We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay location, not much else”
Review of Bakadeer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bakadeer Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay location, not much else”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

In the spirit of full disclosure, I stayed at the Bakadeer with a group as a part of a church missions trip to Belize. It was our first time in the country and these accommodations were arranged for us by an outside source, so I'm not even sure what the nightly rate was (I'm assuming we got a "deal" of sorts). Because of that, it's difficult for me to assess the "value" of a stay at this hotel, as well as it's comparability to other hotels in the area.

As it is, this place is in a fairly sorry state. A lot of things are broken/worn/need replacing, and amenities-wise it's pretty bare bones - don't expect much other than a bed, a bathroom, and A/C...though in our case, that was all we really needed.

We had three rooms, they all smelled sort of musty, like someone had been smoking in them (although they are billed as non-smoking rooms). We had some key difficulties in our room upon check-in... I spotted another review which mentioned that the desk staff do their best, with not a lot of support from the owners. I would say that is true absolutely - in the key problems, the employee eventually found that the key to our room had been removed from the premises by the owners and we wouldn't be able to get said key until later that night until they returned. The girl at the front desk was very apologetic and tried her best to be helpful, but I would definitely say this hotel suffers from poor management overall.

Location-wise, this place is right in the heart of the city - which can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it. If you're looking to explore the urban area, great - you may want to be a little cautious if you are planning on walking around, especially at night in this neighborhood (even the hotel locks its front doors after dark, and will only open for guests). Belize City is a busy place and can get a little sketchy. We were travelling with a group of teenagers and didn't venture out on foot very often, only one night to go to dinner. There are not very many restaurants within close walking distance, but there is a Chinese place a couple blocks over that was great (ask the front desk staff for the name, they should know it).

If you want to do touristy stuff (ie, take a boat out to the cayes), the dock/boating companies are not far from here either - it was perhaps a 5-10 minute drive for us, and I would suggest a cab unless you are up for a walk.

Next time we are in Belize, we will probably look for a chain hotel - there is a Best Western on the outskirts of the city on the way to the airport - as we can probably get a better value than this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
22
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The two young women who staff the desk and 'trouble shoot' do their absolute best, but with no support from the owners.
In our first room, the fan did not work. In the second the air conditioner eventually came on after the desk clerk found the breaker at the main box. The fan never did work, the chains had disappeared. There was no water - hot or otherwise - from the hot water tap, though the shower had hot water.
This is a very run down neglected place. The neighbourhood is very noisy with barking dogs, the roads unlit, treacherous for walking,and feel unsafe. There is no restaurant. Breakfast is a pastry and terrible coffee,which they go down the street to get, only if you order the night before.
Too expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oldCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This place was a nightmarish disaster. I should have figured I was in trouble when the owner only answered one e mail in several weeks, and never even told me how to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. He was deceitful, incompetent, misleading and uncoopertive
The hotel is located in a slum, is noisy, below average. You'd be crazy to park your car there on the .street or even walk out the door
But worse was that I expected this hotel in tourism booking would help me arrange tours to Mayan ruins. Weeks of e mails resulted in nothing. The owner avoided me, then claimed he didn't run the business, then finally talked to me. He said he didn't answer my emails because he had been out of town. Out of town for 2 weeks?? Can you imagine a hotel staff those does NOT answer a client's email for weeks? Even one who booked 3 nights on Expedia.com
Unfortunately, I had paid for 3 nights, left after one night (to Red Hut Inn--nice...same price, nice neighborhood), but the owner refused to give me my money back, ignoring my noting his unprofessional, unhelpful behavior.
It was a very disconcerting, disappointing, frustrating, unrewarding experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at Bakadeer Inn, standard room with tv, private bathroom although the shower did not work, however staff did offer us another room's shower in the morning. Wifi did not work in the room. Fine location within walking distance of water taxi, bus station and restaurants. Ok for a short term stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were traveling with 4 very hungry older teenagers from Placencia to Belize City on our way back to the United States. I made the reservations online at THEIR website and even had a confirmation. Two days and two rooms. When we arrived, we showed the printed out confirmation and were told they didn't have enough room for all of us--they just had one room. No apologies or explanation. Very disappointing as we have stayed here before and it was affordable and pleasant. We wandered Belize City for another hour trying to find a hotel. I will not be staying or recommending again due to this experience. It's unfortunate for them because we get many people inquiring where to stay when traveling to Placencia through Belize City.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffofCliffwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Clean, friendly and helpful. Excellent accomodation for the cost!
Driver to and from airport arranged, no problem
Excellent restaurant in the vicinity.
Breakfast available on request.
Stayed twice, consistent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Good things: it has wifi, it's a relatively good spot in town, I can print stuff, has cable, it has cloth washing and ironing, serves breakfast, etc.
Bad things: it had a smell (not good, not bad, it just had a smell), it doesn't have the best architecture, breakfast is so so (be careful, they'll serve you any meal without asking you what you wanted, and they run out of supplies), the toilet wasn't fasten to the floor, bathroom is a bit small, etc.
In conclusion, you get what you pay for, 'cause is cheap.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank leoberreondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize City hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.4 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#6 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakadeer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakadeer Inn

Property: Bakadeer Inn
Address: 74 Cleghorn Street, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakadeer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bakadeer Inn is located in the heart of Belize City, with quiet comfortable rooms and a beautiful court yard. We can accommodate singles all the way up to a group of 20 people, so if you just stay with us on your way through town or use us as a base from which to see this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bakadeer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakadeer Inn Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing