We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location when visiting Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great central location when visiting Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel located close to the airport and on the water. Service was great all staff members were outstanding, two stood out in our mind, Arlove at the front desk, a wonderful and extremely helpful person and Catherine at the conceirge desk, great knowledge of the area and sites to visit. I would recommend talk to these two people and of course any other staff member.

Have a great trip to a wonderful country.

Ron

Room Tip: higher floors afford better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron85541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    390
    188
    55
    37
See reviews for
169
287
62
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not the best hotel in the country but Im sure it is not the worst. We were attending a conference that was being held at the Radisson(only hotel in the country that can hold many people) so we stayed at this hotel. There arent that many choices in Belize city anyways. We had just come from Ambergris Caye and stayed at a nice resort. Well we had 2 rooms both of them were seemed clean but the whole time i felt dirty while in the room. the rooms are dated, the hotel is dated. It was exactly what we expected after reading reviews and reading about Belize city. I suggest if you have no business in Belize city then stay out. Ive been to many 3rd world , poor countries and Belize city is no different. If you dont feel comfortable stay in the hotel. If you decide to roam the streets, just use your common sense and dont be flashy.

With our new ventures we will prob have to stay at this hotel again or maybe we will try the hotel behind it, it didnt look bad. My suggestion stay here if you have to if not go somewhere nice on Ambergris caye or something.

Oh as most people we met in Belize , the staff was very friendly and helpful.

One more thing.. Dont mind the birds, you will hear them day and night. Bring some ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina. We are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and we hope that they were able to make your stay enjoyable.

Please know that it is difficult for us to respond to reviews which call the economic situation of our country into question. We do our best to provide a clean safe facility for all our guests and customers to enjoy while they are with us. Agreeably, a first visit to the city can be jolting, especially after enjoying the islands. The resorts that you will find in San Pedro simply cannot be compared to any hotel in Belize City but we do continue to work on improving and upgrading our facilities.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay and sincerely hope that our service, friendly staff and facility will win you over to our brand of hospitality.

All the best,

The Radisson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thankfully, we got a good rate with an online travel site and only needed one night. Picture attached speaks for itself. Needed all those towels stuck in the door to keep out the abundant mosquitos (and we are pretty tolerant travelers) and try to deafen the noise made by the hundreds and hundreds of birds that sqwack incredibly loudly outside the room. Actual bird droppings were in our shower!!!
Glad we were only there for a short stopover.
OK pool and pool bar (but, don't fall for "this is the only place that serves food on a hot stone" line-the concept is all over Belize).
Didn't bother dealing with the front desk as they didn't seem very interested in us from the start of check in, asking for directions, etc. Plus we were leaving in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Media_Mngr201, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina. While we are happy that you decided to spend some of your time in Belize with us, we are saddened that you were not happy with most aspects of your stay, even if some of it was simply out of our control.

With regards to the birds in the trees, yes this issue can be frustrating and we continue to fight to reduce/eliminate it once and for all; however the extent of what we can do is limited. Over the last few years we have cut down most of the trees that were outside the Colonial area as once, it was plush greenery that the birds claimed for themselves. We do however continue to work on ways to further reduce their annoyance to our guests while trying to limit the impact on the environment. With regard to your report of bird droppings in your shower, this is the first time that we have had this complaint and are unsure how it would be possible; we certainly will investigate this fully as we take the health and safety of our guests very seriously.

Additionally, your dissatisfaction with your check in has been reported to the front office manager and she will follow up on this matter. We hope that you took the time to fill out our survey so that we can continue to dialogue towards a resolution with you about your time here with us.

Kindest regards,
The Rad Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The poverty in Belize City is mind numbing - I have traveled fairly extensively in some extremely poor places, and have never experienced anything quite like Belize City.... The people were extremely friendly - but we only left the hotel to go on our excursions....

The room was clean - the bathroom had a great shower - a very western hotel - but no charm. We ended our trip in Belize City - so we had spent over a week in fairly rustic conditions, and I must confess to enjoying soft sheets and a hot shower with consistent temperature and water pressure :-)

The kids liked the pool. It wasn't very big, but it was a way for them to expend some energy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
279 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A nice hotel, it is located between the cruise terminal shops and the city proper, which is rather poor, but safe. We, like others in our group, got to our rooms only to find the key cards did not open the door. The desk seemed to be aware of the problem, but how often it happens I do not know. The rooms were nice, the beds good, but the catered dinner for our group was just so-so. We had local beer and ceviche at the pool bar the next day, and that was great! I would stay there again if I were in Belize City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Not a whole lot to do in Belize City, we stayed there at the start of our vacation while waiting for our sailboat. It's clean and the people were friendly. The restaurant was ok. The hot tub was cold. For a quick in and out, it's a reasonable rate and a good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenadove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel and package online. It was an exceptional deal that included complimentary buffet breakfast daily, a bottle of champagne upon arrival and discounts for dinner and tours. We enjoyed 5 nights there and used this hotel as our home base while exploring the sights of the area. The staff were very courteous and professional. Meals were excellent at the Stone Grill and the breakfast buffet. Their concierge staff were very helpful in planning our daily excursions as were the excellent drivers/guides. They even went the extra mile in arranging a surprise birthday for me. We had a very comfortable bed and pillows, a clean room with a patio. We will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Our best rate was online. We checked at the desk for extended stay rates, but they were unable to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
15.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
20.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Property: Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 130 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, in-room safes,ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools,well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange tours, including most land and dive trips. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Carlson, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing