We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A retreat from civilization and a diver's paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackbird Caye Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A retreat from civilization and a diver's paradise”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a laid-back, comfortable, informal retreat, where you can live life at a relaxed pace. The staff are welcoming and friendly. This is a place where you will soon be on a first-name basis with all the other guests, exchanging stories and sharing photographs in the evening.

You won't find room service, nightly entertainment, in-room internet, shopping or 1000-count bed linens. The cabins are comfortable, clean, spacious and functional, but people who expect a duplication of the Ritz-Carleton on a tropical island will be disappointed. Meals are served three times a day; while not fine dining, they are filling and varied.

The dive crews are inspire confidence. They assess the relative skills of their divers and plan their trips accordingly; novice, intermediate and advanced divers will all feel comfortable. The diving itself rivals any place in the world for the density and variety of coral and the dive masters will make sure to look out for and point out marine life divers might otherwise miss.

Non-divers have the options of spectacular snorkelling, fishing, hiking through the ground to look for crocodiles and iguanas, picnics on nearby Half-Moon Caye, and sea kayaking.

I will definitely be back ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank functus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    79
    21
    17
    2
See reviews for
100
276
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in Cabana #1, at the north end of the beach. The location was fantastic, just a short walk to the dining area, bar, and office (the office has very dependable wifi) with a great view of the beautiful waters of the Caribbean. There are lots of interesting birds and reptiles around the cabana area. We loved our cabana's thatched roof and enclosed verandah with hammock! Being in a relatively small resort where we were on a first-name basis with all the other guests and staff was a nice change of pace from previous holidays.

Snorkelling/diving boats leave multiple times a day, they split up divers and snorkelers so you're assured of getting the best experience no matter which you do. Chris, our snorkelling guide, was excellent and could simultaneously keep track of the group and provide assistance to anyone who needed it, while also pointing out the various marine life that we might have otherwise overlooked--sights this trip included cuttlefish, octopus, stingrays, spotted eagle rays and a 5-6 foot nurse shark. We have been to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia many times, and Belize had some of the best snorkelling we've ever done. The coral was in excellent condition. Our trip to the Blue Hole was also terrific, the Hole itself is more for divers than snorkelers but Half Moon Caye was very beautiful with a marvellous view of the turquoise waters.

The food was really good and varied--dinner especially was always a treat. Staff were unfailingly professional and attended to our every need. This was our first trip to Belize, let alone Blackbird, and it was one of our best holidays ever!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinandShauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Look no further for the perfect diving vacation. My husband and I have travelled everywhere, including diving at the Maldives, off the coast of South Africa and the Great Barrier Reef. After reading many reviews and wanting something different, we decided this would be the perfect place for our 16 year old to do her Open Water 1. James immediately took us under his wing and with love and care helped her achieve her dream. Our first dive took us to an underwater garden, with beautiful coral and a large variety of fish, dive site is called Calabash Cut. It's only 15 minutes from the resort as are many other beautiful sites. After a day of diving, swimming, and snorkeling we were fed wonderful food, all meals were outstanding. Most of all was the staff, made us feel like family the minute we reached the island and within a day everyone knew us and we have made friends forever. Please go, you will go home feeling refreshed and relaxed as all your needs are taken care of, from the minute you meet Mr. Moreno's big smile. Your luggage will be taken care of from then on, all your dive equipment will be looked after and ready for your trip the next day and all dives well planned. Snorkeling was great. Go to Big Hole, Half Moon is a stunning island and the diving with sharks a must. My daughter is happy, we are happy and that's what we were looking for. Job well done Cardinal, James, Jackie who fed us, Ian very pleasant guy and Gilbert such a good guy. They were all courteous and kind to us and Mike the manager suits the profile, perfectly. Thank you Blackbird Caye for making our spring break so special. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were lucky to be given room #12, apparently the best there, with it's own sitting area and pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalabashCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Blackbird resort is one of those special resorts that is consistently the best. The new manager, Mike, is so accommodating and always willing to do whatever he can to make the resort run smoothly and make sure the guests are having a great time. The rest of the staff is also wonderful. All are experts at their jobs, always smiling and just the nicest people. Chris is the best snorkel guide anywhere and has an incredible eye for spotting hidden sea life. Jackie, Ian, Mansfield, Lita, Cardinal, James and Stewart and the entire staff are committed to pleasing the guests and they do so beautifully. The cabanas are "rustic elegance" which fits perfectly in the setting and all are ocean front. The food is excellent...I love Lita's spaghetti and Mansfield's potato salad. The waters are warm, clear and full of sea life and coral. It is truly paradise. It is my hope that next year will be trip #7.

Room Tip: I like the cabanas north of the dining palapa. They have coffee makers and refrigerators, a nice si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaM826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

If you are contemplating a trip to Blackbird Caye Resort - do it! This was one of the best vacations I've ever taken. The island is beautiful, the staff is friendly and knowledgable, the food is excellent, the variety of sea life you'll see is fantastic, and the facilities are clean and functional. Everything is very well maintained. I was traveling alone and always felt safe. I now plan to learn to scuba dive so that I can return for an even more amazing experience.

Room Tip: Cabana #5 was very centrally located, right between the pool and dining hall, directly across from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

For the first time ever, I got teary when our vacation ended. That is how special Blackbird Caye Resort is. We were in need of some serious relaxation and Blackbird is the perfect setting to unwind and unplug. The snorkeling was unbelievable and the staff warm and welcoming. I can't say enough about how great the staff is.The accommodations, while nothing fancy, are comfortable and the meals are excellent. I was a little worried about how we would like doing communal dining with the other guest but throughly enjoyed getting to know everyone. If you are looking for golf, tennis, shopping, hiking, or whatever, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a place to hop out of the rat race, soak up some sun, meet new friends, and dive in a underwater wonderland, Blackbird is it.

As testament to how great Blackbird is, many of our fellow guests were on their 6th and 7th trips to the resort. We will most certainly be repeat guests ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned this evening from this beautiful dive vacation. We spent a week with our 21 year old daughter diving with James and Cardinal. Very professional dive crew with well kept boats. Our duplex cabana #23 and #24 were just fine. Located right next to the office- but that was never an issue. We were closest to the bar, dive boat and WiFi. Loved the screened in porch. Plenty of hot water but they need new pillows! Short boat rides and good diving. We three are vegetarian and enjoyed every meal/dessert. Fresh OJ with breakfast with the friendliest staff. There is a pool but no shade trees or umbrellas. We enjoyed this trip to relax and dive. Go, it is a fun trip.

Room Tip: Not a "bad location" at this small resort, it just depends if you want to be closer to din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsdive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
387 reviews
24.5 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casitas Tres Cocos
Casitas Tres Cocos
#16 of 31 in San Pedro
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Caye Resort

Property: Blackbird Caye Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackbird Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackbird Caye is a privately owned Island sitting on The Mesoamerican Reef System - often referred to as the "Jewel of the Caribbean" - it is the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere with a rich tapestry of vivid corals, mangrove forests, coastal wetlands, and diverse marine wildlife. Within the reef you will find Turneffe Atoll the Caye where the resort is located. Turneffe is the largest and most biologically diverse of the 3 atolls found in the Caribbean home to more than 65 species of stony coral, 350 species of mollusk, and more than 500 species of fish, manatees, dolphins and invertebrates. There are over 70 dives sites all within 10-15 minutes from the resort and 45 minutes to Lighthouse Reef where The Great Blue Hole is located. The resort is made of 19 modern cabanas facing the Caribbean Sea and 1 beach house. The cabanas are all equipped with A/C, fans, private bathrooms, either King or Queen Beds with new comfortable bedding, private porches with chairs and swinging hammocks. Included in the price are your cabana, 3 daily meals, dive or snorkel package, complimentary transfers to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays and use of the resort's kayaks. We are the only resort on Turneffe with an air strip making it convenient to arrive or depart any other day of the week. Our courteous and helpful staff will always make you feel at home as customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blackbird Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Caye Hotel Turneffe Islands
Blackbird Caye Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing