We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I always stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I travel to Belize City on a regular basis for both personal and business related matters. My favorite rooms are in the tower section with the Sleep Number Beds and extra amenities. The fact that the same staff have been working at the hotel with little turnover these past years, is a testament to the manager, James Scott. It is evident the staff genuinely enjoy their jobs and their culture of "yes we can" service.

Belize is not a "fancy" modern city, it is a very interesting city in the world's Global South with a world of potential. The Radisson is not a cosmopolitan city skyscraper or a Ritz Carlton, it is a friendly hotel, that puts an effort into providing clean, safe and reliable accommodations in an excellent location. The hotel is involved in the community, spearheads recycling programs and are tireless in philanthropic pursuits. The Radisson Fort George continues to be the flagship property and my choice of hotels in Belize City. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central point from which to explore the country and still be immersed in culture and cuisine options, and to anyone in transit in/out of the Country. See you again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

Clean. Quiet. Just what you'd expect at a Radisson and a good place to stay on either end of a dive trip. Like everywhere we went in Belize, staff was professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clean_Sheets_Rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have stayed in Radissons all over the world and in my 36 years have visited over 100 countries. In all my time I have never been made to wait for more than 25 minutes to check in to a supposed luxury hotel.

No apology was offered and we were then told the room was not ready, even though we had informed them of our arrival time earlier in the morning. At over $200 this is not what I expect.

To fill in the time we went to the bar. The experience was as unpleasant as the check in. The bar maid was grumpy, unhelpful and bored. Having eventually received our drinks a local street seller accosted us with his latest recordings. Staying in a luxury hotel ought to avoid this type of harassment.

After a return to the front desk we were told the room was still not ready so we headed off into town to eat.

The room was ok, except the bed kept moving away from the wall every time you moved. To solve the problem we lodged the arm chair between the bed and the TV unit. The balcony is shared and the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbours. Across the road from the hotel was a very noisy bar that pelted music all night long. We could hear this in our room and above our TV!

The internet in the room was free but transfer to the airport was charged.

I also didn’t like the fact that on receiving our bill there was a charitable donation fee that had been added to my bill without my permission.

All in all avoid this place. It’s expensive and disappointing.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sapa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

a very nice hotel with a helpful management.We spent a beautiful da in this hotel and we'll recommended at every people.
Monique et Fred Thiebaud from Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecalabraisdevollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Continental Airlines screwed up my whole trip - and by the time I was able to find internet in Belize to cancel my 1 night at the Radisson Fort George, it was after 6pm the night before my reservation, so I got zero refund and was charged $201.11. Thanks for nothing.

Also in Belize - Coco Beach Resort, Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Mayawalk Tours were also also, and very accomodating & understanding in the changes we had to make.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JTK965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson on the night we arrived in Belize City, prior to leaving for Turneffe Island the following day. Our room was in the older part of the hotel but was still nice and clean. We had a good dinner at the Stonegrill Restaurant at the hotel and yummy pastries at the Petit Cafe in the morning. The live music at the Stonegrill by the pool was really impressive and the service was very good overall. Later, at the end of our trip in Belize, our plans didn't work out and we decided to return to the Radisson for our last night in the country. Jesse at the front desk welcomed us back and congratulated us, as we had just gotten married on our trip. We were treated to a room upgrade and champagne, and more of the great service that we received on our first stay. We relaxed by the pool and enjoyed another meal at Stonegrill with more good live music. Free internet access in business center was great for confirming travel plans. Belize City isn't a place most people would want to spend much of their time in Belize at, and it is indeed probably not very safe after dark, but for anyone who finds themselves there, I think the Radisson is definitely the best best.

Room Tip: Ask for newer section of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The only negative thing I could point out during my stay at this hotel was that during the night there were lots of loud birds on the hotel's trees. It got to a point that I couldn't hear the television because of the loudness of these birds. Thankfully, someone scared them away and I could get some sleep. The staff was very friendly, the room was cleaned, food and drinks were very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizivipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
15.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
284 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range: $150 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 130 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, in-room safes,ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Jr.Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools,well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange adventure tours. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing