We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Butts Up Cave Tubing
Ranked #3 of 78 Tours in Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the ultimate Belize adventure, Cave Tubing and ATVing in the middle of the Belize rainforest. You couldn't ask for anything more in a half-day excursion. We are the only tour operator in Belize that can offer you this unique combination. Tours are specially designed for cruise ship passengers while Free Hotel Pickup and private tours are available for overnight visitors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Fern Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went to Butts Up June 10. I contacted them tru Tripadvisor. I got
a conformation right way. Bus was waiting for us. An hour drive to location. I
warn you, its not a beautiful drive.The bus was very clean, our guide was fun
but where you drive thru isnt in best part of town. Makes you appreciate what
you have. Ok so make SURE you take water shoes. I dont remember any site
saying that. They charge you $3 to rent some. But let me advise you the heavier
the sole the better. Reason being is you have about half hour walk to get to where
you have to go to start the tubbing and you go thru water covered in heavy stones.
I had water shoes and my feet still hurt. So if you can find sime heavy soled ones
that would be GREAT.I had my Aunt with us and she is a little handicapped. The
was amazing and gave her very speacial attention.They had to take her a different
rout cause of her handicap, but eventually we met up in the cave. It was difficult
me as well cause im a heavy set girl. But the guides helped me and made sure
I didn't fall.Once we got to the water caves WOW!! Beautiful!! So when you go
makesure you take water with you.Youll be glad you did. And PLEASE
take extra cash for tips. They are worth it I promise!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dewhuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,146
    245
    74
    42
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
karenhvb
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Tour from Butts UP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a private tour (3 of us, 2 guides) for the cave tubing, then to the Mayan ruins. Wonderful, personalized service. We highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karenhvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Butts Up are No1 for tubing you better Belize it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bit late putting this review on but been busy anyway. My wife and I were on a cruise for New Year and spent New Years day in the company of Speedy and his crew cave tubing in Belize . Speedy made us very welcoming and the most entertaining tour guide we have had in a long while.
The place was mobbed and we were among hundreds of people taking part in this adventure. The caves are astounding and these guys earn their $$ by walking and swimming alongside the tubes rafted together for safety. On the way back we stopped off for tamales and beers and spent 1/1/14 like we had never spent new years day before. Was pissed off at the USA man who refused to pay or tip the guys because the tour started at a different bit of the river from where he would have liked . Shame on you sir ! If you go to Belize this is where to book ask for speedy and you will be entertained to the MAX . AND save $$$ compared to the cruise ship price

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blancolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cave tubing in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Such a fun day!! From the moment we were met at the Port until we returned, we were treated like friends who had come to visit! Speedy was a blast! The drive to the headquarters was full of laughter and information about Belize. All the equipment was new and ready to be used. The walk through the rainforest was so pretty. The "refreshing" water was crystal clear. The caves were beautiful! After a relaxing float trip and a swim.. we were treated to a delicious lunch, homemade chicken tamales. I can't wait to do this again. The price was very affordable.(book online..NOT through the cruise company) .but more important the service provided and the experience was amazing! Butt's UP is the best!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best deal for Cave Tubing and Amazing Tamales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

As most of us are ... we were a bit skeptical arranging a tour in another country outside of the ship. But the cost difference was too much not to try it. $35 for the tubing through Butts Up vs $90 through the ship. We were on the Carnival Legend the first week of June 2014. After quite a long tender from the ship we got into the port. Skipped all the lines and were directed outside where the Butts Up bus was waiting. "Dayton" was amazing. He was our tour guide. We got on the bus and were quite surprised that the entire bus was Carnival Legend passengers. We took off through the City and Dayton was fantastic telling us all about Belize and answering any questions we had. We also had samples of Belize's native Cashew Wine as we continued on the hour long ride out into the jungle. When we arrived we were surprised at how clean everything was. The bathrooms and changing rooms were spotless and ladies were there cleaning. A bit of advice: You do leave all of your personal belonging on the bus (we weren't sure about this ... but nothing was touched). The tour takes you on a hike into the jungle to pick up your tubes, life jackets and head lamps and then you walk (yes people ... you do have to hike to get to the starting point and carry your tubes this entire way so be prepared. Aqua Socks/water shoes are a must or you have to rent them ... YUK! Walmart carries them for $5 so bring them with you. Also a waterproof camera. We didn't have one so we were out of luck with photos) Your tour guide with butts up will tie your tubes together and he basically pulls you through the caves and points out everything. It is a bit noisy in there with all the other tours. But what an experience! The caves are surreal and so is the jungle. The water is amazing. Cool and clean. When you get to the end, you turn in your items and head back to the bus. About a 10 min drive you stop at the Butts Up Palapa and are served lunch. Amazing tamales. Nothing like we have in the US. Don't be afraid to try them ... they truly are awesome. Not spicy and just so good. Drinks are available here as well: beer, cocktails and soda, water. Also you can buy Butts Up tshirts here for $10. Do it! The excursion takes the entire time you are on the island. And you will not have time to shop in the port. Also, we were going to do the zip lining as well. Not sure you would really have time to do more than one of the activities that Butts Up offers. Anyway ... go with Butts Up. Look them up on Facebook and tell Dayton Hi. This company is a local owned Belizian company. Help out their economy and save yourself some money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Califborne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butts Up Cave Tubing also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Butts Up Cave Tubing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing