We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mayan Experience”

Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours
Ranked #7 of 79 Tours in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charlie's Tours are very educational, ecological-oriented and adequate for school kids and students of all ages. Charlie offers an excellent ecological tour on the trails just prior to having to tube through the mysterious caves where the Maya priests once prayed to and worshiped the Gods of the Underworld. At Charlie's Cave Tubing we cater especially to our Eco-friendly guests. We are very serious about the conservation and preservation of the caves. We are sure you will find this a very relaxing and pleasant experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Manassas, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Mayan Experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Charlie and his son went to great lengths to insure we had a memorable and very educational and FUN experience in Belize! His knowledge of Mayan history and culture (at Altun Ha pyramid site) was amazing, and his knowledge of the plants and trees was also very informative and interesting. The cave tubing experience was really fun and a very unique adventure in itself. A lunch stop along the way was delicious (chicken with rice and beans, fish balls or turkey neck!) very satisfying and friendly prompt service! Charlie filled our day with informative, fun, physical activity and accurate historical facts. If you really want a great Belize experience, look for Charlie Chan at charliescavetubing.com

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twistbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    20
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ending to our vacation!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Charlie took us on a half-day tubing tour. Not only did he accommodate us on a Sunday, but he picked us up at the boat taxi station (we were returning from a week in San Pedro) and also dropped us off at the airport afterwards!
The tour was great. It was just us two with Charlie and his son. The river was so quiet (not many tourists that day) so it was basically a private tour!
His knowledge throughout the trip was such an added bonus!
Make sure to ask him for the monkey call!

Helpful?
Thank plcreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charlie offers a great personalized experience!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We used Charlie Chan's services for one full day of cave tubing, zip-lining, and a tour of Xunantunich. Charlie and his son Brett were very friendly and helpful. Charlie is extremely knowledgeable, and with much experience. They also personalized the trip to meet our needs. We highly recommend them! They offer a great service, and are just great people! You will definitely be happy with their services - we were!
Richard and Lorraine (from Toronto, Canada)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Charlie Chan is the man!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from Western Carribean cruise & we booked cave tubing excursion, Mar. 6, (outside of cruise line) w/Charlie Chan. What a wonderful experience! Had researched & researched, read every review I could find, & decided on Charlie. As others stated, he is very knowledgeable & explains various foliage & their ancient medicinal uses (if he had followed in his families footsteps he would have been modern day medicine man) & you get tour of the city of Belize as caves are outside city limits. There is quite a hike thru the jungle (wear tennis shoes; water shoes are a bit thin for all the rocks) & you sweat, but OMG, when you get in the water it is awesome! Do try to be in first tour of the day so you get Charlie. At the end you are fed nice lunch & his son does carry the tubes for you. Heard of the cashew wine, so he stopped at local grocery & we bought some for $5. vs $15. at tube site. I promise, go with Charlie Chan, you won't be disappointed !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This excursion was absolutely un-belize-able! Charlie, his son, and his nephew were waiting for us outside the cruise terminal. There was a total of 12 people on the tour, so it was not a large group by any means. He spoke about the island and it's history while we were driving to the beginning of the caves, all while in an air conditioned van. We arrived to the caves where we were allowed time to change and then we were given a headlamp and a lifevest. Unlike the majority of other tours we saw, we did not have to carry our own tubes. We then walked for about 30 min and learned about the plants in the area and their uses to the Maya culture. When we reached the river, the tubes were waiting for us and we got in one by one and were hooked together in two groups of six. Charlie led our group and his son led the other. Charlie did all of the talking and told us many educational things about the caves. When we got back to the van Charlie led us to a building where we had some traditional rice, beans, and chicken which was DELICIOUS! On the way back to the terminal Charlie stopped at a local grocery store so that we could buy some cashew wine and local rum for much cheaper prices. This was such a great experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Charlie's Cave Tubing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing