We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Every Penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altun Ha Ruins

Altun Ha Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Altun Ha And Cave Tubing from Belize City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This collection of temples and other buildings is one of the most well-known Mayan ruins in Belize.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited the ruins as part of an last minute excursion. We had an awesome tour guide who gave us a tour of the city and stopped at several places so that we could sample the local beer, fruit and wine.

It was obvious that our tour guide and the local places he stopped were giving each other kickbacks, but we dint care - It added to the depth of the tour.

It was a 45 minute bus ride to the ruins from the docs. Along the way, our tour guide explained the neighborhoods and the business districts, along with a string of other facts about Belize that tourist wouldn't ordinary know. When we arrived at the ruins, there were they typical gift shops and tourist bars. The local brews were around $3 and worth trying. Once the tour got started, we were overwhelmed (in a good way) about ruin facts. Our Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable on the ruins and indiginouse plants. He even stopped at particular trees to explain there medicinal uses - very fascinating.

We were given about 20 minutes to climb a few of the ruins for photo ops and to take a closer look before continuing the tour. He spent a lot of time discussing the local plants and trees and the ancient uses of them. He went as far as to picking leaves and crushing them to allow us to smell/taste what he was talking about. Afterwords, we were given another 20 minutes to climb the ruins again or head to the ancient lake for photos.

Afterwords, we were given a half hour to shop and get refreshments before heading back. On the way back, he took us by the airport and the colorful part of Belize city before taking us back to the docs.

There were about 10 of us in the bus and everyone was extremely pleased with the ruin tour.

Note: We did not book this excursion as part of the cruise. We went with one of the many people on the docs selling excursions. We paid about $40 per person. Total excursion time was around 5 hours.

Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RomanusRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    210
    43
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kendra and Curtis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked the River Wallace and Altun Ha excursion through our cruise ship. We chose it because of the river experience as well as the Mayan ruin tour. The bus ride to the ruins was initially over paved roads and then went to pave/unpaved? roads full of potholes. Not a good experience for someone who suffers from motion sickness! The ruins themselves were small but interesting. Our guides Kendra and Curtis seemed knowledgeable and presented the history in an entertaining manner. We were able to climb the sacrificial temple steps up to the top. I wouldn't recommend that for an older or out-of-shape person in the summer with both heat and humidity! I was not disappointed in the experience. Thoroughly enjoyed the boat ride back to Belize City. We saw many sightings of alligators, or is it crocodiles!, howler monkeys, orange and green iguanas, egrets, and even a few manatees when we got closer to the cruise ship.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ann Marie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ann Marie was our guide and she knows her stuff! I've been to many of the Mayan temples/ruins and I liked this one. It is small by very nice. You can still climb some of these temples for a better view. It is one of few that has the rounded corrners on the rock temples.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeb_Cedar_Swamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We used ShoreExcursioneer.com to book this. Anthony the tour guide did a great job. He was very knowledgeable of the area and the ruins them selves. He and the company he works for do a great tour and are a pleasure to deal with. We learned all about the site and how and what it was used for as well as the animal life and surrounding trees and plants. The lunch that was provided of rice, chicken, friend plantains, and potato salad was a good authentic dish. I will recommend this to anyone that is interested in history and nature.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorcycleCCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Back to the future, not really.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

On 27 December 2012 we visited the Altun Ha Maya Ruins close to Belize City. This archaeological site itself might be worth visiting if certain conditions were met. Firstly during the visit some local youngsters were running around physically disturbing the visitors. Why these boys were allowed to do this on the site is a question to put to the local authorities. Secondly the journey from the port to the ruins is quite tiring. Thirdly Belize City itself does not have any touristic attraction apart from this site. Altun Ha is not a site that can be compared to the sites in Egypte. I think that the idea of placing Belize on the itinerary of a cruise in the Caribbean Area is a mistake.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altun Ha Ruins also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Been to Altun Ha Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing