We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to sleep to the howler monkey sound.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belize District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howler Monkey Resort
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to sleep to the howler monkey sound.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's pretty impressive how such a small monkey can make that dinosaure sound. If you want to be sourrounded with 4000 of them and hear them all night, it's the right place to be. We absolutely don't regret stopping by Bermudian landing and its Baboon sanctuary. We think it's an awesome experience. They are not that many accomodations in the area, so we think the howler monkey resort is probably the best place to stay. The cabins are located on an a very nice peace of land and some of them are right next to the river. The owner are very nice people, not overly welcoming, but helpful. Only negative about the cabins is that ours was not super clean. We did not mind it much to be honnest, but in all fairness to other places that offered immaculate clean rooms, I have to deduct points for that. I too think the resort itself needs love. It could be a little more well maintained. I have to say that the food was AMAZING!! Mel is a great cook. Finaly, i do recommand you do the canoe ride on the river. Ed will drop you off a few miles away from the resort and you'll be canoeing on the river for about 2 hours. You'll get to see many monkeys and iguanas. Don't spend more than one or 2 nights there. There's way too much to see in Belize.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvelyneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maui, hi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way from the Belize airport to Guatemala. We thought we would see monkeys and wildlife but there were NONE. We even asked a Belgium couple who was staying there a week and they confirmed they saw none. You have to go down the road to the park and pay for a tour to see them.
The hotel area is on the river, but in sort of a neighborhood. The bungalow was comfortable and quiet, just the areas was not what we expected. It worked out fine for us for one night and the breakfast and dinner, which was included in the $116USD rate, was excellent and plentiful.
We just wish the owners were a little friendly. When we checked in all we got was a "here, sign this." No smile, no hello, no welcome. In fact we never saw them smile or even attempt to act friendly and we tried really hard to be nice to them!! Maybe it was a bad week. We know it must be difficult running a business out of your home.

Room Tip: Get one away from the restaurant and neighborhood but on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went to Bermudian Landing to see the Howler Monkeys and we were not disappointed. We took a tour and saw them close up. When we got back from the tour, there were more monkeys right at the lodge. The next day we saw more right in front of our cabin. Accomodation is in basic cabins with breakfast and supper included. The owners are nice, friendly people who will do their best to make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin that they call the "treehouse cabin". It is a two story cabin with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

if you're looking to experience the Belize jungle in comfort and not too expensive this is a very relaxing place to do it. Howler Monkey resort lives up to its name, there are a couple of troops that move through the trees in the village and resort, easily seen just (and heard!) walking around or better yet on one of the walks offered by the Community Baboon Sanctuary centre, just up the road. Comfortable cabins, excellent meals (fixed menu, reasonable prices), free wifi, decent swimming pool, even a jungle walk on the property that you can do on your own. They also offer night time croc tours on the river. There's not a lot else going on in Bermudian Landing, which make this a relaxing place to stay, if you want to just kick back and read a book or sit by the pool

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had the best time of our holiday in Belize at the Howler Monkey Lodge. Mel and Ed, the Belizeans who own and run the lodge, were so welcoming, gracious and informative. The lodgings are rustic, clean and cozy. We had cabins overlooking the river and it was amazing to surrounded by the jungle. The breakfast and dinner that are part of the stay were some of the best home cooked belizean cuisine we had on our trip. Mel even made sure I was able to get a good meal as I am a lactose intolerant vegetarian. The banana pancakes were sublime. Ed toured us around the Altun Ha ruins and enlightened us on mayan culture and history, as well as a tour of the colorful local winery. In all it was an unforgettable experience that wouldn't have been half as special without our great stay with Mel and Ed and their family. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you are looking for a jungle style resort experience, look no further! This family owned cabin lodging is very simple but a fun way to stay close to the jungle. Be ready to be awaken by the amazing sounds of local howler monkeys and birds. The cabins are equipped with all your basic needs. Breakfast & dinner is prepared daily (included in the lodging prices) - very good introduction to the Belizean homestyle cooking. The family was very hospitable and accomodating to our needs. This is not a place for tv junkies, but travelers looking for an affortable stay during their tours and adventures in the area. Places and tours within a resonable drive from this resort: Belize Zoo, Wildlife Sanctuaries, Lamanai tours, cave tubbing and ziplining tours. Suggesting to bring lots of bug spray as the cabins are near the river.

Room Tip: River Cabin - 2 double beds on the first foor and 1 double bed upstairs (all open space - no privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Howler Monkey Lodge during a family vacation. The cabins are charming; we had a cabin with three beds and a hammock overlooking the river. The lodgings are simple and rustic, but that is what we were hoping for. A Belizean family owns this resort, and they are very friendly and accommodating. They prepare all of the meals as well, which were delicious and gave us an opportunity to try traditional Belizean cuisine. We also had many opportunities to see howler monkeys in the trees right outside our cabin, even though we were only at the Howler Monkey Lodge for one night.

My only warning is that this area has an abundance of mosquitoes, which made it difficult to enjoy being outside. I was fine, as I don't often get bit, but one of my family members got over 30 mosquito bites, even with bug spray. Come prepared with long-sleeved shirts, pants, and enough bug spray for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ettara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belize District hotels
9.0 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
23.5 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nature Resort
Nature Resort
#1 of 16 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
15.5 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
21.0 mi away
Villa Boscardi
Villa Boscardi
#1 of 26 in Belize City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howler Monkey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howler Monkey Resort

Property: Howler Monkey Resort
Address: River Side | Bermudian Landing Village, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Belize District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly jungle lodge, owned and operated by a Belizean family since 1998. The lodge is the middle of everything, the perfect base for your Belize vacation - only 30mins from the airport/45 from Belize City, excellent paved roads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howler Monkey Hotel Belize District
Howler Monkey Resort Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing