We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a safe place to stay in belize city”
Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belcove Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Belcove is not the cheepest place to stay in Belize City but it is clean and safe with good relaxing areas right on the Haulover river. It is right in the heart of town only 2 minutes walk from the swing bridge. It has a restaurant next door so you do not have to wander the streets at night to find food.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and they have a guard sitting in the corridor all night so it feels very safe. The rooms and toilets are clean. there is also some information on the notice board to help new arrivals.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor by the river which meant a bit of a trek to the toilet. An upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at The Belcove because I wanted something close to the water taxi. It's definitely in an excellent location. I also found the staff friendly and helpful, and the balcony overlooking the canal was peaceful and quiet. The room itself was fine for us since we only needed somewhere to sleep one night before heading to Caye Caulker. Although on the small side, especially the bathroom, it had a fridge and AC, and enough room for us and our stuff. Overall I was very happy with the Belcove. I do agree with the others though that it's a rough neighbourhood. We didn't feel safe when we went down to the end of the block to grab some street food as the sun was going down. I'm sure it would be fine during the day but as the darkness rolled in, so did some creepy characters!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The rooms and bathrooms were a little outdated. That being said, the place was very clean, the service was excellent and the location is perfect for travelers moving to or from the Belizean' Cayes as the water taxis are just a very short walk away. In preparation for our arrival the staff turned on our AC to cool our room and they offer free coffee in the mornings and beer at ridiculously cheap rates. The balconies are cozy and shaded in the evenings and offer a great spot to view the canal's water traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, considering the fact that its in Belize city. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room and our friends room were OK. If you go to Belize city for a few days, this place will suit your needs.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank vfiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked in advance to stay with Belcove Hotel when we made our way to Belize City. The location was right next to a canal so the atmosphere was great. I'd highly recommend this location if you're on a budget. Friendly staff and in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This place has an excellent location (close to the water taxi), is clean and has friendly staff.
The beds however are of poor quality so you should not stay here for more than one night. The rooms are also quite small.
Don't expect anything fancy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here on the beginning of a 7 day trip to Belize. The hotel was very clean, had cold beer for sale at the front desk(along with bottles water, juice, and free coffee in the mornings), the rooms were air conditioned and had large bathrooms. The rear of the hotel overlooking the river is an ok spot to enjoy a beer and unwind. Not terribly scenic, but what the heck...

Belize City is rough, but I felt safe enough in the area of the hotel.

For the cost, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalachiUri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#6 of 26 in Belize City
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $64 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belcove Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing