We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mediocre cruise stop”

Belize Tourism Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: Cave Tubing and Tree Top Aerial Trek Zipline Adventure
Ranked #16 of 68 things to do in Belize City
Attraction details
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A mediocre cruise stop”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We visited Belize Tourism Village on an excursion from a cruise. We took a tender over and did enjoy the boat ride and the blue water. Once on land you are greeted by all the typical cruise ship fare, Diamond shops, etc. There were lots of things to buy clothes, purses, etc. But, this is a huge knockoff market, and I personally, do not want to support that industry. We had a nice cold drink from the bar stand at the Wet Lizard. Went to another waterfront place to get lunch/drinks, I asked for nachos which the server went across the shopping plaza to purchase. Overall, I wished I had just stayed on the ship and worked on my tan or booked a snorkeling excursion instead.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bsh031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    99
    165
    59
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
276 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Nothing much to see there, just a lot of cruisers.”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

While there was one place where we had decent drinks, overall it felt way too crowded. It's like a tourist mall. Like most ports, there are the diamond outlets, and name brand stores. The only cool one was the Harley Davidson shop, by the way. All in all, I'd get through this place and on the boat as fast as possible.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake oswego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of shops but only open when cruise ships are in town.”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The tourist village had lots of shops but be careful its only open when cruise ships are in town. The prices are good. The rest of belize city was not worth even writing about. Skip the city if at all possible.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
831 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Epcot in Belize”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

An area for trhose who want to show they've been to Belize without bothering to actually see the country. All the souvinier shops in one spot without any of the sites. Stop there to grab souviniers but keep going to see the country.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good place to pick up souvenirs”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The tourism village is located at the port of Belize City. It consists of numerous stores and a few restaurants. Selection of broad and unlike other ports, prices are reasonable. Washrooms are located at the far end of the pier / village (beside the Harley Davidson shop) and are kept clean.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Durhamprophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Tourism Village also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Belize Tourism Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing