We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Martigny, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

a very nice hotel with a helpful management.We spent a beautiful da in this hotel and we'll recommended at every people.
Monique et Fred Thiebaud from Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecalabraisdevollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    414
    193
    57
    40
See reviews for
180
298
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Continental Airlines screwed up my whole trip - and by the time I was able to find internet in Belize to cancel my 1 night at the Radisson Fort George, it was after 6pm the night before my reservation, so I got zero refund and was charged $201.11. Thanks for nothing.

Also in Belize - Coco Beach Resort, Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Mayawalk Tours were also also, and very accomodating & understanding in the changes we had to make.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JTK965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson on the night we arrived in Belize City, prior to leaving for Turneffe Island the following day. Our room was in the older part of the hotel but was still nice and clean. We had a good dinner at the Stonegrill Restaurant at the hotel and yummy pastries at the Petit Cafe in the morning. The live music at the Stonegrill by the pool was really impressive and the service was very good overall. Later, at the end of our trip in Belize, our plans didn't work out and we decided to return to the Radisson for our last night in the country. Jesse at the front desk welcomed us back and congratulated us, as we had just gotten married on our trip. We were treated to a room upgrade and champagne, and more of the great service that we received on our first stay. We relaxed by the pool and enjoyed another meal at Stonegrill with more good live music. Free internet access in business center was great for confirming travel plans. Belize City isn't a place most people would want to spend much of their time in Belize at, and it is indeed probably not very safe after dark, but for anyone who finds themselves there, I think the Radisson is definitely the best best.

Room Tip: Ask for newer section of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The only negative thing I could point out during my stay at this hotel was that during the night there were lots of loud birds on the hotel's trees. It got to a point that I couldn't hear the television because of the loudness of these birds. Thankfully, someone scared them away and I could get some sleep. The staff was very friendly, the room was cleaned, food and drinks were very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizivipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson for only one night as a stop over on our way to San Pedro. For that purpose, the Radisson was slightly better than average.

We arrived after an overnight flight at around 10am and I was exhausted. Although check-in isn't for several hours we asked if they could make the room available for us ASAP. The woman at the front desk told us that our room could be made available by noon, at the earliest, but if we needed a room now there was a smoking room available already. Given how travel weary we were, we took the room, and couldn't actually detect the smell of smoke.

The room itself was nice - though there was a lot of water on the ground in the bathroom, as though they had just cleaned by squeezing water all over the lid of the toilet and just left the water there to air dry. Blissfully, the curtains blocked out the light so i could get a nap. The bed itself was supposedly a sleep-number bed but when we attempted to adjust the setting a lot of noise and not much else happened. C'est La Vie. The bed was comfortable enough as was the room.

The following morning I used the fitness center in the hotel which was well equip.

We ate at the restaurant twice. The first day we had the Radisson burger - it was delicious. The second night we ordered the surf and turf which was pitched as Red Snapper. It wasn't. It was escolar. Look it up. Very negative side effects. This is not okay and really shouldn't be done at any restaurant or hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenEif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I know there probably are some excellent resorts out of the city, but if you are on business and you need to be in the City go to the Radisson. I have not found any other decent hotel. Even for meetings in Belmopan I stayed in the Radisson since there is nothing in the capital. Staff is very friendly, there is good security and all facilities are there. Some rooms have sleepnumber beds and Internet is OK.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Radisson Fort George, Belize City
Arriving at the Hotel after travelling through the city streets, you get an immediate sense of having found a safe haven. Set in the old colonial area, the wooden furniture suits the style. The staff are very friendly and attentive, we got an upgrade when they found out we were on honeymoon. We think our driver must have let them know in Creole! 
The hotel is spread out over a road and of the two pools we found the one by the bar to be the most inviting. After a walk around and a short close first inspection of the Caribbean from the hotel's pier, we returned to the room before dinner to find they had dropped off a free bottle of bubbly - very nice! 
Dinner in the restaurant was a weekend special of fish buffet including lobster. There were a few locals in, so we knew it must be good, and it was excellent. The bakery on the other side of the road to the main reception does good tea & coffee and calorie specials. Lunch from the bar was also delicious. 
Only slight downside to the hotel is you can feel a little trapped, being advised to stay off the streets after dark and stick to the main roads if venturing out during the day. Think this is the case with all Belize city hotels though. Saying that we had no problems and there is the regular sight of security around the hotel.
Compared to their neighbours in Guatemala it's very chilled and no weapons on show.
Good hotel, friendly staff, excellent food, but you could quickly run out of things to do.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabylonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
15.2 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
67 reviews
20.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina

Property: Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Address: 2 Marine Parade | PO Box 321, Belize City, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina is old world charm meets modern style. Located on the shores of the Caribbean Sea, in Belize City's historic Fort George area, it caters to both business and leisure travelers and serves as an ideal stepping stone to the best of Belize. 102 stylishly appointed rooms including Business Class rooms, with sleep number beds, Jr Suites and Standard rooms. The Radisson Fort George offers the convenience of a full service restaurant serving daily breakfast buffet as well as nightly specials; 2 bars and the popular Le Petit Cafe. Our hotel features two swimming pools, complimentary 24 hour gym, and full-service marina. All complimented by a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea. The spacious rooms at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina offers guests such comforts as cable TV with over 130 channels of free cable, direct dial phones, coffee makers, in-room safes,ironing boards and refrigerators in our Club Tower and Business Class Jr.Suites. Many of the hotel rooms feature a view of Belize City Harbor as well as access to handcrafted furniture made by Belizean craftsmen. Some rooms also feature sleep number beds. Services: When it's time to relax, guest at The Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina in Belize can enjoy two swimming pools,well equipped fitness center and a full service marina. The hotel's Concierge desk can arrange adventure tours. Restaurants/Cafe: Le Petit: Satisfy every craving at one of Belize's most popular cafes where you can enjoy freshly baked delights, natural fruit juices, hot beverages including both Belizean and international coffee and espresso options for that quick "pick me up". Healthy freshly made salads, sandwiches and other light menu items are also offered at the Le Petit Cafe. Enjoy the fresh air by dining on our open - air patio or be cool and relax in our air-conditioned cafe' while enjoying exquisite service, pastries and locally baked snacks from the Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marinas' bakery. Open from 6:00 am - 8:00 pm. Stonegrill Restaurant:The Stonegrill is carving out a whole new experience in dining. Treat yourself to a memorable experience with our inimitable technique of preparing your lean and delectable steak and healthy side options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Carlson, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize City Radisson
Radisson Belize City
Radisson Fort George Hotel And Marina Belize/Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing