We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were on our way to a lodge in the rainforest and needed somewhere to stay in Belize City for a day and a night.

There do not seem to be many options in Belize City. The first good thing about the hotel is that it is on the shore outside the center in a quiet seeming area of the town. Once you look around Belize City this is a definite plus.

While the Radisson is not fancy it is perfectly fine. Our room was clean and well-stocked and had all the necessary for an overnight stay in a town.

We had dinner and later lunch at the open air deck overlooking the pool and garden with a view of the sea. Both meals were good. There was a good selection on the menu. The food was freshly cooked, plentiful and very pleasant. Service was excellent both times. Breakfast was a buffet in the formal dining room and this was pretty good and included omelettes to order and a decent selection of fruit.

During the morning we were there we wandered around the streets around the hotel and felt quite safe. Indeed we walked as far as the belize museum which is in a former prison and gives a history of Belize as well as some Mayan artefacts. Highly recommend and small enough to take in in an hour or so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write back and let us know about your stay here at the Radisson Fort George Hotel, we are very happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations!

On behalf of all of our employees, THANK YOU and we'll see you on your next Belize adventure!

Pamela
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George
pamela.gideon@radissonbelie.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve & First 3 days of January ~

When deciding to stay in Belize City, There are unfortunately not many choices if you are looking for a "Chain" Name Brand ~ No Marriott's, No Holiday Inn's ~ Radisson is a name I knew ~
The lobby is small but quaint ~ Small Tour Agency ~ Small but adequate buisness center ~ Hotel is laid out like a bit of a maze, Lots of History surrounding this place ~ I Loved reading the History of this hotel & browsing around viewing all of the old pictures located around the hotel....

Wasn't aware there was an Airport Shuttle, Only found out after asking the "Information Center" at the airport ~ I never could actually get a straight answer on the Taxi prices. The Hotel Shuttle driver was on time, polite & made a pit stop at a grocery store so we could pick up some water, soda...etc, etc:

SLEEP NUMBER BED: This can be a Pro or Con depending on how you look at it ~

We ate every meal there because we didn't want to walk around at night ~ After "Hit & Miss" we ate at The Stonegrill Restaurant ~ The food was good, Customer Service is on "Island Time". This was brought up to management & I have been informed it will be looked into. However, If you happen to run across Lincoln give him a Hello for Me, He is a doll & was busting his hiney to make all of us downstairs happy!

We didn't have time for a sit-down breakfast so we ended up at La Petit Cafe, I guess we hit it at rush hour because it was packed at 0800... You can pick up a quick pastry & espresso.

WiFi was fast & steady~

If you need a quiet room, Then ask for the Villa Tower, You will hear the Music in the evenings if you are in the main part of the hotel... I don't think there is a bad room on the property, or at least I didn't see one.

Nice thing about this hotel is, You are within walking distance of the "Water Taxi" & Vendors Booths (While the Cruises are in port)

Hope this info helps: Enjoy your time in Belize

**FYI: If you are comparing Stars for Hotels in Belize City, Best Western was the next hotel down from Radisson,,, We drove past it, I would NOT put my Dog in the hotel based on the outside & surround location.

Room Tip: Book your shuttle back to the airport early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyaarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Good afternoon,

thank you very much for your review and recognition of Lincoln, he is indeed a superstar! When I told him that he was mentioned by name, he was very please, and gave me one of his signature shy smiles. Please know that your feedback is appreciated and your words will go a long way.

Further to the reply you received regarding service, we will begin a round of customer and service delivery training as early as next week.

Once again, thank you for contacting us.

Kind regards,

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at the Radisson on the 6th Jan, the reception did not great us with a smile,she gave us our key and then we went to our room, which was very very nice.
We then went for dinner at the stone grill at 7,45 where there were 3 members of staff behind the bar.
We sat there for 10 minute's and we had to ask for a menu, we got our cocktails and they were very nice ( but without a smile )
Our food arrived and while we were eating 10 tourist arrived at 9 o'clock and they also ordered some food.
At 9,20 a women fell down the stairs ,( maybe 10 stairs ) a few tourist went to help her, she had broken her arm, she lay there for 15 minute's then a ambulance came and took her to the hospital ( NOT ONE MEMBER OF STAFF HELPED )
There was one man that kept asking the women behind the bar for ice and it took her forever, even through the ice was in front of her.

Then at 9,45 a few of the 10 tourist that arrived at 9 started to ask where there food was, one man said that he was going to die with hunger.
Then at 10,o'clock one women said that they would leave if the food did not arrive now.
Well the food came at 10 past 10 and they were so happy BUT BUT
The manager was taking the lids off the plate's and ALSO taking some food off their plate's and putting it on a serviette, we could not believe my eyes.
We have stayed there a few time's, never had a smile, but never seen it that bad.
The rooms are very clean but I think they need to sort out there staff.
It does not cost a penny for a smile

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shampers192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for reaching out and letting us know more about your stay here at the Radisson Fort George hotel.

Regarding the incident where one of our guests fell, my night manager's report details that the person who fell was assisted by a certified paramedic; there seems however to be a need for a refresher in our employee emergency medical response protocol and this will be addressed.

Please know that we are currently implementing customer service delivery & technical training with our new training manager so that the issues you experienced while you were here are not repeated, our sincere apologies that you and our other patrons endured that type of service.

Our sincere apologies for your experience while here at the Radisson Fort George hotel.

Kind regards,

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel.
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Radisson is clearly one of the nicest, if the nicest place to stay in Ft George. It feels safe in a city which doesn't appear to be all that safe based on our cab ride from the airport. I would not recommend walking around at night. It is a clean and well appointed with a friendly staff who seem to really care about their jobs. The food and drinks in the bar both out by the pool and upstairs is good and hit the spot. Our room was pleasant, first floor, around the corner from the lobby. We purchased some gifts in the shop there and thought the prices and merchandise was varied and fair. We did some touring around and were happy to have the driver pick us up in the lobby as it's pleasant place to wait. Easy walk out the back gate and over to the harbor for a walk along the waterfront. I would say this is a nice place to stay for one or two nights but would definitely encourage leaving the city to visit the islands or the interior.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hi Tricia,

Thank you for your kind words about our property and services. We are very happy to know that we were able to make you feel at home while you were here at the Radisson Fort George hotel. It will be my pleasure to share your review with our employees as I am sure that it will brighten their day.

Kind regards,

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice and friendly staff, we had some minor problems or issues arriving, and everything was attended to and solved quickly.

The room we had, upgraded, thanks to Carlson Club Gold Card, was spacious and with a full sea view. The bed was excellent, the linen, pillows etc real nice.

One bad thing was the noise from the air condition, time to renew.
And finally the internet was real craps, slow like h--l, almost not usable

But all together we would still recommend it due to the friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagnarTartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write back and let us know more about your stay here at the Radisson Fort George hotel; we are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful time. My apologies regarding the issues you experienced with our internet & air conditioning, please know that these will be rectified shortly.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Your kind words about our employees will certainly be a confidence booster.

Have a great day.

Pamela
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I know there are limited options in Belize City, but there has to be something better than this. We only stayed one night, but that was one too many. We did make arrangements for the shuttle to pick us up at the airport, and he was there waiting for us. So, we were off to an excellent start. Sad to report that was the best of our Radisson experience. The room never cooled below 78 F. I wasn't really sure if the sheets had been changed prior to our checkin, and the towels had stains. The staff behind the desk always seemed to be busy doing something, so they never really look you in the eye and help with any questions/concerns. The restaurant is one you should miss (will take over an hour for your order). We ended up getting something to eat at the cafe/bakery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DINKSrUS_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for you feedback about your recent stay here at the Radisson Fort George. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the cleanliness of your room and it's amenities as it's not normally the feedback that we get about our rooms, I will notify our executive housekeeper of this so that she may review and pin point what may have gone wrong. Additionally I will be sharing your experience in our restaurant with our food and beverage manager so that in their upcoming training sessions, timeliness will be highlighted.

Regarding the experience with your a/c, please know that we are in the first stages of our renovation project and this issue will be rectified as part of our renovation; my apologies that it was not completed before your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and enjoy your weekend.

Kind regards,

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in December, 2013. The hotel is in a safe location in Belize City and we found it in a pretty good shape and they have security on the premises. The police also maintains visible presence in the hotel surrounding area. The room was clean, good size and had everything that you would expect in the most expensive hotel in Belize City. I have read some of the other reviews and was expecting the hotel to be in a terrible shape but it was actually very nice and the rooms are great. You can't walk around Belize City at night. I would also be very careful to walk downtown on Sunday when the businesses are closed since the streets are occupied by "strange" characters and it can feel very unsafe even during the day. Therefore, you want to be sure to stay in a nice hotel in Belize City. We walked through the city center and did not find any reasonable restaurant to eat so we ended up eating at the Radisson as well. The food was excellent and wait staff very nice and prices reasonable. We spent the week at San Pedro prior to arriving to Belize City so after the week, we were well accustomed to the fact that in Belize, you have to count on long wait for your meals even if the restaurant is not busy.

I would stay at the hotel again but I am not sure that I would bother coming to Belize City again. There is not much to do and you can walk to only few streets because most of the city is not safe. I was also surprised that the tourist tours cost the same from San Pedro and Belize City.

So overall impression of Radisson Hotel are good and if I had to travel to Belize City again, this is the only hotel where I would stay. As far as Belize City, I would not bother to travel there again since there is not much to see or do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi Marie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words about our property and employees; indeed we are not currently at our best but we are working on it. Thank you also for recognizing the hard work of our employees, I will share your review with them as well.

Have a great weekend,

Pamela Gideon
Online Manager
Radisson Fort George Hotel
pamela.gideon@radissonbelize.bz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
15.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
2 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
69 reviews
0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range: $155 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 130 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, in-room safes,ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Jr.Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools,well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange adventure tours. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Carlson, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing