We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time with one issue”

X-Stream Cave Tubing
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time with one issue”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was on a 7 day Western Caribbean cruise in mid-February. Five of us pre-reserved a cave tubing trip with this company (Island Marketing Ltd.). We received explicit instructions before leaving home about how to find their representative. The first instruction was that their tours were "specifically scheduled to fit with your Cruise Ships arrival time in Belize with tours departing 1-1/2 hours after ship arrival. Please ensure to take one of the first tenders going to shore". This is a direct quote from their instructions. Since our ship schedule put us at anchor at 7:00am, we took this to mean that our tour would be leaving about 8:30am, so we were on the first tender off our ship. We had no trouble finding their rep, who led us to their office to check in and make our final payment. Then we sat. And sat. And sat some more. Finally, we were loaded into their van at about 10:15am!! The rest of the trip was good and as advertised. The tubing finished about 1:15pm or so. Our lunch was a wonderful large homemade chicken and cheese tamale with drinks, including rum punch, water and plain punch. We were driven back to the dock and arrived about 3:00pm. Everyone was very nice, but we didn't appreciate the long wait to get started in the morning. We had a good time, but we wished that the pre-instructions had been more accurate regarding our tour starting time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank okietraveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    11
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryant, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great guides”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Interesting experience great guides with Wentworth,"Super" Mario,Shandra? spelling.Booked thru Island Marketing.Long drive rushed experience due to Carnival Legends poor use of getting on a tender off the boat they gave the 1st 3 of the tender boat tickets to a obnoxious group with 1 person there to pick up tickets instead of the ones of us who followed directions and was in line at 8:30 as told if booked off ship. x-stream tubing waited on several of us even though we were late getting there because of the 30 min tender trip and not getting on til our appointed time.Very informative guides, cool water felt good after 30 min trek neat float thru caves,lunch was good,and back to the ship on time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyM0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta,Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely area, but”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved the cave tubing and zip lining, but we only went through one cave system, when the ad said we would do two. We also did not get to explore the dry cave systems as advertised. There were over 30 people in our group, not what I would call small. Also be warned they transport the zip liners, cave tubers and zip/tube combo all on one bus. If you only book one or the other you have to sit and wait for everyone to finish. As well on our tour there were people from a ship that had to leave much earlier (2hours) than the other ships - this rushed things, we had to eat lunch on the moving bus back to town and I guess this may have been the reason for missing one cave system and no exploring. Not what we were promised. On the plus side, wonderful excursion, friendly/helpful guides and the lunch was tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlpineGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome excursion”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We took this excursion while on a cruise with Carnival, it is half the price of what the price is on the ship and you get to go through two caves instead of just one that Carnivl offers (we went through Carnival back in 2010, so this is how I know this). Wentworth and his crew were AWESOME and very informative and handled an unexpected blowout on the way back wonderfully. Food was great, FANTASTIC trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip / Great Guide!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We did the cave tubing with Children. We have a 9 year old son. After getting in our group our guide (Nikoli) took us to our bus and we got a very informative and entertaining tour of Belize City. The ride out to the park was about 1.5 hours. We stopped about half way at a store and got snack and drinks. Once we arrived at the park we got our tubes and walked about 20 - 25 minutes into the jungle. Again we got a very informative and entertaining tour along with eating termites! Nikoli took the time to show my son cool stuff like the termites, makeing a spinner out of palm leaves. When we got to the spot to enter the river we quickly got hooked up and began out float through the caves. The float was about 30 minutes. Lots to see so bring a water proof camera. The give you head lamps but mine was not very bright. So if you are going to do this bring your own waterproof head lamp so you will know you will be able to see everything in the cave, including the BATS! We had lunch and then back to town. We got back with pleanty of time to do some shopping. The shops that are outside the terminal are cheaper and you can bargin. Great trip! Lots of fun for our family. Well worth the money!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BBOK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed X-Stream Cave Tubing also viewed

 
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to X-Stream Cave Tubing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing