We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but very overrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'Nest Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice, but very overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

The D'Nest Inn is a cute little B &B in a safe neighbourhood of Belize City. It is close to buses to the city and a well stocked grocery store, Brodies. The owners are friendly and helpful. Gaby went out of his way to give us a ride downtown when we were off to take a bus to other parts of the country. He offered to take us to the airport for $20. Considering it is only 10 km, it is a bit steep, but it is a bit cheaper than a taxi. The room we had was cramped, but clean.

Our main quibble was the breakfast. Previous reviews and their website make it seem like a feast. We were there one day at the beginning and one day at the end of our trip. The first day we had a thin porridge, burnt toast, eggs and tea. Our family does not eat eggs, so maybe we offended the host by not eating them, because the second day was completely unacceptable. We were served very stale toast that actually had green mold on it. That is it. Our "multi course meal" was moldy toast and tea. No fruit, juice or other things mentioned by others. Considering the price we paid and what we paid elsewhere, the D'Nest Inn was not good value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
64
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

Our room at D'Nest was small but beautiful. It's off the beaten path but we were able to walk to the main highway easily. We had the most amazing breakfast and the hosts were wonderful.

  • Liked — comfortable surroundings, beautiful grounds
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msquareArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

Stayed for a night in the Parakeet room before heading to the airport. The room itself was clean. The A/C was not great, but worked.

The owners are incredibly nice and they treat you like family. They let me use their computer at no cost and they even drove us to the airport in the morning (for a fee, but still more convenient than calling for a taxi). The breakfast Oti served was definitely the best breakfast we had during our entire trip in Belize. The refried black beans were absolutely delicious!

The only thing to be aware of is that the Inn is about 3 miles outside Belize City, so if you need to be right in the City, you may want to stay elsewhere. Otherwise, I highly recommend D'Nest Inn.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euph222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

D'Nest was recommended by the Tour Company that I used (Action Boys Belize). The owners of the Inn were intent on making sure that the stay was pleasant. They are rightfully proud of their place. It's immaculate and conveniently located. I usually don't go for Bed and Breakfast places, but can honestly say that I was totally comfortable at D'Nest. Can't wait to return.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank runearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

I stayed at the inn in 7/08 - the inn keepers were more than accomodating and extremely helpful and nice; they couldn't have been more hospitable. Very laid back atmosphere. The room was nice; I felt like I was staying at a nice house vs. hotel room. The location is in a quiet district right outside of Belize City. If your travels keep you in the Belize City area and/or are only going mainland tours in the area then I recommend it. Belize City is not safe and there are solicitors everywhere there so it was a nice escape from it. If you're going to do primarily ocean-related stuff then I recommend staying in the Cayes instead as the inn is a ways away and very few (if any) ocean-related tours will pick up from here since it's out of range. It's a 25$ taxi ride from this inn to the Caye water taxi.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed here our last night in Belize and found D'Nest Inn to be a lovely ending to our trip. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the company of our hosts.

  • Liked — comfort, meeting our hosts family, food
  • Disliked — we had trouble finding a place for supper
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

I'll just update what others are saying. My mom, sister, and I stayed here one night before moving on to San Pedro. Gaby and Oty are still lovely, as is the B and B. If you have to stay in Belize City, don't bother going any where else! The neighborhood is safe and the hosts couldn't be more welcoming.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Judybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.3 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Nest Inn

Property: D'Nest Inn
Address: 475 Cedar Street, Belama Phase ll, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Nest Inn, located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood off the Northern Highway, is magical and charming with sunny and bright old world rooms and antique furniture. The garden is beatiful and filled with birds. The sea is close by and the river is just a feet away. Fishing can be done along the canal bordering the property. Make D'Nest Inn your holiday headquarters with easy access to ervery thing and place in Belize. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Nest Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing