We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackbird Caye Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The perfect place to relax and recharge! My girlfriend and I just returned from an amazing trip to Blackbird Caye. We like to travel and prefer not return to the same spot, but I emphatically can say that we will return to Blackbird Caye (soon!).

The resort is located on a remote island off the coast of Belize. It truly is an upscale “Gilligan’s Island” experience. We arrived by boat and departed the island by plane. Both were easy trips. The resort is pleasantly small. There only are 18 cabanas on the island. All of the cabanas are about 10 yards from the sea. We stayed in one of the deluxe cabanas – no. 14. It was spacious, comfortable, and hidden away at the end of the resort. We will request it again! Each cabana is air conditioned and includes a screened porch with a view of the sea. We started and ended each day on the porch – we watched the sun rise over the sea every morning laying in a hammock; and ended the day back in the hammock: drinking wine, listening to the wind in the palm trees (and music on the iPad), and watching the moonlight on the water. Spending the entire day barefoot totally is appropriate. Leave your fancy clothes at home! Total relaxation!

The activities are abundant and easy. The island itself is a tropical playground, and the resort is stocked with all the resources to enjoy it. We spent our days snorkeling, kayaking or just lounging on the beach or by the pool. There are numerous places on the island to venture out for a run or walk. I ran every morning. The resort has internet access, but we avoided it and all other contact with the outside world. The wildlife around the resort is spectacular. We loved watching the iguanas on the beach and the multitudes of exotic birds. It was great fun to watch the pelicans diving into the water, and was not unusual to find a perfect conch shell any time we walked down the beach. We never did see a crocodile, but did not go searching for them. Guests easily can snorkel on their own. The reef is a short kayak from the shore. I strongly recommend joining the snorkeling guide, Chris, on an organized snorkel. There are two organized snorkel trips each day, and guests simply need to show up at the dock to participate. Chris can spot marine life that I never would see on my own, and seems to know all the choice locations that are a short boat ride away. We saw sharks, rays, eels and multitudes of tropical fish on our adventures. Other guests, on a snorkeling trip that I missed, swam with dolphin and a sea turtle. Neither my girlfriend nor I are divers, but we did hear guests raving about the dive trips and guides. Kayaks are complimentary and available at all times. Several guests took out kayaks to explore a nearby island (the snorkeling apparently was really good around that island). The pool area is very nice, and the swim up bar is a plus!

The staff at the resort is second to none. Each member of the staff was pleasant, knowledgeable and made our trip memorable. The general manager, Paul, sets the tone. He constantly is smiling and working hard to ensure that every guest is happy. Ran and Barry kept our drinks and conversation flowing at the bar, and kept the bar open as late as the guests wanted. We enjoyed several late night walks down the beach back to our cabana after indulging in cocktails at the bar (thanks Ran for the rum concoctions‼). Most of the guests meet in the bar around 5pm every day for drinks and complimentary snacks. The food is plentiful and fantastic, and features plenty of fresh fish and fruit. All guests are served meals at the same time. We appreciated this opportunity to get to know the other guests and share stories about the day’s adventures.

Hats off to Blackbird Caye‼ This resort absolutely is a special place. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Maybe for a New Year’s Eve trip…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toby_Long3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Toby,

WOW! Thank you kindly for your review! We most definitely would love to see you back here for New Year's! So glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    79
    21
    17
    2
See reviews for
100
276
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is amazing!!! I had a great time with friends at Blackbird Caye. It's a beautiful island and resort. The staff that works there are very friendly and give the best service. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LupitaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Lupita,

Thank you for your review! We are honored you spent your birthday with us. We hope to see you back soon! Your recommendation is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Two sisters staying in cabin #14 - Paul and his team made us feel so welcome...vey friendly and first class service over the 4 nights we were there. All staff, and especially Paul, were always smiling and so very happy and positive in greeting and speaking with the guests - it was very nice and made us feel special yet this is how they treated everyone.

Beautiful grounds, pool and the beautiful turquoise sea as the backdrop. The resort was almost at full capacity (I think about 45 would be full capacity and there must be at least 15 - 20 staff around so again great service) yet felt like very few there given how the individual cabins spaced out with all facing the sea and within a few feet to the water. In front of our cabin a small swimming hole so nice for a quick dip.

The dive and snorkel crew are safety focused and experienced so we felt very safe on our dives with them - very reasonable cost as well for local dives. They have 3 dives a day with all a 3 to 8 minute boat ride from resort. The kitchen staff are great - food was yummy and service top notch. Cleaning staff - we never saw them yet our rooms and grounds spotless.

It was a great 4 days - it is Paul and his team that made all the difference. Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: #14 - one bedroom and no other cabins on the one side - more private then the other cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are grateful for reviews like this and thank you for your time! We are very proud that our staff made your stay so enjoyable. We will definitely share with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Blackbird Caye still feels like a dream. We LITERALLY woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise and calming ocean waves. After breakfast, we would take a kayak (complimentary!) out to the reef to snorkel and swim. The water was calm and clean that would just lie in the kayak to sunbath and look down at the beautiful fishes below.

After our afternoon kayak run, we would go back to the pull and grab a pina colada and freshly made ceviche. I could not dream up a pina colada more taste than the one Ran made for us! Although he did say it could even be better for when they have fresh pineapples, which I can’t even imagine.

All meals were included and thoughtfully prepared. My favorite meal had coconut rice and marinade chicken! In addition, every single freshly baked good was incredibly moist and delicious. Sometimes I would eat 3 cookies at lunch!

The most important thing to note about Blackbird Caye, the experience is what you make of out of it. One of the most enjoyable parts of the experience was meeting like-minded, down to earth, and kind people. If you are unkind, rude, and asslike in general, this is not the place for you. Everyone at this resort goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable, from Paul, the resort manager, to the bartender, Ran.

Although Blackbird Caye is a scuba/snorkel resort, don’t pass this place up even if you don’t like to do either of these things! There is always fun to be had all around the island.

PS. there is no spa or fitness center, but I am counting laying in the warm ocean as the spa and kayaking as the fitness center :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackbirdCayeResort, Director of Sales at Blackbird Caye Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Jessica,

Your comments are just what we love to hear! So happy you enjoyed pure relaxation. PS: We are looking at adding a spa and other amenities in the near future. Keep checking back with us for updates and announcements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room we selected was fabulous. It was clean, large and very comfortable. The ceiling fans were great at keeping the room cool. The only issue was the fridge. They shouldn't have a door to keep the fridge hidden. It would overheat and be problems. Not sure who designed that one. There is plenty of storage in room as well as a good safe.

The toiletries provided are just okay. I used them to wash my wetsuit and swimsuit. I brought my own.

The flies here are very nasty. They bite and will leave scars. They bit hard and you will bleed.

The new infinity pool was very nice and I enjoyed it greatly.

The service was good. Everyone was really nice and very accommodating.

The diving was disappointing. We had 17 people on a 15 person boat. One would think that a dive resort would be able to handle a group of all divers. My understanding is that the owner didn't want to use multiple boats.

My recommendation, if you are a diving, go when there is NO OTHER diver at the resort. Then you will be able to enjoy it. The dive master was very good and great at leading. He did the best he could.

The food - they tried hard. Their ice tea was the best thing I enjoyed there. The grilled ribs and chicken was also the best.

Room Tip: Bring lots of Bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DorothyLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want delux accomodations, stay at the Ritz. If you want to be quite comfortable on a beautiful and facinating outpost of civilization, this is as good a place as you'll find. Located 25 miles off the cost of Belize, it's only a couple of hundred yards from the second largest barrier reef in the world. It has substantial advantages over other island resorts: very short trips to world class dive and snorkling locations led by knowledgable and courteous guides; air conditioned cottages; very competent room service; comfortable beds; good food, wi fi in a central location; and the friendliest, most accomodating staff we've ever run accross. In addition to snorkling, my wife and I enjoy fishing, and although fishing is not an activity that the resort either advertises or provides equipment for, the staff went out of its way to provide us with bait and to explain the best locations and techniques for fishing on the resort's pier and other locations on the island. We've vacationed at tropical resorts from Palau to the Carribean and this has been our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As divers, my husband and I have experienced many dive trips with most having a general, overall, common routine and process that divers come to know. Most of these with little differences, The dive masters seem competent and helpful
BUT this trip to Blackbird Caye Resort blew the others out of the water~
Like others, we choose to try new places before ever going back to one we have visited because it is a big world.
We WILL be back to Black Bird and sooner rather than later!!
The staff were wonderful and always there to help or offer help with things you haven't even thought of yet!
Cardinal is the Zen Master of Diving...great dive master with endless knowledge of the world we dove, and he knew us all individually as well as a group during the week.
Stuart was the captain of our boat during the week and is a true sailor of the sea. He knows the water like we know a street map.
Eli was fun, and lightened up every situation. He is a fabulous dive master and can make everyone feel at ease in the water.
Paul, the manager, and now known as the" fish whisperer" on one of our dives, was truly there running the place with our best interests in mind. He will continue to make the resort a place to revisit. All of the staff, those we saw everyday and those behind the scenes, were kind, friendly and helpful. Ian, Aixa and Ron were always there with a smile and never did we have to look for help. They were always present and worked very hard.
The diving was fabulous. The reefs are very healthy, abundance of fish and beautiful coral, walls, with even the rare and wonderful encounters with larger sea life.
We dove a lot, and were never disappointed. The best part was that the dive sites were 10 -15 min boat rides, so we spent our surface intervals back on the island, not a boat. Great treat!!
The island is simple, quiet, the stars endless, our cabanna was 30 feet from the ocean, the sand was like walking in powder. No shoes are required anywhere! No dress up clothes needed.
The cabanas were very clean, big, with all the comforts of home. There was a constant breeze every day but one, so the open windows allowed the sound of the ocean to lull us to sleep. We used the air conditioning only one day and by evening we didn't need it. The hammock got a lot of use!
The office has WIFI, no cell service. But if you are jonesing to reach the outside world you can--you won't miss it after a few days!
The food was plentiful with good variety. Delicious.
If you want an idyllic island vacation, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing and you don't want to have to lift a finger for anything, this is the place to go.
If you live for Cruise ships, clubbing and night life, stay home or go to Cancun!
We were debating about taking the Blue Hole trip but we would highly recommend it!!
It isn't just about the Blue Hole (an iconic dive experience) but there are two other dives and the staff presents a fun beach barbeque on a "Gilligan Island" type island, Half Moon Caye. Dont miss it!

Room Tip: We had cabanna #8, a deluxe cabanna. I would choose this one again. It was quiet, private, had a sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
11.3 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Turneffe Island
398 reviews
24.5 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Breeze Inn
Maya Breeze Inn
#24 of 27 in Placencia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casitas Tres Cocos
Casitas Tres Cocos
#16 of 31 in San Pedro
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Caye Resort

Property: Blackbird Caye Resort
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackbird Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackbird Caye is a privately owned Island sitting on The Mesoamerican Reef System - often referred to as the "Jewel of the Caribbean" - it is the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere with a rich tapestry of vivid corals, mangrove forests, coastal wetlands, and diverse marine wildlife. Within the reef you will find Turneffe Atoll the Caye where the resort is located. Turneffe is the largest and most biologically diverse of the 3 atolls found in the Caribbean home to more than 65 species of stony coral, 350 species of mollusk, and more than 500 species of fish, manatees, dolphins and invertebrates. There are over 70 dives sites all within 10-15 minutes from the resort and 45 minutes to Lighthouse Reef where The Great Blue Hole is located. The resort is made of 19 modern cabanas facing the Caribbean Sea and 1 beach house. The cabanas are all equipped with A/C, fans, private bathrooms, either King or Queen Beds with new comfortable bedding, private porches with chairs and swinging hammocks. Included in the price are your cabana, 3 daily meals, dive or snorkel package, complimentary transfers to the island on Wednesdays and Saturdays and use of the resort's kayaks. We are the only resort on Turneffe with an air strip making it convenient to arrive or depart any other day of the week. Our courteous and helpful staff will always make you feel at home as customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blackbird Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Caye Hotel Turneffe Islands
Blackbird Caye Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing