We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Alexandria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A full service hotel. Comprehensive breakfast offering included in price. Plenty of amenities offered. Very nice room. Property in overall excellent condition with exception of a few areas not maintained fully because this is a huge hotel layout and not always filled to capacity. Staff service is very good. Management is responsive to any requests as well as hotel maid service. Wi-fi in hotel lobby, restaurant bar is excellent, but you may have some connectivity problem in your room at time. Hotel management was responsive by moving me to a room closer to the router so I had better Wi-Fi access. Restaurant food is very good. Overall, no complaints when you consider that few places in Belize offer better value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    117
    75
    101
See reviews for
68
117
46
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent 10 days at the hotel, short trip from the airport, exceeded all my expectations, big room, helpful staff, delicious meals at the restaurants, great location too. Would come back for certain, Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Frankly, I was surprised to see many of the negative reviews. I stayed here three nights on two different occasions and I'll keep it short and sweet:
* Rooms are average. They are all ocean-view, which is fantastic. TV, A/C, room service, etc. The showers in the bathrooms are a bit tricky and often don't drain well. Key cards will sometimes randomly stop working.
* Casino is fun. There's live music and dancing on the weekends, which is great. Slots are OK, but you'll have more fun at the tables. FREE BOOZE, so get at it!
* Restaurants are great, particularly the complimentary all-you-can-eat-until-you-explode buffet. I'll be dreaming of the fry jacks and refried beans for breakfast for a while.
* Pool and gym are worth a visit.
* Spa is not so much a spa, but a room with a bed. Still, the massage was nice. The Chinese masseuse was friendly and attentive, if a bit difficult to understand.
* They have a club, a movie theater, and a bowling alley. I didn't really do any of that, but it's there and people seem to enjoy it.
* It's not *super close* to anything, but you'll find things nearby and there's always a taxi waiting outside. They also have tour guides on the ready in case you get adventurous.
* Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thankfully we only had it booked for one night! I've never had such a bad hotel experience and I am really not one to leave a bad review...

I found a pretty good deal on a travel deals website, and booked it about a month before we arrived. We pulled up in our taxi and a very nice bell man took our luggage and helped us inside to the front desk. I gave them my name and confirmation number, and they could not locate my reservation. I even pulled up the confirmation email on my phone. The woman asked that we leave them our credit card, and that she would absolutely NOT charge it without permission. The woman told me, that I might have to contact the travel website myself to figure it out!! I have to admit, I was a little stunned by her tone, body language and the lack of customer service skills.

The manager finally found the reservation, they gave us a couple of free drink tickets (for fruity rum punch) and took us up to our room. The room smelled musty, like it hadn't gotten fresh air in months. The comforter SMELLED like urine. I am not exaggerating.

The lobby & hotel bar area are smoking zones. So is the casino. The restaurant is right next to both, so you can imagine that the smell leaves quite a bit to be desired. The food in the restaurant was good. The daily buffet that they had set up for breakfast was good with a wide variety of options.

To end this glorious experience, my boyfriend looks at his bank statement the next day and saw that they DID CHARGE him for the room, MORE than what I already paid for it, even though they found my reservation!!! I had to call and talk to that same awful woman at their reservations desk and ask her to reverse the charge. She gave me the same crappy attitude and never once apologized for the bad experience we had or her mistake. So rude.

I don't know if there are better hotel options in Belize City, but I certainly hope so.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarrieMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Hotel was in downtown Belize which is not like the Cays. The Hotel did meet the basic needs but if your used to something nicer, you may be disappointed. Very similar to a Roadway or Red Roof Inn as far as amenities and cleanliness is concerned. There are 2 Restaurant’s and 1 club that comes alive at night. It really wasn't my kind of thing so overall on a scale from 1 to 10, I would give it a strong 4.
Thank you,
Joe

Room Tip: I would not stay in the city of Belize if I had a choice. I would travel to one of many Cays,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJoeBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The Princess is a very nice place to stay in Belize City. The location is in a safe part of the city, easy to walk downtown. The room was clean and comfortable, everything worked perfectly. The staff were very pleasant and professional. That smell that other posters were complaining about is the sea. It's just outside and smells like...the sea! Breakfast is complimentary and very good. Overall, this hotel is a very good value.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessManager, Director of Sales at Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review of The Princess Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is on nice beach front property, however it is in need of a lot of updating and technology. The hotel staff tries there best to help along with there security. The food is good, but needs better quality with a wide range of international foods as this hotel mainly has international guests from USA, Canada, Europe, Asia, and South America. The hotel room amenities are bad and need to be much better. This hotel needs to be totally redone in a classy way and become a part of the IHG Group Intercontinental Hotels as Belize has no FIVE STAR classy hotels.

Room Tip: Insist to hotel that they need to update in a big way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessManager, Director of Sales at Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Princess Hotel. We are in the continuous process of upgrading all our accommodations and public areas and also providing additional customer service training for our staff. We will continue to strive to improve in every way possible and we are sure that for your next stay with us, you will see many more changes and additions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.9 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Property: Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Address: Newton Barracks | Kings Park, Belize City, Belize (Formerly Princess Hotel & Casino)
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel And Casino
Princess Hotel Belize City
Princess Casino
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing