We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MMM...Tikka Massala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumathi Indian Restaurant

Sumathi Indian Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MMM...Tikka Massala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best Indian Restaurant in Belize!!! I have the Chicken Tikka Massala everytime! The service is excellent, the area air-conditioned, and the food TO DIE FOR! It's conveniently located on a main street and has plenty of parking available street-side! I highly recommend for anyone craving something spicy and different!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food good, service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we got there (early dinner) there was a little girl using a computer at the main central table, and the TV was loudly on the Disney channel----when we ordered the waitress turned the channel and shooed the girl to the back---the food was good and large portions and in general we were happy. Prices seemed a little high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dustmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Service not good, food was ok.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed. Service was poor. Food was average.

We found a long hair in the curry. When we showed the waiter he did not even apologize. We were still charged for chicken masala which we could not eat.

I have no intention of returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashele_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What we hoped for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Based on other reviews we went straight for this restaurant on arriving in Belize City. We were a bit disconcerted to find it empty of other diners but decided we were unfashionably early, since others did trickle in. We opted to share a meat dish, which proved the right choice - with nan and rice we had more than enough. Prices were reasonable, service prompt and the food was honestly great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalypsoReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyville, Belize, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I LOVE INDIAN FOOD!! AND I LOVE SUMATHI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I can't stop coming back..Sumathi Restaurant has such a wide variety of Indian food. I've tried practically all of them and I can't be disappointed. The only thing i dislike is when I get too full to enjoy more. This is definately a place to visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumathi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Sumathi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing