We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed... minus the creepy characters down the block”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belcove Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we needed... minus the creepy characters down the block”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at The Belcove because I wanted something close to the water taxi. It's definitely in an excellent location. I also found the staff friendly and helpful, and the balcony overlooking the canal was peaceful and quiet. The room itself was fine for us since we only needed somewhere to sleep one night before heading to Caye Caulker. Although on the small side, especially the bathroom, it had a fridge and AC, and enough room for us and our stuff. Overall I was very happy with the Belcove. I do agree with the others though that it's a rough neighbourhood. We didn't feel safe when we went down to the end of the block to grab some street food as the sun was going down. I'm sure it would be fine during the day but as the darkness rolled in, so did some creepy characters!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    90
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
77
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The rooms and bathrooms were a little outdated. That being said, the place was very clean, the service was excellent and the location is perfect for travelers moving to or from the Belizean' Cayes as the water taxis are just a very short walk away. In preparation for our arrival the staff turned on our AC to cool our room and they offer free coffee in the mornings and beer at ridiculously cheap rates. The balconies are cozy and shaded in the evenings and offer a great spot to view the canal's water traffic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, considering the fact that its in Belize city. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our room and our friends room were OK. If you go to Belize city for a few days, this place will suit your needs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vfiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked in advance to stay with Belcove Hotel when we made our way to Belize City. The location was right next to a canal so the atmosphere was great. I'd highly recommend this location if you're on a budget. Friendly staff and in the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This place has an excellent location (close to the water taxi), is clean and has friendly staff.
The beds however are of poor quality so you should not stay here for more than one night. The rooms are also quite small.
Don't expect anything fancy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here on the beginning of a 7 day trip to Belize. The hotel was very clean, had cold beer for sale at the front desk(along with bottles water, juice, and free coffee in the mornings), the rooms were air conditioned and had large bathrooms. The rear of the hotel overlooking the river is an ok spot to enjoy a beer and unwind. Not terribly scenic, but what the heck...

Belize City is rough, but I felt safe enough in the area of the hotel.

For the cost, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalachiUri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed one night at the Belcove before leaving Belize. We arrived at 7:30am, dropped off our bags, went to Caye Caulker for the day, then came back and checked in.

We had an air conditioned room with a private bathroom, and it had everything we needed. It was clean, the shower worked great, and the bed was fairly comfortable.

The highlight of the hotel was the balcony overlooking the river. We sat with a drink and watched the activity on the river. Very interesting.

The staff recommended a restaurant for dinner (about an 8 minute walk down a main road - we are two girls, and felt safe making the walk). They also arranged a taxi to the airport.

The location of the hotel is good, 2 minutes from the water taxi, and a short walk to the Cathedral and the tourist village (which was closed because there were no cruise ships in. Lots of stuff is closed when there are no ships in - something to keep in mind when planning an itinerary).

My only complaint was that the AC was extremely noisy - thankfully I had ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyParkSeawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.6 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#6 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Property: Belcove Hotel
Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing