We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AT 'LEAST' ONCE IN A LIFETIME!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AT 'LEAST' ONCE IN A LIFETIME!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Belize City,Belize S.A.----Best Western Holel
My trip was taken in January, of course to escape the Canadian winter for a few days! What a" Great Escape" it was. The Hotel is located very near a large grocery store and about 4 km from the heart of Belize City. A nice walk or even a reasonable taxi ride.
I enjoyed the lush gardens at the Hotel, a lovely pool, great food and excellent service.
However, the very best part of the vacation was the Tours!!! I went on 5 tours during the 2 weeks in Belize and each one was excellent. The cost was more than reasonable,The tour guide was very knowledgable and thorough--in fact on one of the last tours I was on, our group ( of 4) paid alittle extra to have a driver plus Jake our tour guide.
Greenwood Adventure Belize provided many tour choses and would also make up a tour if possible, at our request!! It was very helpful that both Dominga and Jake Martinez are of Mayan and Spainish parents. What they don't know about the country is not worth knowing.
I am looking forward to my next trip to Belize, with it's beautiful people,lush rain forests, amazing history,multitude of birds and so much more!
I will include a e-mail address so you can check out tours for yourself.

greenwoodadventuresbelixe@yahoo.co
mingy_other@yahoo.com
belizeholidaytours@yahoo.com

Bon Voyage!!

Helpful?
2 Thank DUCHESS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    197
    137
    69
    39
See reviews for
104
162
51
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We were delayed on arriving in Belize City and were stuck in the middle of NOWHERE at the Best Western. There is nothing nearby to walk to, or to visit, of interest. We were stuck at the hotel restaurant which took our order and disappeared for nearly 30 minutes--and we were the only table in the restaurant! We were glad the next day to be on our way to San Pedro, which was our destination. The country really needs some assistance in the hospitality industry. Any attempts at Caribbean greaciousness falls into incompetence. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on a sofa arm. I guess they get a lot of business from delayed flights out of Belize City airport, otherwise I couldn't imagine anyone WANTING to stay here.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank CammyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We booked our adventures through the hotel and they were great meeing our requests. My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. The restaurant was great, pool area was great, location was great. The staff was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank peevamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night in between our stay at Caves Branch Lodge and joining the Slickrock group for our 4 nights on Glover's atoll. Clean rooms, decent restaurant, food choices range from very good to average. Hotel lobby has a business center where you can pay a very reasonable rate of about 9 BZ/hr for internet. The hotel is located nearby the airport and on the outskirts of Belize City, so the location was a perfect stopover point. The hotel also offers tours to various popular day trips so it would be fine for a 2-3 night stay as well. Most staff were very friendly, a few were indifferent. Bed comfort was decent, not great but as to be expected. Since so many people travel to different parts of Belize, this hotel is perfect for the 1st, mid part or last night of your trip.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank AgieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Stopped here overnight following for flight home at the end our stay in Belize. Everything we needed for a relaxing last day. A room was ready even though we arrived early, the staff were friendly and the room was great.
Lovely garden to walk round, large clean pool and excellent restaurant.

  • Liked — Everything we expected
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macmillanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

The Best Western Biltmore in Belize City is fine for a day or two. But I would not make it a destination hotel. For that matter Belize City is not a destination spot....

We stayed at the Biltmore on the tail end of our trip to Belize, using it as a base to take a day tour of Mayan archeology sites and be close to the airport. It worked well for that purpose.

Rooms are smallish, but standard fare. Restaurant is passable. Location requires a cab ride to get anywhere besides the grocery store down the block. But it is clean and comfortable enough.

The pool is a highlight. The hotel surrounds it, and when you are there it's like an oasis.

Service was quite good. We had a problem during check in, specifically a guest who was supposed to leave decided not to, thereby occupying my parents' reserved room. The front desk manager worked hard to find a solution, including arranging for they to stay at a nearby B&B at the hotel's cost. When I finally pointed out that they needed to move the guest who was overstaying his reservation to the B&B so my parents could have the room they already paid for they did just that, with little argument.

Otherwise an average hotel, good for a stopover or 1 day tour base, and not a destination.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Stayed at the Biltmore for a night, as this was the closest hotel to the Airport. The cab fare from the airport was $25US (same price as going downtown, which is much further away). Found the hotel to be very clean, quiet, and in the middle of nowhere. The small garden that surrounds the swimming pool was quite attractive and well maintained. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The service was speedy but the food, was so-so and served luke-warm. Daily “happy hour” at both the pool and restaurant bars ends at 7:00pm (2 for 1). Food prices on the menu are in Belizian dollars and are slightly higher than US prices ($1US = $2 Belize). The rooms were large, had A/C, wall plugs, hairdryer, coffee, tea, kettle, mini-fridge, TV, iron and ironing board. Although quite large, the room was simple in its décor. Note that you have to leave a credit card deposit for a TV remote and safety deposit box. Front desk and other staff were pleasant. The Hotel was full with a tour group, so it may be advisable to book ahead.
During the rest of our trip in Belize (went to Caves Branch & Almond Beach, reviews to follow), we were told by some Americans now living in Belize that the Radisson Hotel, located in downtown Belize was quite pleasant, had sea-view rooms, but there was “nothing” around the Hotel. The Radisson apparently has a shuttle service from the Airport (unconfirmed). You’ll have to decide which of these Belizian hotels best meets your requirements. For a one night stay, I’d recommend this place but wish the management would consider a shuttle service to the airport.

  • Liked — cleanliness, proximity to Airport, no bugs
  • Disliked — so-so food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
12.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza

Property: Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Address: Mile 3, Northern Highway, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing