We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New River”

Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour
Ranked #7 of 85 Tours in Belize District
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“New River”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Took the New River boat tour and visited Lamanai the same day. Very good experience. I even fed cantaloupe to a spider monkey along the bank of the river. Very cool experience. The boat ride itself was long, apprx 1 hour but very smooth altogether.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    101
    21
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lamanai Ecotours Rock!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We almost dropped this from our itinerary due to a scheduling conflict. Thankfully we didn’t as this was an awesome experience. We scheduled this trip with Derick Montero, 501-602-9431, derickmontero123@yahoo.com, a friend of William Hofman’s (BelizeShuttle@yahoo.com), and were not disappointed. Derick promptly picked us up and shuttled us up to Orange Walk and to the entry point to Lamanai where Eddie, our tour guide from Lamanai Eco tours, 501-610-1753, took over. Eddie was a fantastic tour guide and demonstrated amazing eyesight as he was able to locate numerous species along our trek to the ruins. We had the opportunity to visit with and feed a monkey living alone on the island. Eddie informed us the monkey’s mate was stolen from the island awhile back, which was sad to hear. After an hour or so on the water, we arrived on location. We ventured off on the tour from here and Eddie did a fantastic job. Though hesitant at first, we tackled the climb to the top (there is a rope to assist you when climbing) and enjoyed the magnificent views. It’s well worth the climb just for the views. After the tour, we enjoyed a lunch of papaya, chicken, salad, rice, beans, etc., and then we returned to the starting point for our trip back to Belize City.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YO_LOOK_AT_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deming
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A long boat ride, then a short time at the Ruin”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked our tour through Tropic Air. Flew from San Pedro to Orange Walk. Transferred by van to Eco Tour on the river. The boat ride was 1 1/2 hours, and far from comfortable. Upon arrival, we were escorted to 3 of the ruins buildings - for a tour of about an hour. A good lunch was provided, then back to the boat for a 1 1/2 hour boat ride back; transfer to plane; plane back to San Pedro. Only a few birds and plants were pointed out on the boat ride. Cursory coverage of the ruins themselves. Note: this is NOT a trip for anyone with difficulty walking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bearhug68jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! (Literally, My Husband Proposed Here)”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited in 2011 mid Caribbean cruise with Carnival. The hour bus ride and hour high-speed boat ride were 100% worth traveling to get to this wonderful oasis in the middle of nowhere. We took a private trip with our family. Our tour guide was local and absolutely amazing, I wish I remembered his name. It absolutely astounds me that more than 3/4 of the ruins haven't been excavated yet. The complex was so quiet for lack of tourists, and full of Howler monkeys. We loved how secluded it was and how respected the temples are since tourists aren't trampling over them by the thousands. The view from the top of the High Temple was breathtaking, you can see up the river for miles. Once we reached the top, as I was completely covered in sweat and exhausted (a 108' climb!) it was nice to take in the views and feel the breeze. To my surprise, my now husband picked that moment to propose to me, so Lamanai will always hold a special place in my heart. Imagine how difficult the climb back down was at that sharp angle after saying yes! We will visit again, maybe for a distant anniversary with our family, and I hope it is as pristine as it was when we visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyV912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing place to travel through the time! is one of the most wonerful places where i been in my entire life! Definitly i'll comeback to Belice!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JosiasGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize District, Belize
 
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Lamanai Mayan Site and New River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing