We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This resort lived up to our expectations, which had been set very high. The dive facilities were outstanding, with the dive guides taking care of all our gear between dives and at end of day. The dive sites (except the Blue Hole) are all located very close to the island so the surface interval can be done on the beach rather than on the boat. The boat used to go to the Blue Hole is large and very comfortable.

Overall, we had selected this resort as an alternative to a live-aboard. While there were fewer dives than you would get on a live-aboard, we benefitted from much greater comfort. The rooms were beautifully finished in polished wood and have both indoor and outdoor showers. During down time, we could lounge in hammocks on the beach or hang by the pool bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in our own beach cabin, which was certainly very nice and located some distance from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bear_bat_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

As you shuttle from the airport to the dock, you can't help but think that its a good thing you're not staying in Belize City. The trip really begins as you head out to sea, lose sight of land, and arrive at Turneffe Atoll, about 30 miles off the coast. The place is like summer camp devoted to diving or fishing. The dive staff was expert, the reef healthy, and we seemed to discover, at least for us, something new and special, like spotted eagle rays, sharks, turtles, and on one occasion, dolphins. The trip to the Blue Hole and Half Moon Caye is not to be missed. Shared activities and family style dining foster a very friendly atmosphere. We met interesting people from all over. The food was great, in fact, too good. Don't even think about losing a little weight on this trip. Also, another plus is no television, no phone, no internet. If you absolutely have to check on things, you can use a computer in the office. And they do have a satellite phone and helicopter pad for emergencies.

I don't know anything about fishing, and I didn't go out with a guide while I was there, but according to some of the experienced fishermen we met during the week, this place is the real deal when it comes to saltwater flyfishing.

One thing to keep in mind. There is pretty much nothing to do after dinner. We were usually tired at the end of the day and back at our room/bungalow by 9pm.

I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I neither fished nor snorkelled nor scuba-dived - and it was heaven on earth. I read four books and a pile of magazines on the gorgeous quiet private beach and feasted on three great meals a day. The awesome George ran the classic tropical bar on the deck of the small but immaculate swimming pool. The other guests were really fun, and the managers - Maya and Allan - were outstanding. The small spa has a gifted massage wonder named Mary. There was no tv, very limited internet, and no newspapers - but each night we saw a spectacular spread of stars in the dark remote skies over the Caribbean. This magical place is not close to anything, so you can just relax and concentrate on restoring your own sanity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inkpot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You have 3 dives per day and hardly ever touch your dive equipment once you land on the island! We were fairly new divers and got so many dives in during our week stay we felt like we were in "scuba heaven".

The staff is fantastic and you are treated like family. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a cabana away from the main lodge and even though we had a walk for meals and to dive it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I vacationed at Turneffe Island Resort with my 17 year old son in February 2013 and can't say enough good things about the entire staff, accommodations and management. The pictures on their website do not lie, this place is absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. I enjoyed the outdoor showers and the morning coffee on the porch each day at 6:30 am. George, the bartender, kept us entertained with card games and bar tricks in the afternoon and evening. The nightly poems / notes left on the bed at night when they turn down your bed was a nice touch, and the food was out of this world delicious. The location of the resort is ideal since it is close to so many snorkeling/dive spots that we were able to snorkel twice a day. Thats not to mention you can snorkel right in front of the resort if you so choose. Our snorkeling guide was wonderful and very attentive to our needs and when my son had a bad reaction to a sun burn on his back, Allen and Maya were beyond understanding and helpful when we woke them up in the middle of the night. My sincere thanks to all of the Turneffe Island Staff and Management.
P.S. My son gives this place a 6 out of 5 stars and I agree with him.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of the ocean and are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The boat ride over was a little choppy, but the captain did an excellent job getting us there alive. From the time you're met at the Belize City Radisson you have a first class experience. You do not touch your luggage untill it is delivered to your room on the island. There are two snorkel trips a day and the dive boats leave every morning @ 8:30. There are kayaks to use anytime, hammocks if you're feeling lazy, or a great little spa for massages or a mani-pedi. Mary, the masseuse is a wonderful lady and does a great job. The best thing about the island is the FOOD! Three family-style meals per day, and it is exquisite! Coffee or tea is delivered to your door every morning before breakfast. Our room was beautiful, with Belizean hardwood everywhere..walls, floor, countertops. There is an outdoor shower besides the indoor shower. Ours had a palm tree growing inside of it! All cabins are right on the beach, and you can walk around the entire island in less than 10 minutes. All accomodations are first class and service from the staff is second to none. Great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from Turneffe Island Resort and it was everything we had hoped for and more. The entire staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. I truly felt catered to. The snorkeling/diving were wonderful. The managers of the resort were always available. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
557 reviews
0 mi away
Clarissa Falls Resort
Clarissa Falls Resort
#1 of 2 in San Jose Succotz
125 reviews
24.8 mi away
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
142 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range: $689 - $1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing