We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Excursion Ever”
Review of Cave Tubing R Us

Cave Tubing R Us
Knoxville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Excursion Ever”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Can not recommend this tubing excursion fast enough! We decided to book an excursion while on our last cruise, and decided to book this one on our own (rather than thru the cruise line & saved tons of money).
From the moment we arrived at the port and made contact with David's staff to the moment we (sadly) ended our excursion- everything was UNBelizeable!! David & his staff not only took us cave tubing but were wonderful tour guides enriching us with Belize history, food & culture! Family friendly, tons of fun!! We want to come back to Belize & visit with David & his amazing crew!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    8
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two Davids Rock The Caves”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As mentioned in many, many other reviews, this was an absolute highlight of our cruise. David and his crew (Dale, Marcel, can't remember em all!) worked their butts off and gave us a truly memorable day. They were right outside the port as promised with a sign with my name, got us loaded onto the air-conditioned bus (just a bit on the rickety side), provided water, and we were off. About an hour ride to the park, and as everyone else says, David made it a fun hour. He's either a fantastic actor or one of the happiest guys you'll ever meet. The park itself was beautiful, there are restrooms and changing rooms provided. The hike to the river was about 35 minutes, with many interesting plants and insects pointed out, and tasted. Hmmm, minty termites...The tubing itself was slow, safe, easy. No feet jammed under your armpits here! The tubes are connected by ropes and D-rings. The river, jungle, and caves are incredible, and it's over too soon! Afterwards, at the park, we ate at their Belizean buffet, which we loved. Especially the sweet potato salad and bread pudding squares. And do NOT miss a frosty cold Beliken beer! Then an hour back to the city and port, and you pay at the very end. We were very happy to tip well on this trip, cause the guys did a great, professional job. Pretty much everyone agreed it was the highlight of the cruise!

I can't stress enough - everyone goes through the EXACT SAME caves and park! Don't go through Carnival and overpay and have inferior tubes, and miss these fun guys! You won't miss the ship, be brave!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UNBELIZEABLE!!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

David was incredible. My wife booked the excursion through David online, and we were skeptical about what it. It turned out to be the best part of the entire cruise. It was the four of us (wife, son, daughter, and myself) along with one other person from the cruise. It was our small group, as compared to the 20 - 30 people that did the excursion through the cruise. David not only gave us a great cave tour, but gave us a "behind the scenes" tour of Belize......absolutely unbelievable! We would do a thousands time over! A must do, without a doubt. David, you were amazing and the kids had one memorable experience......still talking about.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat it.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

David with Cave Tubing R Us is fantastic! We met outside of the cruise terminal and got on an AIR CONDITIONED bus with about 6 other people (there were 12 total!!). We got to the park first and were able to hit the river before other groups who booked through the cruise ship even got off their bus.

Do NOT be afraid of doing this excursion because of the walk. It's not a hard walk at all. It's mostly flat and it's a graveled path.

We were able to take a dip in the river before we took off on the long part of the walk. It was FABULOUS. The water is so clean and refreshing. After we got through the caves, I was able to get out of my tube and swim down the river. Having grown up swimming in rivers, I was in heaven.

After we tubed, we went to a local restaurant and enjoyed a great meal.

The entire experience was a total pleasure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank EdithB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time of my life!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Cruise excursions can be pricey, so I came to TripAdvisor to see what we could do on our own when we came to port in Belize City. Cave Tubing R Us was at the top of the list of recommended things to do, and after experiencing it, I understand why. The only downside is that not booking through the cruiseline, you're not one of the first on to the tender boats (just get to the meeting area for tender tickets early). But that is certainly not David and Henry's fault. We met Henry who was holding a sign with our name on it, and David joined soon after with the rest of the group. There was a total of 9 of us, which was split into a group of 4 and a group of 5 during the actual tubing making it a very personal experience. They both were SO personable and SO fun. They talked to you like they've known you forever. I think the drive to the caves took about an hour, but honestly it didn't seem that long. Part way there, we stopped at David's local "general store" where we could pick up some refreshments to put in a cooler they had in their van. For a total of $5, we got two beers, two pops, and a small bag of chips....quite the deal, and the Belizian beers are tasty! Once there, we submerged ourselves in the cool river water to cool off before the 30 min hike to the start of the cave. But again, it didn't seem to take that long...David would stop every so often to talk about the different plants/trees, point out interesting things, it was great. The inside of the cave was amazing, I had never done anything like this before. We floated farther than the cruise tours did. When it was over, we had the option for a late lunch at two places. We chose the $10 buffet which was actually pretty good. David and Henry had us back to the tender boats in plenty of time. I would recommend this to EVERYBODY, and truly hope we can get back to Belize someday to do it again. This was one of the best days I have ever had. Totally worth the time, and way more economical (not to mention personable) than going through the cruiseline. I would also recommend emailing them through their website to double-check on their rainy season. DO THIS!! You will not regret it. Thank you David and Henry for such a wonderful time!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Tubing R Us also viewed

Belize City, Belize District
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Cave Tubing R Us? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing