We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customized guide services”

Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlie's Tours are very educational, ecological-oriented and adequate for school kids and students of all ages. Charlie offers an excellent ecological tour on the trails just prior to having to tube through the mysterious caves where the Maya priests once prayed to and worshiped the Gods of the Underworld. At Charlie's Cave Tubing we cater especially to our Eco-friendly guests. We are very serious about the conservation and preservation of the caves. We are sure you will find this a very relaxing and pleasant experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding customized guide services”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We planned our excursion on-line and through email with Charlie who returned our emails very promptly. We had a very different itinerary that began by flying into BZE, with one day outside Belize City to do the zip lines and cave tubing at caves branch before flying out to San Pedro the following morning. The whole planning process was completely painless. Charlie recommended a great bed and breakfast (Villa Boscardi) on the north (good) side of town for our stay in Belize City where the rooms, hospitality and safety were all great.

Roberto and Brett met us at the airport (wearing their superman shirts) as we exited customs and we loaded our luggage into a private van and headed out. The drive was only an hour and Roberto was great, telling us all about Belize and the different ecosystems along the way. He answered all our questions, is obviously very well educated, speaks fluent English, and is extremely knowledgeable about the jungle ecosystem and history of Belize. He was also great with our 6-year old daughter and went out of his way to keep her entertained and safe.

We did the zip line first, then had lunch, then finished with the cave tubing. The zip line was fun, but not as unique as the cave tubing. Due to our relatively late arrival, Roberto arranged for the restaurant to stay open a few minutes later for us. The best part of being there later in the day is that we had both the zip line and cave tubing completely to ourselves, with no cruise crowds to deal with. The service and equipment provided by Roberto and Brett was outstanding. Brett carried our tubes - which have headrests and net floors - all the way to the lower put- in. Had we been earlier we would have gone higher for a longer float.

Again, great service, great price, and we felt safe leaving our belongings with them while we were doing the zip and float.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrewC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    20
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Personal service at half the cruise ship price”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked on-line but no money exchaged until we got into the van. Charlie Chan cave tubing takes a small group (cruise tours go on a bus) and you don't have to walk your tube through the jungle, as other tours make you do. Our guide, Alf, gave us a rundown of Belize society on the drive to the tubing site (about an hour from the dock) and made sure we got back to the ship in plenty of time. All the cave tube groups park in the same lot and use the same changing/rest room facilities. Had a nice lunch (included) of chicken, rice beans and small salad.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Torpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Mayan Experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Charlie and his son went to great lengths to insure we had a memorable and very educational and FUN experience in Belize! His knowledge of Mayan history and culture (at Altun Ha pyramid site) was amazing, and his knowledge of the plants and trees was also very informative and interesting. The cave tubing experience was really fun and a very unique adventure in itself. A lunch stop along the way was delicious (chicken with rice and beans, fish balls or turkey neck!) very satisfying and friendly prompt service! Charlie filled our day with informative, fun, physical activity and accurate historical facts. If you really want a great Belize experience, look for Charlie Chan at charliescavetubing.com

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twistbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ending to our vacation!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Charlie took us on a half-day tubing tour. Not only did he accommodate us on a Sunday, but he picked us up at the boat taxi station (we were returning from a week in San Pedro) and also dropped us off at the airport afterwards!
The tour was great. It was just us two with Charlie and his son. The river was so quiet (not many tourists that day) so it was basically a private tour!
His knowledge throughout the trip was such an added bonus!
Make sure to ask him for the monkey call!

Helpful?
Thank plcreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charlie offers a great personalized experience!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We used Charlie Chan's services for one full day of cave tubing, zip-lining, and a tour of Xunantunich. Charlie and his son Brett were very friendly and helpful. Charlie is extremely knowledgeable, and with much experience. They also personalized the trip to meet our needs. We highly recommend them! They offer a great service, and are just great people! You will definitely be happy with their services - we were!
Richard and Lorraine (from Toronto, Canada)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing