We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thirsty ?”
Review of Wet Lizard

Wet Lizard
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Convenient location on the pier of the Belize cruise ship port. Downstairs offers great cocktails and light snacks, the upstairs is a full restaurant offering the best of Belizean cuisine. Conch, shrimp, fresh fish. Everything is made fresh daily. A great place to spend the day, to relax, or get up dance and party with us.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our real reason for going to the Wet Lizard was the free Wifi as we needed to upload some photos and messages before going back to the ship. But, of course, I would not, and could not, use their Wifi without making a purchase. We were not yet hungry, but we were thirty having been to Altun Ha mid-day in April. So we ordered up a round of drinks. Service was not especially fast, but it was the peak time for returning shore excursions and they were very busy. This actually worked to our advantage because it gave us more time to use their Wifi. When to refreshments arrived, we were not disappointed. The drinks were excellante and they did not cut any corners. This is a great stop for drinks and Wifi before you go back to the ship

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hi Wesley,
Thanks for stopping in, glad you enjoyed your cocktails, and your trip to the Mayan Ruin.
Yes, we do offer WiFi to our customers, we are a bar and restaurant first and offer that service to guests while they are enjoying their time with us. Some people don't understand that and think that we are there just to give them WiFi, and take up seats to our paying guests. Thanks for coming in and having a good drink or two with us and glad you could get done what you needed to get done.
See you again,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 438 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went to Belize on a cruise and didn't want to take any of the excursions. It was supposed to rain and we wanted to be able to get back on the ship quickly. We walked the shops in Belize City and decided to have lunch at the Wet Lizard. They have seating on the waterfront and across the street they have upstairs seating. Since the waterfront was full we went upstairs to eat. Our table was small and had a rustic feel. The chairs were small but sturdy. There is writing all over the walls and doors from past visitors. We waited over 20 minutes to place our drink order and another 20 minutes to receive our drinks. We ordered the meat pies, french fries, and a fried shrimp dish. The shrimp and french fries came out right away. They were hot out of the fryer. The french fries tasted like fish because they probably used the same fryer. The shrimp was good, not great, but the sauce that came with them was very tasty. It was spicy. The meat pies came out about a half hour later. They were cold. They still tasted ok, but had they been hot out of the oven, they would have been amazing. Our waiter took forever to take our orders, deliver drinks and food, settle our bill. He never smiled and seemed rushed. This place could be a really fun quaint hot spot, but the service is terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smsgmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

There really isn't anything I can say except I am sorry that the service was so bad. W only have one male here and he has been with us a very long time, trust me I brought this review to his attention so hopefully not just my words but yours will help in getting them moving.

The food is good and it really is a fun place I am sorry that you didn't get to have the full Wet Lizard experience. Please do come and try us again.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

So of course we got there by cruise ship. Looked around and bought a few things then ready to eat. Service was actually slow. We got nachos which was hamburger meat and liquid nacho cheese. Wife got plantains which seemed actually boring. All this for a 36 dollar before tip . The tip? Stay on the ship? Rant alert! Told by local shop keepers in the area around the terminal most likely safe but stray away and there is danger. Thought about cave tubing... Rain forest trek malaria, Dengue fever, water with parasites and rabies exposure from bats in caves. Get an excursion through the ship to go do a water adventure. They pick you up at the ship.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank local_yokal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

A tourist trap? I think not. We cater to cruise ship passengers because you are in the port area, but everyone there works very hard to make sure we give our guests a great experience. Our nachos actually are our most popular item, the nacho cheese is blended with our own flavors, and spices added to it. I am sure that your bill also included drinks, or other things because the nachos is only 13.00 and the plantains are 6.00 so when making comments that seem detrimental to our business please be sure to have the facts. Also, Belize is a beautiful, safe country. If you are not of the adventurous type then yes, stay away from the caves, etc but I have never heard of anyone being bitten by a bat, which live in all cave systems around the world. If you are off the cruise ship, and if your not making major treks through the dense jungle, getting bitten by a mosquito carrying dengue is highly unlikely. Insect repellent is always a good deterrent.
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience in Belize and have been ill informed of this wonderful place. I have lived here for 20 years and have enjoyed everything, and everyone, and have never had any of the things you refer to in your comments happen in all that time.
Maybe if you come back to Belize, look at it with an open mind as what it is, a beautiful country, with one of a kind lifetime experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Wet Lizard is in the cruise ship village, where the tenders dock, so it is a convenient, 'safe' place to eat. We had lunch with our two teens and enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. We sat in the actual restaurant, up on the second level. Quick service and good food - what more can you ask for?!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlennAndYvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

So glad you stopped by and had a good time. Its always good to hear from our guests, and I will be sure to pass your comments on. We will be revamping the upstairs soon, so when you come back be sure to stop in and see the changes.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is a must visit when you are in Belize City. This was the second time my wife and I visited the restaurant and we left very satisfied.

Their customer service is amazing! Our waitress was quick and very efficient when taking our order. I thought that the use of the iphone was a brilliant way of taking the order.

The food was delicious! The food came to us hot, fresh and enticing!!! The menu had a lot of delicious selections to choose from.

Overall, it was great to be back and we will go back again. Say hello to the folks at the Wet Lizard!!!

Thank RigiDig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

THanks so much for stopping in, and writing your review. I do appreciate you taking the time and letting others know of your experience. The IPhone thing is definitely new to Belize and they are slowing getting the hang of it. Glad to hear that your experience was a great memorable one. We do work very hard at making everything fresh daily and helping our guests have a great time. Hope to see you again soon, be sure to say hello.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Lizard also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Wet Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing