We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCUBA Diving Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

4/20/13: So sad to be leaving our little island paradise. I have been on a number of dive trips around the world and can honestly say that Turneffe Island Resort had the best service and food of anywhere I have been. A must visit for those that haven't been there and surely a place to return to. Maya & Allen are the general managers and great hosts, Eddie runs the office and gets you set up with all your activities, Adelina (head chef) & Beverly (sous chef) make sure you are very well fed morning, noon and nightime! The staff take care of everything from serving the family-style food, having your room made up, keeping the gounds in impeccable shape and the list goes on. Daniel, Marcel, Marcella & Brad run an awesome dive program with dives right off the resort reef structure and an incredible trip on Tuesday's out to the Great Blue Hole. If snorkeling is your thing, Carlos will have you very entertained with morning and afternoon visits to various spots. There were guys and couples fishing the flats and they sure seemed to appreciate the guides taking them out. And let's not forget everyone's favorite, George (a.k.a Jorge) the baretender there to have a cool beverage in your hand whenever desired. All in all, a great trip with someone special or with a group.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private Villa on our honeymoon trip there - very comfortable and would certainly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 446 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed a week with four other family members, then a second week with our son and daughter-in-law. All were adults. Accommodations in the villas were perfect. Food was varied, outstanding and excellent accommodations were made for two of our party with food allergies. The divemasters were the best we have ever experienced (we have logged about 200 dives). Dive sites were varied and interesting and access was easy. Trip to the Blue Hole was wonderful even though we did not dive the hole. Plenty of other things to see and enjoy. We mostly snorkeled the first week and Carlos, our "dive" guide was extraordinarily helpful. George, the bartender and general man about helping was a talented joy. The real secret to this place seemed to be the managers, Maya and Alan. They were all over, clearly cared about and were respected by the staff. The second week they were off on their own vacation and the decline in service by some was noticeable but minor. Unlike most of the many island resorts we have visited over the years, this one stays on top of maintenance and upgrades. No bailing wire and duct tape repairs here. We did not fish, but those who did spoke highly of the guides and the fishing. Absolutely outstanding place, amenities, water activities, staff and management. I would think twice about taking young children here, but we've never experienced better.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Shoe8545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This has been a delayed review because we are still suffering from depression from having to leave this resort. My husband and I have been fortunate this year to take some spectacular trips and have decided that the length of the depression corellates with the degree of enjoyment.
That being said, this is most like a great sleep-away camp for grownups with very nice amenities. The villas were somewhat spartan but beautiful and functional and the outdoor shower was great. Coffee, tea or hot chocolate delivered to your porch each morning was priceless! The food was also great and do not plan on losing weight on this trip. The diving was excellent. The dive staff was extremely professional and helpful and the variety of marine life that we saw during our week was amazing. I would suggest bringing warm layers as we became progressively colder during the week and ended up borrowing additional hoods and shirts...I started with a 5mm and wound up wearing a hooded vest over. The water is a little colder than other Caribbean sites. You do get to know the other guests very well with only 20-30 on the island. We made some great friends that week and wouldn't trade that part! But it is not a place to be alone with your significant other. The best part...the staff. What an amazing group of people. Each staff member that we encountered went above and beyond to ensure the guests were having a good time and were taken care of.
We have already begun planning our return!

Room Tip: We had a villa mid-way between the dining hall/pool area and the end of the beach but I don't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chef4five-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely resort with excellent service that caters to diving, snorkeling and fishing adventurists. It is very easy and convenient to participate in any or all activities.

The dive and snorkel guides are safety conscious and knowledgable about the local sea life. On our trip the majority of guests were experienced divers, many repeat guests. I have a hard time equalizing so didn't dive for concern of holding up the group, fortunately we had an extra guide available on the daytrip to the Blue Hole so was able to get special attention upon descending with Daniel which was really nice. So glad I did,as I would've missed seeing the 2 grey reef sharks, the gigantic spotted eagle ray and an octopus! Tacoo gave me a first fly-fishing lesson on the beautiful flats, great first! Carlos treated us to an amazing snorkel at the Aquarium as well as an introduction to "Max", a local crocodile who enjoys treats.

Villas were nice but agree with Mark, the superior rooms looks very nice as well so can't say the significant up-charge for a villa is really worth it.

Food is served family style. It was all tasty, especially after a full day of activities, but don't expect anything fancy or particularly Belizean, with the exception of Belizean night. The food is fairly bland, catering to a variety of tastes but they do keep an assortment of the local hot sauces on the table. Charlie, the bartender, really made the trip (and good drinks)- such a bright, fun personality.

Really enjoyed getting to know the other guests on our trip, a lovely and interesting group. That said, you will spend most of your days and every meal together with a the same few dozen folks so I wouldn't recommend coming here for a romantic get-away where you want significant alone time with your sweetie.

Leave your computer at home. Very limited wi-fi and internet service. you won't want it anyway.

The beach area is just okay, plenty of chaises to enjoy looking at the water but don't expect deep white sandy beach from which you can snorkel into crystal blue carribbean waters. The ocean floor is mostly grass covered around the atoll so you won't see those turquoise water until you venture out to the blue hole.

Again excellent service all around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susmalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lodging:
We stayed in a private villa, which was quite nice, but the guest rooms were also surprisingly private and spacious. I may opt for the superior guest room next time.

Diving:
The trip to the Blue Hole can be rough on a windy day, but definitely worth it. Diving off Half Moon Caye was spectacular. Diving around Turneffe atoll was quite nice, although we were a bit underwhelmed by the Elbow. You'll definitely notice a lot of free-swimming moral eels, which are most likely looking for handouts of recently speared lion fish. If your dive guide is spearing lion fish, you'll have plenty of larger reef fish hanging around to be fed.

Experience:
Probably the best part of the trip is getting to know the other guests. You're on a private island with ~30 other folks, and you're going to share a lot of experiences, including hermit crab racing. Tip: the larger the crab the better. If you find a crab walking around with the initials "KK" (King Kong) on his shell - he was a winner.

This place has a lot of repeat guests, and it's easy to see why. All together an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This resort lived up to our expectations, which had been set very high. The dive facilities were outstanding, with the dive guides taking care of all our gear between dives and at end of day. The dive sites (except the Blue Hole) are all located very close to the island so the surface interval can be done on the beach rather than on the boat. The boat used to go to the Blue Hole is large and very comfortable.

Overall, we had selected this resort as an alternative to a live-aboard. While there were fewer dives than you would get on a live-aboard, we benefitted from much greater comfort. The rooms were beautifully finished in polished wood and have both indoor and outdoor showers. During down time, we could lounge in hammocks on the beach or hang by the pool bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in our own beach cabin, which was certainly very nice and located some distance from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bear_bat_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As you shuttle from the airport to the dock, you can't help but think that its a good thing you're not staying in Belize City. The trip really begins as you head out to sea, lose sight of land, and arrive at Turneffe Atoll, about 30 miles off the coast. The place is like summer camp devoted to diving or fishing. The dive staff was expert, the reef healthy, and we seemed to discover, at least for us, something new and special, like spotted eagle rays, sharks, turtles, and on one occasion, dolphins. The trip to the Blue Hole and Half Moon Caye is not to be missed. Shared activities and family style dining foster a very friendly atmosphere. We met interesting people from all over. The food was great, in fact, too good. Don't even think about losing a little weight on this trip. Also, another plus is no television, no phone, no internet. If you absolutely have to check on things, you can use a computer in the office. And they do have a satellite phone and helicopter pad for emergencies.

I don't know anything about fishing, and I didn't go out with a guide while I was there, but according to some of the experienced fishermen we met during the week, this place is the real deal when it comes to saltwater flyfishing.

One thing to keep in mind. There is pretty much nothing to do after dinner. We were usually tired at the end of the day and back at our room/bungalow by 9pm.

I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
557 reviews
0 mi away
Clarissa Falls Resort
Clarissa Falls Resort
#1 of 2 in San Jose Succotz
125 reviews
24.8 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
142 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range: $689 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing