We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location right on the River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howler Monkey Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Location right on the River”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We finished our trip to Belize here to be close to the airport. Great location to be close to the airport and to visit the Community Baboon Sanctuary. Just stayed one night so I cannot give a full report. Arrived and unpacked and then went to the Community Baboon Sanctuary (CBS) for the Nightime Crocidile Tour. While at the CBS, we saw a large scorpion on a wall. After we arrived back to HML, I saw something move right by the sliding door and found a large scorpion. Since these are seperate cabins, there is a lot less foot traffic. This was not unexpected given the location and the fact that these things live in the area. Not a complaint, just passing on our experience. (We did not even mention it to the hosts.) Slept great. Next morning I heard some of the howler monkeys move through by the HML. Rest of the family slept right through it. I got up, got some of the free coffe and enjoyed a nice morning beside the river. We later went to CBS (highly recommended), came back to clean up an pack, and then left for the airport. These are homemade cabins. If you want a cabin by the river, this is great. Were clean and had good hot water. If expecting a luxury resort, you will not be impressed. We enjoyed it and I would stay here again. Mel and Ed were nice hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank justf0rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fredericton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The owners Ed and Mel are the sweetest and nicest couple! Our little lodge was rustic, clean and great view of the Belize river!. the couple have canoes you can use and they will drop you up the river for a beautiful 3 hour canoe ride enjoying the sound and view of Howler monkeys, tons of birds and Iguanas roasting in the sun. oh and there cuisine is excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Howler Monkey Lodge should be your first stop after arriving in Belize. Just a short drive from the airport, you will be staying in a jungle setting, complete with all the jungle sounds you would expect, including several different troops of Howler Monkeys. The host were both helpful and accommodating. As vegatarians, they prepared two great meals for us and I don't mean a typical pasta primivera and a salad meal. Our cabin was rustic, but comfortable with a great river view. The Community Baboon Sanctuary is for the most part, right next door and if you have a limited amount of time, a 45 minute tour is all you need to see some Howler Monkeys upclose. Again, I will make this my first stop whenever we travel to Belize.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

What an amazing time we had at the Howler Monkey Lodge. Ed and Mel(issa) were perfect hosts. Their sons Joseph and Yusef were interested and intelligent. We had Cabin #5... a delight to swing on the back porch and listen to the bands of howler monkeys calling to one another. It was simply great! We will go back and smile!!! Fantastic!

Room Tip: You cannot beat Cabin #5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's pretty impressive how such a small monkey can make that dinosaure sound. If you want to be sourrounded with 4000 of them and hear them all night, it's the right place to be. We absolutely don't regret stopping by Bermudian landing and its Baboon sanctuary. We think it's an awesome experience. They are not that many accomodations in the area, so we think the howler monkey resort is probably the best place to stay. The cabins are located on an a very nice peace of land and some of them are right next to the river. The owner are very nice people, not overly welcoming, but helpful. Only negative about the cabins is that ours was not super clean. We did not mind it much to be honnest, but in all fairness to other places that offered immaculate clean rooms, I have to deduct points for that. I too think the resort itself needs love. It could be a little more well maintained. I have to say that the food was AMAZING!! Mel is a great cook. Finaly, i do recommand you do the canoe ride on the river. Ed will drop you off a few miles away from the resort and you'll be canoeing on the river for about 2 hours. You'll get to see many monkeys and iguanas. Don't spend more than one or 2 nights there. There's way too much to see in Belize.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvelyneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way from the Belize airport to Guatemala. We thought we would see monkeys and wildlife but there were NONE. We even asked a Belgium couple who was staying there a week and they confirmed they saw none. You have to go down the road to the park and pay for a tour to see them.
The hotel area is on the river, but in sort of a neighborhood. The bungalow was comfortable and quiet, just the areas was not what we expected. It worked out fine for us for one night and the breakfast and dinner, which was included in the $116USD rate, was excellent and plentiful.
We just wish the owners were a little friendly. When we checked in all we got was a "here, sign this." No smile, no hello, no welcome. In fact we never saw them smile or even attempt to act friendly and we tried really hard to be nice to them!! Maybe it was a bad week. We know it must be difficult running a business out of your home.

Room Tip: Get one away from the restaurant and neighborhood but on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went to Bermudian Landing to see the Howler Monkeys and we were not disappointed. We took a tour and saw them close up. When we got back from the tour, there were more monkeys right at the lodge. The next day we saw more right in front of our cabin. Accomodation is in basic cabins with breakfast and supper included. The owners are nice, friendly people who will do their best to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin that they call the "treehouse cabin". It is a two story cabin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize District hotels
9.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
557 reviews
23.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
22.9 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
0.8 mi away
Nature Resort
Nature Resort
#1 of 16 in Belize City
25 reviews
15.5 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howler Monkey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Resort

Property: Howler Monkey Resort
Address: River Side, Community Baboon Sanctuary | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belize District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly jungle lodge, owned and operated by a Belizean family since 1998. The lodge is the middle of everything, the perfect base for your Belize vacation - only 30mins from the airport/45 from Belize City, excellent paved roads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hotel Belize District
Howler Monkey Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing