We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great view and wonderful drinks!”
Review of Wet Lizard

Wet Lizard
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Convenient location on the pier of the Belize cruise ship port. Downstairs offers great cocktails and light snacks, the upstairs is a full restaurant offering the best of Belizean cuisine. Conch, shrimp, fresh fish. Everything is made fresh daily. A great place to spend the day, to relax, or get up dance and party with us.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a great view and wonderful drinks!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were first timers to Belize ( won't be our last) and found this amazing little place to hang out at while we were waiting for our excursion. The staff was fast, friendly and very helpful. The drinks were amazing and a great way to kick off the day. Our family ( including teenagers) felt welcome and right at home...We plan to see you again in June!~

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummerJoConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Coming back in June,, great. We will be there waiting, and having the party still going on for you. We appreciate your comments and I am happy to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed themselves. We try to cater to guests of all ages, and we are glad when everyone has a good time.
Looking forward to your next visit and please say hello.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    163
    70
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Happy to be in the heat!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The family and I were just happy to be in the heat and away from the snowy midwest. This was the first stop on our cruise. As an adult family, my mother, father and sister and I had an order of meat patties (3 for $5US) which were delicious and very hot in touch and taste! It was a nice atmosphere and I spent most of my time here having a few frozen beverages. The workers truly are busy when cruises come through. I still dont know where the food is cooked or brought from! If I were to dock here again, I'll be back for the drinks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Lol, we have a full restaurant on the upper level of the gift shop and we run back and forth to make sure our customers get the yummy food items they desire. We also offer a few things in the bar on the waterfront. Glad everything was enjoyable for you and your family, and glad to hear you will be coming back to Belize. Belize is a wonderful country and the Wet Lizard is just one of many great places.
Thanks and see you again.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good local food with great view of area.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a port stop on a Christmas cruise. This is an upstairs location with outside dinning and a great view. Food was good. Hard working wait staff with a very heavy load of tables to serve. Service was excellent and food was good. The place was very full and all appeared to be enjoying the experience. The “graffiti” on the walls and ceiling is actually a charity operation by the owner. You pay for the marker, buck or two, and get to write on the walls.
Worth a try if you stop in Belize.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to write your comments. We really do appreciate knowing what our customers think. Yes, our staff is a little overloaded at times, but I am glad they were helpful for you. It is a fun environment and I hope that you can make it back to Belize to come by and enjoy it with us again. Have a great new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Upstairs View”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't miss out on the Wet Lizard if you want to people watch! Although I went there for local conch, I was disappointed as it was pretty chewy. Instead I enjoyed the coconut shrimp, Belizian beer, and local entertainment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
So glad you joined us and took time to let us know how we are doing. Glad you enjoyed your food, and the local Belikin beer is a great treat. Conch is an animal with texture similar to octopus. We have to beat it a lot before cooking, but sometimes it still comes out a little chewy, but it is a very tasty. Hope you make it back and try it again.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wet lizard”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm always looking for places in my travels to recommend to other. The Wet Lizard was one of the highlights of the Belize cruise port. We had the Belize meat pies (2 orders), shrimp, a pop and 2 beers...the total with tip was $25 with tip. The service was great. I loved the fact that the customers could write a message on the walls, ceiling ect for future guest. Over all a great experience and I look forward to eatting there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gonetropic, Owner at Wet Lizard, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Highlight in the Belize port. Thank you so much, I love hearing. Glad we could make your day in Belize fun. We all do enjoy our work at the Wet Lizard and we are glad that it shows to our guests.
The writing on the wall is something I started when my best friend passed with cancer, so all donations are made to the Belize Cancer society, and we thank you so much for that.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Lizard also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Wet Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing