We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be immortalized !”
Review of Wet Lizard

Wet Lizard
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Convenient location on the pier of the Belize cruise ship port. Downstairs offers great cocktails and light snacks, the upstairs is a full restaurant offering the best of Belizean cuisine. Conch, shrimp, fresh fish. Everything is made fresh daily. A great place to spend the day, to relax, or get up dance and party with us.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Colorful ocean side place very close to tender. Beautiful views and you may fellow cruisers in restaurant.

Free WIFI, yippee kids were thrilled.

Can rent black marker, $1, and draw on walls table or chairs. Your visit can be seen by all!! Not sure if it is a new thing or repaints each year. All entries were 2013.

Yummy, large portion of nachos held us over until we got back to ship for more food, LOL.

Fair prices, no gouging.

1  Thank Sheilavehla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Wet Lizard. We do not paint over all the writings, and the bar downstairs is fairly new so you are one of the first to be immortalized there! All the money donated from the markers goes to the local cancer society, so we really appreciate your donation.
Thanks for stopping by and we hope you come by again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Wet Lizard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 435 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I have stopped in this restaurant twice while in port on a cruise. We love their unusual homemade salsa! They also have good local beer and fresh conch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Hi Bethany:
Thanks for stopping on by. Our salsa is definitely different than what everyone is used to, but has become a very popular item. hope you stop by again soon.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We ventured up the stairs and it was worth the trip. We had great Belizian beer and conch fritters with a view of the water, above the crowds. This was a great way to spend a lazy afternoon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Patricia: Thanks so much for stopping in. I'm glad you enjoyed the view from above, it is fun watching the crowd stroll by or dance on the boardwalk. Also, we try to keep our customers happy and try to improve on our food / conch fritters regularly. Glad you enjoyed them.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the place to be if your ready to get your groove on. The party atmosphere and the delicious island drinks are the perfect combination to make you leave your 9-5 back at home and dance like no one is watching!

Thank Sha Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks for taking time to comment about your good time at the Wet Lizard, So glad you stopped in and "got your groove on" Hope you come back and join us again soon.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love stopping by the Wet Lizard when I tender into Belize from a cruise ship. I especially love the upstairs space and view of the harbor in addition to friendly service and great tasting food. I always suggest having a Bellikan Beer when there. Bellikan Beer is made in Belize and not exported out of the country so it is a definite try when in Belize. My standard fare at the Wet Lizard is a Bellikan and either lobster or conch fritters. Make sure to pay the extra dollar to cancer charity so that you can make your permanent mark/message for the next visitors.

This spot is close to all the port shopping.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kdragnfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks so much for stopping in and having a great time. I appreciate you taking the time to write about us. I agree, I love sitting upstairs and watching all the people go by and the view of the harbor. I hope that when you are back in Belize you stop in again, and be sure to say hello. We love returning guests and we will do our best to keep you happy.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Lizard also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Wet Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing