We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackbird Caye Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I came to Blackbird to celebrate his birthday, dive, and relax. It was perfect. The accommodations were spacious and clean, the staff was always helpful and went out of their way to make everything special. Our dive master, Cardinal, was very knowledgable, and made sure we all had unforgettable experiences. It is quiet, so no TV.. which I loved...and you definitely unplug from the outside. It was a memorable experience, and I can't wait to return. Michael, the manager, does an incredible job ensuring that everyone has what they need to have the ideal vacation. Couldn't have asked for a better way to welcome 2014.. Thank you to everyone at Blackbird!

Room Tip: We stayed in #14 which was at the very end of the resort.. very private, quiet.. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    73
    16
    16
    2
See reviews for
95
260
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I went to this resort for a short 4-night vacation just after xmas and brought in the New Year there. It was everything we had hoped for. The lodging (cabanas on the beach)was spacious and comfortable with cleaning service daily. Transportation from the airport to the boat and then to the island went very smoothly. We did not dive, we snorkeled. Our guide was Chris, a truly knowledgeable wonderful accommodating guide, taking us to new places each time and taking into consideration the needs of the individuals in each group. Food was good, staff very friendly . The manager Michael was available for questions, concerns etc. The snorkeling was amazingly wonderful. We met nice people on this trip, many families were there and it seemed to be a good vacation spot for all ages.

If you go, take seriously the advice of bug spray. I did not and got bitten repeatedly by what might have been sand flees.My husband did not get a single bite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

An adventure from the start. We'd expected to be transported from Belize City by boat, but ended up in a five-passenger plane. NICE to see everything by air, and a nice greeting by staff at the TINY airstrip. Our deluxe room was wonderful, and even the Standard Room I had to move to for my last 3 nights was more than adequate. Food good, company great, management and staff always available for anything needed.

We didn't get the dive or snorkel package, just paid a la carte for those we wanted, as we aren't into 2-3 dives or snorkels a day. Just totally laid back, and exerted ourselves when we felt like it... Thank you, Chris for the wonderful snorkel trips, and Joe for watching over me closely on my dives, as I hadn't dived in about five years. NICE re-introduction to the underwater.

The boat trip back to Belize City was smooth sailing also.

We had a great week's weather (some heavy rain every now and again) ,,, then the last couple of days, LOTS of rain.

Must also mention a great flight we booked to the Blue Hole, as we weren't interested in the whole day trip. With another couple, we booked Javier's Flying Service (with help from Manager Mike) to fly us there ... a great view, and the pilot/owner Denfield was awesome!!

Want to go back soon....

Room Tip: Felt it was definitely worth the extra for a Deluxe Cabana, and enjoyed #12, which was the next to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

First off I must say the experience I had at Blackbird was beyond amazing! This place is truly a treasure that’s perfectly kept for travelers looking for serene escape with fun things to do still! My room was ready upon arrival. A welcoming introduction to the island really does so much (especially if you are like me eagerly anticipating what to expect) puts you at ease the very moment you arrive. Restaurant is nice and clean and the food is super. The beach chairs in front of your private cabana came in just right for those sunsets and a nice sun soak, a laid back place. No reasons to complain.
The best part of my stay was the fact that there was always something to do, snorkeling, diving, and maybe grab on to one of the fishing rods and see if I can get a few bites from some tarpons or bonefish! The beach was always clean! I can’t emphasize this more. All personnel were nice and friendly. Management is doing super job to keep this place nice and clean. Speaking about people I need to mention a few names, Aixa, Ran, Cardinal & Leo. Wow these guys are magnificent in every way! I couldn’t help but admire how very attentive they all were to the guests and their needs.
Blackbird is truly a hidden treasure that is worth finding and coming back for more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30Sher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

OK, I'm rating Blackbird Caye Resort based on 2 things, Remote Island & Dive Operation.
Awesome - Fun time this past week.
Everything went smoothly from reservation to the Belize City transfer to the boat trip to Blackbird.
We were met at BZE and transferred to the Radison Hotel where we had lunch and some beers and waited on the transfer boat to take us to Blackbird Caye.
The transfer boat ( Big Bird) was nice 1.5 hour smooth ride with Soda, Beer and Water not to mention seeing the sun start to set.
We all were met by Mike and Staff on our arrive, and were pointed to the Bar / Gift Shop area where we had some appetizers while Mike gave a 20 minute orientation.
During the orientation our bags were delivered to our rooms.
3 meals a day are included and served family style in the dining room by some wonderful Blackbird employees that we would see all week long doing other things around the resort.
The food was good and the water on the island is SAFE to drink. The kitchen staff did a wonderful job and even did a barbecue for us on the Blue Hole Trip.
Rooms are nice with quality bedding and AC.
The resort has a bar, a fresh water pool/bar, and WIFI in the office.
No TV's or Phones, which is just what the doctor ordered, very relaxing.
Diving around Turneffe Atoll is wonderful. Saw my first ever Hammer Head the Pinnacle dive site.
Our package included 3 dives a day (except Friday - only 2) which totaled 17 dives for the week.
There is also a Snorkeling option with 2 trips a day and from the reports of the 5 or so people snorkeling you see plenty. Eagle Rays, Lobster, Octopus and on and on.
And Mike was able to arrange a couple afternoons fishing with a local for a few of the guest.
The week ended so quickly and I met some very interesting / friendly people that make it hard to say good by.
What is amazing to me is the people I met at Blackbird Caye Resort have shared emails, facebook and Flickr accounts. In fact one guy has set up a Group on Flickr for us all to up load photos.
This place is for everyone that wants to get away.

Mike, I know you read these, Thanks to you and your Wonderful Staff for a 10 out of 10 time last week.

Room Tip: Do the Blue Hole trip, The reefs around the Blue Hole are killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

It is more than the beauty and appeal of being so remote. The energy is amazing. This place is rustic and has a small capacity. Between the proximity of the dives and snorkeling, and the moonlight on the sea it is unforgettable. It is an experience, not just a vacation. Go, be fearless! See sharks and Crocodiles and pretty fish. Go !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great for a relaxing dive vacation. Don't expect to do much more than this and it is amazing. Dive master Cardinal and resort manager Mike are fantastic and the rest of the staff is just as great. Fluffy the 12' crocodile is also a treat and visit the pier on a daily basis.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eviscerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
33.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
24.5 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#1 of 1 in Negroman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
29.9 mi away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Tree Tops Guesthouse
#6 of 32 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Caye Resort

Property: Blackbird Caye Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackbird Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackbird Caye is a privately owned Island sitting on The Mesoamerican Reef System - often referred to as the "Jewel of the Caribbean" - it is the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere with a rich tapestry of vivid corals, mangrove forests, coastal wetlands, and diverse marine wildlife. Within the reef you will find Turneffe Atoll the Caye where the resort is located. Turneffe is the largest and most biologically diverse of the 3 atolls found in the Caribbean home to more than 65 species of stony coral, 350 species of mollusk, and more than 500 species of fish, manatees, dolphins and invertebrates. There are over 70 dives sites all within 10-15 minutes from the resort and 45 minutes to Lighthouse Reef where The Great Blue Hole is located. The resort is made of 19 modern cabanas facing the Caribbean Sea and 1 beach house. The cabanas are all equipped with A/C, fans, private bathrooms, either King or Queen Beds with new comfortable bedding, private porches with chairs and swinging hammocks. Included in the price are your cabana, 3 daily meals, dive or snorkel package, complimentary transfers to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays and use of the resort's kayaks. We are the only resort on Turneffe with an air strip making it convenient to arrive or depart any other day of the week. Our courteous and helpful staff will always make you feel at home as customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Blackbird Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Caye Hotel Turneffe Islands
Blackbird Caye Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing