We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, clean, friendly”
Review of Belcove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belcove Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Small rooms, minimally furnished--bed (quite comfortable), nightstand, bench, TV atop clothes rack. Small, tiled 3/4 bath. Fans and/or small A/C unit (depends on what you select/price). Wifi worked well. Back deck and balcony with plentiful chairs to sit and watch the birds and the boats. Easy walking north across bridge to museum, water taxi, Le Petite Café, etc. Very friendly, helpful staff--makes all the difference. They'll make calls for you if your tour guide is late or to arrange a taxi. They don't make up room daily unless you ask them to--don't want to enter an unoccupied room without your specific consent (we spent the days out touring--Altun Ha, Lamanai), and since we only stayed three nights, we decided not. They did give us extra towels on request. There's bottled water/soda/beer for sale at the front desk for minimal cost and free coffee in the morning. Didn't find much in Belize City appealing as an "end destination," but this was a comfortable, friendly budget hotel from which to head out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greyheaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Belcove is an excellent place to stay in Belize City. We only stayed one night at the Belcove, as it was just a stopping point between the airport and the Cayes. The hotel is located really close to the water taxis, as well as quite a few restaurants. The staff were wonderfully nice and helpful from the moment we got there. The room was very nice and comfortable, especially for the price. The hotel also has a nice balcony which was a great place to sit in the evening. You can also buy water, soda and beer from the reception area downstairs which was a nice touch. The Belcove was by far my favorite part of our quick stay in Belize City.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I like simple, clean, friendly hotels and this was a great hotel for me. I enjoyed sitting out along the river in back and observing the frigates, fascinating birds I had never observed before, and pelicans. The hotel was located in safe walking distance of the museum, water taxi and restaurants, but I did not find any good restaurants in the immediate area. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful, and I especially thank them for recommending Arthur O'Neal taxi transfer service for a day-trip to Altun Ha and the Baboon Sanctuary. Arthur was friendly, knowledgeable, and a great driver.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troonUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The location seems off the beaten path, but you will find no cleaner, comfier place around. Staff knows their stuff about restaurants. We were lucky there was a parking spot right out front. Could be a tough situation if more people with cars were there. Wifi was awesome and A/C was wonderful.
We had no issue with noise.
Would definitely stay there again if we go to Belize City.

Room Tip: We had a family room, which made it so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parsonpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Belize city is rather dirty, loud and bustling the Belcove was a clean, quiet, step away. The staff were prompt helpful, in fact the office attendant even walked us to the rest. she recommended as it was on her way home that evening. The room was very comfortable and immaculately kept. I would probably miss belize city next time but if I had to stop in there I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank licorice56647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here our second night in Belize. The staff was friendly and they have belizian beer for sale in the office. There are food vendors about 2 blocks away at the park that serve burgers, papusas, etc. very yummy. The hotel is a bit noisy because of the nightclub nearby and someone outside of our window was hawking snot all night long. So it was a bit noisy but not really the hotels fault. The room is quite small but we were backpacking so no problem there, the bathrooms were just down the hall and are also quite small. The only restaurants that were recommended by the staff required a taxi. We walked here from the bus station at night. Some would say its too dangerous to do that but we were only solicited once for pot and other than that it was a safe walk in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Belize City itself isn't exactly the nicest area, but this hotel made us feel very comfortable and safe. It is situated on a busy street, but the back of the hotel faces a little river where all the boats are kept, so it is nice and quiet. They have a balcony with lounge chairs where you can sit back, enjoy a cold beer and watch the boats go by. We had a room with A/C, and it was very comfortable. The best part is that it is a 2 minute walk away from the swing bridge, where you can access the water taxis that take you to Ambergris Caye and Caye Caulker. The staff were friendly, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorsaliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.7 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#6 of 26 in Belize City
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#8 of 26 in Belize City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcove Hotel

Address: 9 Regent Street West, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $69 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belcove Hotel, located in the very center of downtown Belize City, with a view of the Hallover Creek and the famous Swing Bridge, welcomes you to its friendly, comfortable and cozy atmosphere. This family owned and operated business, offers you the very best in personal comfort that makes each of our guests feel like a V.I.P indeed. Our clean, comfortable rooms offer you the choice of a budget or deluxe rate accommodation of your choice in single, double or triple occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belcove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcove Hotel Belize City
Belcove Hotel Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing