We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont go there”

Caribbean Palms Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribbean Palms Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go there”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We arrived at Palms Inn as a plan B when our planned hostel was overbooked. We should have gone elsewhere. The receptionist was anything but helpful and instead she acted like we were an annoyance to her. When we got our room, which was basic but dirty, we found clear evidence of bedbugs all over the bed!!! The receptionist loudly denied existense of such, but neither did she care to look at our room to clear things up. Terrible service.

We ended up using our own sheets which we luckily had brought from home, and not touching anything else. The sheets were treated afterwards. We left as early as possible in the morning to get away from this messy place.

Its not even cheap from the start, and with this to top it, we can only advice you NOT to spend a single ningt at The Carribean Palms Inn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

what I have noticed in my travels in Latin America is that the term hotel or inn is loosely used. The rooms at the Caribbean Palms Inn are basic but anyone used to hostels should be right at home. We paid $30 dollars a night for a private room with bath.

The real gem of this place is that they will let park your motorcycle in the back terrace for free. It is gated with high wood fences. We parked two klr650s there with full touring gear with ease. They let us keep them there for free while we toured the islands and there was no problem with the bikes when we got back. If you are touring on motorcycle and want to go to the islands from Belize City then this hotel is a must!

To all the other commenters I agree that $50 a night might be a bit much, but if your a biker the extra amount is worth it for the safety of the parking, which in Belize City can be an issue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pazu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Not good!

Location and security was OK, but the staff were unfriendly, and the rooms were basic and quite grubby. If it was £30 per night, it would have been oK for a (very) short stay, but £50 is an outrage.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Even though we booked through expedia, guaranteed with a credit card, had our confirmation number in hand, saw our name written on their calendar, and arrived at 5pm, they gave our room away. We had to settle for a tiny $50 room.

The room had a bed with clean sheets, but was otherwise dusty, cobwebby, with smudged dirty walls and a nasty bathroom. No closet, no TV. And we discovered later that when you turned a hot water knob in the bathroom, nothing happened. Absolutely nothing. Not surprisingly, we discovered we had a few creepy crawly friends, too. Also, our window was broken and wouldn’t shut. Luckily there were bars on the window, so we weren’t too concerned about a break-in, but the open sewer running beside the road was right there.

The photos on expedia don't really look like the hotel, I wish I had thought to take some of my own. The expedia entry says there are evening snacks and a bar, but we never saw snacks (and we were in & out for dinner and evening wanderings), and the bar wasn't open this Thursday night.

Both the Rough Guide and Lonely Planet give this hotel decent reviews, but my friend and I couldn't figure out why. The only thing good about it is the (unaffiliated?) restaurant next door, Jambel Jerk Pit, which is excellent. Stay at Hotel Mopan instead.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
0.0 mi away
Coningsby Inn
Coningsby Inn
#18 of 26 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Guest House
Sea Breeze Guest House
#10 of 26 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belcove Hotel
Belcove Hotel
#9 of 26 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
La Milpa Lodge
#4 of 16 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Sombra Guest House
Bella Sombra Guest House
#7 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bakadeer Inn
Bakadeer Inn
#8 of 26 in Belize City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Palms Inn

Property: Caribbean Palms Inn
Address: 26 Regent Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribbean Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Palms Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing