We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Biltmore Belize City Belize C.A.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Western Biltmore Belize City Belize C.A.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I now live in Belize City FT but have stayed at the Hotel seven times. On the northern edge of Belize City (largest City in the country), it is the closest to the BZE International Airport... Taxi fare is about $25 USD and Belize dollars as well as USD are accepted. The current exchange rate is 2:1. Currency rates are fixed 2 BZ =$1 USD. The hotel has rooms on ground floor as well as the second floor with a large lobby. It works well for meeting local and other business visitors. I have always found the Hotel to be clean and comfortable. Used by business and tourist visitors, along with many groups. They have a well stocked bar and a very pleasant dining room with a breakfast buffet (inquiry). Discounts are available please ask (AAA, Senior , educator etc). If you are not fond of music ask for a room away from noise centers such as the first floor furthest away from the pool and bar, next door to each other. They have a small business center for printing of airline tickets and offer room internet at an additional charge. My favorite for the price of about $100.USD in Belize City. One of the large three, Radison and the Princess being the other two. I prefer a King bed and have found many choices of rooms. Also ask for a small refrigerator and they can supply at no additional charge. Pool is outdoors in a central courtyard and families stay overnight to use it with their children.

Room Tip: Personal taste, I like ground floor so that my luggage rolls with me. Excellent staff and bellman a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkidman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate your comments; the management and staff expresses great gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    190
    132
    66
    37
See reviews for
99
154
50
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The rooms were tiny and a bit run down, but since we got a Belize discount (my wife is Belizean), it turned out to be a good deal. The pool is great! The front desk staff were courteous and professional as was the management team, including the G.M. Especially great was Shermadine! I was not too impressed with the food. The wait staff were eating at another table while serving us, and the food was nothing special though the price was quite high. As our server brought out the dressing for our Caesar Salad, she was licking her fingers. I guess some dressing had gotten on them! My recommendation: Stay there for the rooms, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stayed with us once again. Thanks for your review, this certainly opened our eyes to greater improvement. Thanks once again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our tour group stayed in this hotel as a base for visiting the Lamanai Mayan site some distance away. The hotel is located on the North Highway several miles outside of Belize City and there is really nothing located nearby. The hotel itself is modern and comfortable, built around a courtyard with a pool and several outside sitting areas. The room was comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom. I enjoyed the pool after a long and hot day of sightseeing. We had breakfast, drinks and one dinner at the hotel, the food was fine, the service was average. Great wifi signal in the lobby with comfortable seating area. There is a small gift shop, not a lot of items available. If you are going to be sightseeing and not spending a lot of time in the hotel, it's a comfortable base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CulverCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments which helps us improve the standards of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a Wednesday and Thursday nights separated by a full week. Both times the noise was louder than my ear phones could muffle. Both times when I complained to the front desk was unaware that there was a problem. Not just people mingling at the bar, but full blown Karaoke with loud speakers and screamers. Due to a large convention, we were not able to relocate to another hotel in Belize City, Belize CA.

Internet access was non existent for 24 hours on July 18-19

I lodged a complaint with the front desk, and they hadn't been told about either problem.

Not again Never

Bob Jensen

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and bar area,,,, so choose a room at the Radisson .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Jensen,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We sincerely apologize for your discomfort and hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once again to show you that our services have improved. Comments like yours help us to see where we can make adjustments to enhance our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belize City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is nice but keep in mind from 8 AM to 5 PM there are community swim lessons held here. The kids take over the entire pool, their parents take up all the pool seating, the instructors are rude to the paying guests and it really ruined our stay there. It was a nightmare. The bar closes at around 10 pm and there's no where to even get a coke or a water. If you eat the breakfast buffet, arrive early to avoid empty food bins and food that has been sitting out forever. No taxi service available or shuttle to the airport. We were late for our flight due to this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squidls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel! We write with regards to your complaint about the swimming pool. We were having a Summer Program during the time you were here with us, which was held as a part of our Summer Community Outreach Project, which actually ended on July 26th, 2012.

We know that you are very concerned about your future stay with us but would like to assure you that we will make all necessary arrangements to ensure that this does not occur in the future, as our guests are our number one priority.

Our most sincere apologies goes out to you regarding this occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Two towels in a room for 4 people, no coffee pot or coffee. Pool full of children taking swimming lessons. Deck full of parents watching children take lessons. Complimentary items listed in hotel booklet when asked for we were told they were for sale in the gift shop.
The dinning room was great, service a bit slow, but food excellent and staff very friendly.
Way over priced for Belize. As are all of the decent hotels in Belize. They charge North American prices without the north american treats or service.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaches37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My son and I stayed three nights at the Biltmore Plaza. I chose the hotel because of the Best Western affiliation. I was not let down. The hotel itself is a great value and with pool, restaurant, and bar could be a very nice base from which to visit the sights of Belize. The rooms are comfortable with coffeey maker and refrigerator. While we were there they were replacing all mattresses and bedding. Taxi service is easy and the front desk is willing to call and firm up the price of the ride. Tell them to call Mervin. He provided my son and I transportation and much more in terms of setting us up with water taxis, tours, and just stops to get some shopping done. The staff were very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. I would be unlikely to walk anywhere in Belize City so the fact that the Biltmore is away from the waterfront and city center is not really an issue. The Riverside Tavern halfway between the Biltmore and city center is a great choice for dinner or pub food.

Room Tip: I usually like a ground floor room. We had a second floor room assigned to us and it turned out jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyp330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
3.2 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
2.5 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
11.9 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Address: 3 1/2 Miles, Phillip Goldson Highway | PO Box 959, Belize City, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing