.
I spend many an evening sitting on the back deck overlooking the river, haveing a few cold ones.
Great Place!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamgordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

this was my first trip to belize. the staff at the hotel was really friendly. Norma arranged several trips for me and drove me on one of them. The guy who worked nights was really friendly and we chatted several evenings out on the first floor patio.

The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but i always felt safe in the hotel. the room was clean. i stayed in one of the budget rooms with a private bath. i went there knowing there would be no AC or tv, and i was fine with that. the only complaint i had about the room was the shower head was about chest high. made it a little hard to wash my hair, but it was manageable.

it would definitely stay here again if i were traveling to belize city.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclefiend2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.6 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
71 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#8 of 26 in Belize City
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coningsby Inn
Coningsby Inn
#18 of 26 in Belize City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $64 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belcove Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing