We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven in the city”
Review of The Great House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great House
Ranked #2 of 26 Belize City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A haven in the city”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great place to stay, clean efficient , everything we needed and a wonderful restaurant down stairs. Would certainly stay again. Very helpfull staff , great shower, good a/c , only real problem is the hotel is on the first floor , but someone always there to carry your bags

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robveee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    124
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
130
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. The Great House really was great! ...... Very quaint, definitely had an inn or homey feel to it. Rooms were very clean. Staff was very helpful, and wi-fi was super fast! I stayed on the third floor and had a great view of the water. Sunrise from the balcony was incredible!

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room! Views and breezes are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights at the Great House. The staff was wonderful, friendly and very helpful. The ocean breeze was enjoyable, we slept with the windows open and the fan running. The surrounding balcony was great to enjoy your morning coffee/tea and evening beer with an ocean breeze and ocean view on the upper level. Jose keeps you safe at night patrolling the hotel grounds.
There is a great pastry shop next door, refrigerators and coffee makers in the room. The room was nicely cleaned made each day. If you want to swim, the pools at the Radisson are available for a small daily fee ($5 US).
The water taxi and city walking tour trail are just a very short walk. A taxi stand is at the end of the driveway (cab fairs around town were fixed at $7.50 US when we were there). A craft market and "trinket" mall are just up the road also. They open mostly when a cruise ship is in port, however some booths are open every day.
The Great House is a Great Place to stay and their prices are very reasonable, check them out if you plan to visit Belize.
Dot and Tony

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0t0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Belize City does not have a many options for quality stays. City hotels mainly used for stopovers on way to more tourist beaches/ islands/ inland tourist attractions. This is one of the better options. It is a 3 story all colonial looking building across street from Radisson. Rooms are more like what you would expect in a bed in breakfast in the country. Clean, quaint, but nothing real fancy. There are a couple unaffiliated restaurants down stairs which are nice. One has a nice outdoor patio to eat in. Location is right near waterfront but not right on water. Water front in Belize City is nothing to pay extra for anyway. Area right around feels very safe. Have stayed 3 separate times now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this local hotel. The staff are welcoming and attentive. The location is convenient to restaurants. A little café next store makes breakfast easy. The Wi-Fi is reliable. It is dated, the bed was a little soft, but they have some great rooms for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a separate office space with a desk if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trade-adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Great House because it was next to the pier were we caught the boat to Turneffe Island Resort. It was noisy (across from a disco blaring music all night). Shower curtain had mildew on it, and the towels were stiff. Overall, not the quality I would expect for $160 US a night. Tamica's smile was welcoming and she and Gary went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ectheriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly020, Front Office Manager at The Great House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your observations.
It is our policy to continuous offer accommodation and services to our guests and we continue to improve and upgrade our facilities. We are currently embarking on a complete upgrade to all our guest rooms including bathrooms and furnishing.

This will be done on an individual room basis and in no way cause any inconvenience and in fact the process will not in anyway be noticeable to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with a friend. The house is beautiful, updated, comfortable. The staff was very friendly, courteous, helpful. You really need to read the information packet to learn the history od this place, very interesting. Tis is located close to the water taxi and right across from the Radisson Hotel which gives you too a for dining. There is a nice restaurant on the first floor of the Great house that has a wonderful Sushi bar. Price is right, a lot cheaper than the Radisson.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
0.0 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House

Property: The Great House
Address: 13 Cork Street | PO Box 85, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize is fast becoming the English speaking Central America destination of choice for those seeking adventure, a host of natural wonders, and beautiful people. We invite you to experience the awesome wonders of our world-renowned barrier reef system, to bask in the warmth of our numerous offshore and costal destinations, to be humbled by our magnificent archaeological sites, to be awed in the depths of our cave systems, to be totally swayed by the unique qualities of our natural and protected areas, and to be mesmerized at the biological diversity you will encounter in your daily adventures. More importantly, we invite you to be consumed by the passion, gentle embrace and authenticity of our diverse culture and people. As you travel the length and breadth of our home, we will greet each of you as friends but will let you leave as family. My staff and I invite you to choose The Great House Inn as your headquarter for your Belize Adventure. Old world charm with all the amenities for the Business and Leisure Traveler. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to this wonderful Colonial Home, which we have meticulously appointed with all the amenities for your comfort and convenience. The look and feel of yesterday with today's modern conveniences make The Great House Belize's most desirable "outpost" away from home. Our colonial heritage and ambience are faithfully preserved in all of our sixteen guestrooms. Each is individually color coordinated with a host of tasteful and comfortable appointments. All of the spacious rooms feature: Wi-Fi, Air conditioning, Ceiling Fan, Private Bath, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee maker, Direct Dial Telephone, Desk, Remote Control Cable TV, Alarm clock, Iron Board and In-Room Safety Deposit Box. Daily Complimentary: Wi-Fi, Light Continental Breakfast, Coffee, Tea, Bottle Water, Bananas and Cookies From polished pine floor to fresh fruit on arrival, our guestrooms and staff let you know you made the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great House Hotel Belize City
The Great House Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing