We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel to stay in Belize City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Caribbean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Caribbean
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel to stay in Belize City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed twice in the Caribbean Chateau, is right in front of the ocean. The room and place is average, the food was ok and if you need other restaurants there are aprox. 300m around.

I felt it was a better location for Belize City if you need to stay there. Do not pay overpriced room rate for hotels in same location, you can use same services in the block around.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the sea, just to have a charm feel of the caribbean sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neavilag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    57
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
14
43
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Belize City left a bit to be desired but this hotel was clean, we felt safe and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were told we had the "honeymoon suite" which I am sure they tell everyone. It was a large room with a King sized bed looking out over the water. There was air conditioning in the rooms and bar fridge. The house is an old colonial home which is a bit tired. The floors have quite a bit of an angle. The restaurant served the most AMAZING Sweet and Sour pork. If I had a stop over in Belize City I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2RoamAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel, facing the sea. A bit worn down, but the hospitality at the hotel was good. Rooms are clean, bathrooms need serious updating. Food was good and not overly expensive. Rooms facing the sea are nice. Belize city really has nothing to offer so don't stay very long there. Use as a stopover hotel only. Good bakery around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 302 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even if it looks a bit old, which I think givers it some charm, it's a very nice hotel, friendly staff. Great location on the water front with amazing view on the water in a safe neighbourhood. Amazing staff, friendly, helpful. The food at the restaurant is amazing with plenty of local delicatessen. This is the perfect place to stay for a few days in Belize city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pie Town, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here three separate times in one month. Each time it felt like coming home. The staff is the perfect combination of attentive, yet discreet, and the owner makes it her business to ensure details are tended to.

This old Colonial Mansion has seen some use, but is being systematically restored. There is a certain charm to it's slightly angled floors and creaking stairs. I'm certain when we return they will be more modern - glad we got to see it "as it was".

The restaurant has fabulous food... enjoyed various well-prepared dishes, morning to night. FRESH! And the bar is well-stocked and colorful. Dining w/sea breezes = priceless!

Aside from feeling safe in Belize City, you can't beat the views. It is possible to while away a day or more simply enjoying the scenery from the balcony. Yes, the cruise ships do change the atmosphere from lazy to crazy, but they are only in port a few hours a couple days a week. Try to see the local markets on a day nothing is happening

This is a one of a kind hotel. Old world ambiance w/modern conveniences.

Room Tip: Room 303 is roomy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, great food and great price. This place is good average place to stay a couple day in Belize City. Great location with water front. If you are look for clean, worried free, great reasonable food and clean place to stay at affordable price, this is a place. You can get local god here and great one. Local people do come here and dine. That tell you something. Staff is very friendly. We stayed here and using Radisson tour and taxi service since there is no service at Chateau. Even staff suggest us to do so. Radisson is next door and short walk.

This hotel is clean and historic simple with great water front location but it sure need lot of TLC with its character and it will be very charming.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piradee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews-the hotel is due for an upgrade/update. It is rather shabby and down at its heels but for the most part clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Yes there are bugs...you are in the tropics..but all ours were dead, so no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.1 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Caribbean

Property: Chateau Caribbean
Address: 6 Marine Parade, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Caribbean 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Caribbean Belize City
Chateau Caribbean Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing