We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of The Great House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great House
Ranked #2 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Safe location in Belize City, walking distance to the ferry to Caye Caulker and Ambergris. I spent 1 night here before taking off for Glovers Reef. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed hanging out on the big porch.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 335 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Having spent a week in wonderful Guatemala, Belize was a shock to the system. Dirty, run down and dishevelled would be the best descriptions of Belize City and what we saw of the surrounding countryside was not much better. That said, we had a surprisingly pleasant stay at the Great House. We were initially concerned the room would be noisy as it was on the main floor right opposite reception but it wasn’t. The room was large, well appointed and with a good, modern bathroom. Fittings were fairly new and everything was spotlessly clean. No restaurant but the Smoky Mermaid on the ground floor in the same building was very good, albeit a haven for mosquitos. If you have to stay in Belize City, from what we saw, the Great House was one of the best options and very well located if you are departing from the Radisson Dock for any of the islands; also easy walking distance to the water taxi dock.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We try to find places to stay that represent the city/country we are visiting. The Great House was the one we selected. It is a nice colonial mansion in the safe Fort George area. The room was large and well furnished. We had the full use of the verandah, as there was hardly any other tourist. It is located close to a couple of restaurants which made our life easy. Also, we could walk around the Fort George area and also to the marine terminal for taking a water taxi to the island. Good location and good atmosphere. Recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeshiMusafeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a good option if you want to stay right in Belize City. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1920s and converted into a bed and breakfast. The hotel is located in the historic Fort George tourist area directly across from the Radisson and near the water. Belize City is not that big and you can walk through most of the tourist areas pretty quickly. I stayed at the Great House on September 22 before going over to Ambergris Caye on a solo trip to Belize. I was pleasantly surprised with the room after some of the reviews I read. It was on the 2nd floor down the hall from the reception area. It was quiet, clean, well maintained, and in good condition. I had a nice garden view from my window. Hanifa, who was at the reception desk, was very helpful and pleasant. There was a good internet connection. The Smoky Mermaid restaurant is located on the ground floor and in the beautiful courtyard. I had seen good recommendations and reviews for it from more than one source so ate dinner there. It is a good option especially if you don’t want to venture far from the hotel at night. A continental breakfast was included with my room rate at the French Café next door. It is basically a coffee and pastry shop and is a good option for a light breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Beautiful Old Colonial Building
Staffs is very friendly and charming
Room is clean and spacious
Centrally located
The Smokey Mermaid served a very good lunch and dinner"
Close to ferry going to Caye Caulker and San Perdros

Room Tip: Room 9 is very spacious with 2 queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotustai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Belize city has undergone a makeover. Which makes it a nicer place to visit and the great house has also kept up with the times my wife and I enjoyed a four day stay the room was very comfortable the staff were very attentive and helpfully the restaurant down stairs with its sushi bar was excellent the hotel provided a breakfast in the petite cafe next door which was a delight, and the city is within walking distance an old city which has wonderfull sights and history we would and will be. Back thanks for a wonderfully experience.

Room Tip: This is a city hotel and has a wrap around balcony with chairs and tables for you to enjoy the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I (Mary & Lin) as well as another couple (Marvin & Pam) stayed at the Great House Inn for ten days of total enjoyment and relaxation. Michelle and her fantastic staff especially Tamika did an outstanding job ensuring our needs were met with welcoming and friendly smiles while providing superb information regarding the “sights and sounds” of their wonderful city, the surrounding areas, as well, as the outlying cayes. The surrounding balcony was excellent for enjoying our breakfast from the Le Petit Café next door…try the wonderful cheese and ham croissant. O’yes, the Margaritas from the Dining area downstairs were absolutely wonderful…the best in the city.
We rental a car when we arrived at Belize International Airport and drove to the Inn where we parked free for the rest of our vacation. We took daily excursions via the rental car and trekked throughout city and the countryside. This permitted us to stop and visit interesting places throughout the Districts…the only way to enjoy the Belizean people and truly experience their culture.
We truly enjoyed the city, watched bicycle races, visited the casino, had great meals throughout the city and never felt threaten. The Great House has amazing character, rich charm, and a totally friendly atmosphere. When we visit again, we will be staying at the Great House…overall a delightful and outstanding experience anchored from the Great House Inn.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room next to the front desk was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly020, Front Office Manager at The Great House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your very kind words. Tamika, I and the rest of the staff miss having you around. Your enthusiasm was actually catching and much appreciated. Hope fully one day your travels will bring you to Belize and The Great House Inn again.

We wish you the very best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
3.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
579 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
264 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Red Hut Inn
The Red Hut Inn
#7 of 26 in Belize City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House

Address: 13 Cork Street | PO Box 85, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range: $143 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize is fast becoming the English speaking Central America destination of choice for those seeking adventure, a host of natural wonders, and beautiful people. We invite you to experience the awesome wonders of our world-renowned barrier reef system, to bask in the warmth of our numerous offshore and costal destinations, to be humbled by our magnificent archaeological sites, to be awed in the depths of our cave systems, to be totally swayed by the unique qualities of our natural and protected areas, and to be mesmerized at the biological diversity you will encounter in your daily adventures. More importantly, we invite you to be consumed by the passion, gentle embrace and authenticity of our diverse culture and people. As you travel the length and breadth of our home, we will greet each of you as friends but will let you leave as family. My staff and I invite you to choose The Great House Inn as your headquarter for your Belize Adventure. Old world charm with all the amenities for the Business and Leisure Traveler. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to this wonderful Colonial Home, which we have meticulously appointed with all the amenities for your comfort and convenience. The look and feel of yesterday with today's modern conveniences make The Great House Belize's most desirable "outpost" away from home. Our colonial heritage and ambience are faithfully preserved in all of our sixteen guestrooms. Each is individually color coordinated with a host of tasteful and comfortable appointments. All of the spacious rooms feature: Wi-Fi, Air conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Private Bath, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Direct Dial Telephone, Desk, Remote Control Cable TV, Alarm clock, Iron Board and In-Room Safety Deposit Box. Daily Complimentary: Wi-Fi, Light Continental Breakfast, Coffee, Tea, Bottle Water, Bananas and Cookies From polished pine floor to fresh fruit on arrival, our guestrooms and staff let you know you made the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House Hotel Belize City
The Great House Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing