We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience UpClose Belize
from $282.06
More Info
from $181.34
More Info
from $213.34
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
82
11
0
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
11
0
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atm cave tour airport shuttle service specific tour caye caulker blue hole tour guide day trip mayan history the river altun ha ruins small group zip lining beautiful country included lunch awesome experience starting point highly recommend this tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2014

Arrived in Belize on a wet misty morning and where met at the port by Joel. We had planned a trip to the Mayan Temple at Xunantunich , he assured us we had time to do the ship being late docking. So we left Belize City whilst Joel gave us lots of info about Belize as we travelled across the country he pointed out places of interest. We arrived at the Mopan River and crossed on the Hand cranked ferry. We arrived at the site where Joel provided us with a very informative guided tour, as we climbed to the top of the temple. The views where fantastic. We then had the journey back to the port which took approx 1 1/2 hours each way, on the way back we stopped at a small road side cafe fir a local lunch of rice and beans and a very hot pepper sauce. We made it back to the port with approx 20 mins to spare, fantastic day, so glad we did this trip and would definitely use this company again.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank Kitmatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first visit to Belize and Kim did a tremendous job creating an itinerary that achieved exactly what we were looking to get out of our trip. She lined up great resorts, tours and activities that allowed us to experience a broad range of what the country has to offer in an itinerary that fit our schedule and budget perfectly. Kim really went above and beyond when upon arrival we had to make some unplanned changes to our itinerary, and she shifted around all our previously scheduled activities as well as found some new ones that fit our needs. It was great to work with someone who was so helpful throughout the entire process: from the day we decided to book all the way through the last day of our stay.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank RandRTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were very late in getting to our tour guides, Sandra and Joel. They waited patiently for more than 3 hours and when we finally got to them I thought there is no way we could still do our tours. However, they told us we could still get in our cave tubing and ziplining. They both told us about their country and it's ways of life while driving to Caves Branch. They were very interesting and humorous with my son and his friends teenage questions along with having a genuine love for their country. They got us to the zipline and Joel hustled us to the line. Really cool ziplining in the jungle. Next we went to the river for cave tubing and we did not have time to waste. Joel worked hard to get us thru quickly and Sandra even jumped in also to move us along. They both did a great job in pointing out all the features of the cave even as we hurried along. We all thought the caves were very cool. When we got back to their van (which was air conditioned and clean), Joel got us our lunches and we ate on the way back to our cruise ship. Not sure what we ate but myself and three 19 year olds loved it. I was amazed they got us through our tours and with even time to spare. They were a pleasure to be around, very friendly, fun and hard workers. They could have left us because we were so late but I thank them for staying and completing our tours. This tour with Up Close Belize was exactly what we wanted, thrilling and scenic. Would definitely recommend them and will use them again. It was an exciting adventure thanks to Sandra and Joel.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved every minute of what we did and loved Belize the country and the people. Joel and Kevin were both wonderful to us. They shared the love of their country and their kindness. Our first resort, Midas, was so perfectly located. We walked to town every night to enjoy the sights and food and drink. We especially enjoyed going early in the morning for market day. What a treat. The activities were exciting and Kim did a marvelous job coordinating them. Kevin was so much fun to be with. We thought he was very special. I loved Caracol. I even enjoyed the road there. Kevin spotted some amazing birds while we were there and got pictures for me. There were some pleasant surprises Kim had for us--the luncheons, Kevin tubing with us and driving us to Placencia and the local plane back to Belize City. Great treats! Our second resort, Maya Beach, was grand. We had a huge room on the upper deck facing the ocean. Ellen and John were so gracious the entire stay. They never even gave it a second thought when they offered to take us to the airport. The food at their Bistro was sumptuous. We took the bus to town and enjoyed the beauty of Placencia. Our crew for snorkeling was so much fun and found many sea creatures for us to observe. We told Ellen we had bumps, bruises, burns and bites and it, unfortunately, was time to go back home. She added one more "B" word, belly. The food throughout Belize was excellent and I did gain 5 pounds and enjoyed every bite of it. There isn't a thing I would have changed or wanted any different. Kim did an excellent job arranging my requests. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. You made my trip to Belize one I will always remember and brag about. I will definitely recommend Belize as a great country to visit and Kim Chanona as a fantastic tour organizer and Kevin as a great guide and friend.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank 0Trixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived Belize via a cruise ship wanting to visit a Mayan site. We never join the ship's shore excursions as they're like herding cats. We want something personalized and, preferably, private. So we're always looking to find a great local tour company.

After considerable research, we found Kim and her team at UpClose Belize. She was very patient in answering our questions and making recommendations about which site or sites to visit.

Everything happened exactly as she said it would. Our party of 3 were met at the cruise terminal by a great tour guide who drove us through Belize City and the countryside to a boat landing on the New River where another guide took over for the 45 minute boat ride to Lamanai, an extraordinary Mayan site located in the north of Belize in the Orange Walk District.

The boat ride include stops to feed monkeys, view reptiles, bats and other flora and fauna, as well as a Mennonite community. Allan, our guide was very knowledgeable about his country and made us feel like family, rather than a customer.

Upon arrival were provided with a delicious lunch followed by an extensive, take-your-time tour of the site. Allan's knowledge of the site and its place in the Mayan world was very helpful. All in all, it was a great experience and we will definitely use Kim again on our next visit to Belize.

We strongly recommend Kim and her team to anyone visiting Belize.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank HowdyDoody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews