We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Diving and Fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Diving and Fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely resort with excellent service that caters to diving, snorkeling and fishing adventurists. It is very easy and convenient to participate in any or all activities.

The dive and snorkel guides are safety conscious and knowledgable about the local sea life. On our trip the majority of guests were experienced divers, many repeat guests. I have a hard time equalizing so didn't dive for concern of holding up the group, fortunately we had an extra guide available on the daytrip to the Blue Hole so was able to get special attention upon descending with Daniel which was really nice. So glad I did,as I would've missed seeing the 2 grey reef sharks, the gigantic spotted eagle ray and an octopus! Tacoo gave me a first fly-fishing lesson on the beautiful flats, great first! Carlos treated us to an amazing snorkel at the Aquarium as well as an introduction to "Max", a local crocodile who enjoys treats.

Villas were nice but agree with Mark, the superior rooms looks very nice as well so can't say the significant up-charge for a villa is really worth it.

Food is served family style. It was all tasty, especially after a full day of activities, but don't expect anything fancy or particularly Belizean, with the exception of Belizean night. The food is fairly bland, catering to a variety of tastes but they do keep an assortment of the local hot sauces on the table. Charlie, the bartender, really made the trip (and good drinks)- such a bright, fun personality.

Really enjoyed getting to know the other guests on our trip, a lovely and interesting group. That said, you will spend most of your days and every meal together with a the same few dozen folks so I wouldn't recommend coming here for a romantic get-away where you want significant alone time with your sweetie.

Leave your computer at home. Very limited wi-fi and internet service. you won't want it anyway.

The beach area is just okay, plenty of chaises to enjoy looking at the water but don't expect deep white sandy beach from which you can snorkel into crystal blue carribbean waters. The ocean floor is mostly grass covered around the atoll so you won't see those turquoise water until you venture out to the blue hole.

Again excellent service all around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susmalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
222
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lodging:
We stayed in a private villa, which was quite nice, but the guest rooms were also surprisingly private and spacious. I may opt for the superior guest room next time.

Diving:
The trip to the Blue Hole can be rough on a windy day, but definitely worth it. Diving off Half Moon Caye was spectacular. Diving around Turneffe atoll was quite nice, although we were a bit underwhelmed by the Elbow. You'll definitely notice a lot of free-swimming moral eels, which are most likely looking for handouts of recently speared lion fish. If your dive guide is spearing lion fish, you'll have plenty of larger reef fish hanging around to be fed.

Experience:
Probably the best part of the trip is getting to know the other guests. You're on a private island with ~30 other folks, and you're going to share a lot of experiences, including hermit crab racing. Tip: the larger the crab the better. If you find a crab walking around with the initials "KK" (King Kong) on his shell - he was a winner.

This place has a lot of repeat guests, and it's easy to see why. All together an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This resort lived up to our expectations, which had been set very high. The dive facilities were outstanding, with the dive guides taking care of all our gear between dives and at end of day. The dive sites (except the Blue Hole) are all located very close to the island so the surface interval can be done on the beach rather than on the boat. The boat used to go to the Blue Hole is large and very comfortable.

Overall, we had selected this resort as an alternative to a live-aboard. While there were fewer dives than you would get on a live-aboard, we benefitted from much greater comfort. The rooms were beautifully finished in polished wood and have both indoor and outdoor showers. During down time, we could lounge in hammocks on the beach or hang by the pool bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in our own beach cabin, which was certainly very nice and located some distance from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bear_bat_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

As you shuttle from the airport to the dock, you can't help but think that its a good thing you're not staying in Belize City. The trip really begins as you head out to sea, lose sight of land, and arrive at Turneffe Atoll, about 30 miles off the coast. The place is like summer camp devoted to diving or fishing. The dive staff was expert, the reef healthy, and we seemed to discover, at least for us, something new and special, like spotted eagle rays, sharks, turtles, and on one occasion, dolphins. The trip to the Blue Hole and Half Moon Caye is not to be missed. Shared activities and family style dining foster a very friendly atmosphere. We met interesting people from all over. The food was great, in fact, too good. Don't even think about losing a little weight on this trip. Also, another plus is no television, no phone, no internet. If you absolutely have to check on things, you can use a computer in the office. And they do have a satellite phone and helicopter pad for emergencies.

I don't know anything about fishing, and I didn't go out with a guide while I was there, but according to some of the experienced fishermen we met during the week, this place is the real deal when it comes to saltwater flyfishing.

One thing to keep in mind. There is pretty much nothing to do after dinner. We were usually tired at the end of the day and back at our room/bungalow by 9pm.

I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I neither fished nor snorkelled nor scuba-dived - and it was heaven on earth. I read four books and a pile of magazines on the gorgeous quiet private beach and feasted on three great meals a day. The awesome George ran the classic tropical bar on the deck of the small but immaculate swimming pool. The other guests were really fun, and the managers - Maya and Allan - were outstanding. The small spa has a gifted massage wonder named Mary. There was no tv, very limited internet, and no newspapers - but each night we saw a spectacular spread of stars in the dark remote skies over the Caribbean. This magical place is not close to anything, so you can just relax and concentrate on restoring your own sanity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inkpot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

You have 3 dives per day and hardly ever touch your dive equipment once you land on the island! We were fairly new divers and got so many dives in during our week stay we felt like we were in "scuba heaven".

The staff is fantastic and you are treated like family. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a cabana away from the main lodge and even though we had a walk for meals and to dive it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smbruner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I vacationed at Turneffe Island Resort with my 17 year old son in February 2013 and can't say enough good things about the entire staff, accommodations and management. The pictures on their website do not lie, this place is absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. I enjoyed the outdoor showers and the morning coffee on the porch each day at 6:30 am. George, the bartender, kept us entertained with card games and bar tricks in the afternoon and evening. The nightly poems / notes left on the bed at night when they turn down your bed was a nice touch, and the food was out of this world delicious. The location of the resort is ideal since it is close to so many snorkeling/dive spots that we were able to snorkel twice a day. Thats not to mention you can snorkel right in front of the resort if you so choose. Our snorkeling guide was wonderful and very attentive to our needs and when my son had a bad reaction to a sun burn on his back, Allen and Maya were beyond understanding and helpful when we woke them up in the middle of the night. My sincere thanks to all of the Turneffe Island Staff and Management.
P.S. My son gives this place a 6 out of 5 stars and I agree with him.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of the ocean and are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
25.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
49.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.3 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
29.2 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
33.8 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Property: Turneffe Island Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing