We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackbird Caye Resort
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$94
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turneffe Flats(Turneffe Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turneffe Island Resort(Turneffe Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bachelor Inn(Belize City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ignacio's Cabins(Caye Caulker)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Colinda Cabanas(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Barefoot Beach Belize(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
445
86
26
17
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
86
26
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and lunchblue holebelize citydive masterdive sitesbig birdfishlaid backother guestsserved buffet styledive staffthe managersturneffe atollgreat divingscreened in porchoff the beaten pathdeluxe cabana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 576 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

we went for a week long snorkelling trip. the food, service, accomodations were excellent. The snorkelling trip groups were small. Blue Hole was a great experience. Hopefully we will plan a second trip

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We just got back from a week at Blackbird Caye. We met some friends of our that we have dove with in Austrailia (and met some new ones). When we arrived at the airport, our ride was waiting for us. (Hint - buy a bottle of rum etc from the duty free shop and bring it with you.) He took us to the hotel in town were we had a pleasant lunch and enjoyed the view. We then left on 1.5 hour ride to the island. The ride was pleasant but a bit windy. (Make sure to take your sunscreen out and apply for the ride.) Once we arrived at the island, we had a short briefing and then were shown to our rooms. We stayed in cabana #12 which was really nice. The housing is primarily individual huts. Ours had a king bed, separate spacious living area, bathroom with drinkable water and a hot shower. My favorite part is the screened-in front porch ( with seating and a hammock) that faces east and toward the water. The sunrises were beautiful.

If you are looking for a relaxing remote dive vacation, this would be the place. Cardinal, our divemaster was wonderful. He always managed to spot the rays and eels before we would ever see them. We also saw a bunch of very friendly turtles. He is knowledgeable, very safety conscience and would join us in the lounge for happy hour while we looked at pictures from the dive each evening, while we tried to identify all the types of fish that we saw. We think his favorite fish was the juvinelle drum fish! Chris, the boat driver, was fantastic, followed our bubbles every time and made sure we were well taken care of. Leticia was our hostess, waitress and bartender. She made us feel like part of the family. She also makes a mean Pina Colada. And Phil... what can I say about Phil... He is the manager, secondary dive master and great storyteller. (just not sure how many of his stories to believe :) )

Overall, the three dives a day were great. Our favorite day was Tuesday where we dived the Blue Hole and the Aquirium site. Our last day was great on the way back from our last dive we got to get back in the water with some migrating pilot whales.

Overall, it was a great trip with good facilities, good food and great diving.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiverPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed at Blackbird Resort for 4 nights at the beginning of a 16 day stay in Belize. Also stayed in Caye Caulker and Coco Plum Resort (check other reviews). Blackbird was wonderful. This is the place to stay for snorkelers. Divers were very happy too. Loved the program. Started early each day with at least two snorkel excursions/d. "Too Sweet" was a great guide. Of course best day out was trip to the blue hole, half moon caye and aquarium.

Phil the manager and the staff were great. Very attentive and always checked on how we were doing. Meals were wonderful with daily dinner choice, good lunch and breakfast. Units were perfect private cabanas, nicely furnished, well maintained. If we wanted to just relax or take a walk the choice was ours. We stayed busy in the water.

Originally arrived in Belize City the afternoon before and stayed at the Radisson on the waterfront and were picked up by Blackbird at 3 pm next day from Radisson dock. This was nice as it gave us a chance to walk about town in the morning, pick up some snacks and drinks for the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PandPYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Charming beachfront cottages, very tasty food, lovely snorkeling, adorable dolphins, and an engaging and capable staff, complete with a manager who looked after us like he was my Mom. Thanks, you guys, for the party.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrnDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had first started looking into a trip to Belize in 2007 that would include snorkeling and visits to the Mayan ruins. This month we finally settled on just a 4-night snorkeling trip to escape the hard New England winter. We studied Fodor's, but in the end relied heavily on Trip Advisor Reviews to rule some places out and ultimately select our final choice of Blackbird Caye Resort. If you are reading this review, I know you will be able to read many, many 4's and 5's, and I am not going to say those people are wrong.... to each his own. What I hope to do with my comments is to give some tips as to how to make your visit here (if you choose it) better than our experience.

Firstly, let me be clear that if the weather is sunny, you will have little time to focus on the negatives. Our final day, which was the all day trip that included snorkeling at the Blue Hole, was fabulous.... one of the top snorkeling days of my 40+ years of enjoying the sport. However, Saturday afternoon when we landed in Belize, it was overcast, windy and rainy, and that weather lasted all day Sunday, and then remained cloudy and breezy but with no rain Monday. The rain and wind kept the shallow waters stirred up through the day on Sunday and only allowed limited snorkeling opportunities on Monday, in less than optimal lighting. So, although we knew before arriving that there was no TV, no Internet, no cell signal, etc., we brought some books, since we had counted on reading in the evening, just not for an entire day trapped in our room. When it is rainy at Blackbird Caye, there is absolutely nothing active to do, unless you can enjoy walking in a poncho.
Most people are likely bright enough to pack a rain/wind breaker, but we weren't, so be forewarned. Also, even if it is not inclement, the boat ride from Belize City to Turneffe Atoll (and back) is 1.5 hours in an open air craft that has a roof and limited roll-down sides, so you can be subject to wind and sea spray depending on where you have to sit. Like I said at the start, if it is sunny, everything else will pale in comparison.

The food was our biggest source of contention for us, both quality and quantity, but as a preface to this commentary, bring a clock. We were lulled into thinking such a trip to the outer reaches of civilization would equate to a relaxed schedule, but that was not the case. Even though no morning activities begin until 9:00 or 9:30, breakfast in the dining room begins at 7AM sharp, and if you get there by about 7:10, you could be out of luck. They had eggs every morning, but once gone, they were not replaced. This was also true for the fruit platter as well as some specialty breads. Be near the front of the line, or risk stoking up on Raisin Bran or Frosted Mini-Wheats for your morning fuel.

We had requested no fat yogurt for breakfast, and although they provided it, we didn't have it the first morning. So, if you have special dietary needs, let them know well in advance and be sure to ASK for whatever it is, even if it is repeatedly. Lunch is the big meal of the day, and seemed to be available in enough quantities to make being a little late a non-issue, but for on our picnic lunch at Half Moon Caye on Tuesday, there was not enough barbeque chicken for most people to have a second piece. Dinner is sit-down at 7PM, and the most peculiar aspect of this meal is that everybody is served exactly the same amount on each plate. So, as a 170 lb man, I was expected to be as sated as my 110 lb wife, which makes no sense. And there are no seconds. So, here is where the room refrigerator COULD come in handy. They stand empty in each room because there is no where on Truneffe Atoll to buy food. If you can, while waiting for the boat, get a cab to take you to a local super market and get some snacks and/or drinks for your room. Snacks, by the way, are available in the dining room between meals, but are limited to Pringles, Ritz Crackers, peanut butter and sometimes muffins or bread leftover from breakfast. For the price of staying here, one should not have to go to bed hungry or eat crackers to fill up!

The staff is friendly and willing to please, but remember to ask for things, as it seemed in general that nothing was offered. We were not diving, but we met Cardinal, the diving guide, who was friendly and got accolades from the divers we spoke to. The snorkeling guide, "Too Sweet", was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. He was very good at finding sea life for us to see, keeping an eye on the group and learning the capabilities of the individuals. We also had a half day of kayak instruction from Michael, the kayak specialist, who was also friendly and knowledgeable.

The rooms were clean and rustically simple, as expected. Our “superior” cabin was approximately 15’ x 20’ with ceiling fan, basic bathroom with a 2-person shower and screened porch on the front with a hammock. Rooms have small safes, by the way, for your passports and money. There is really no need for other valuables of any kind at Blackbird Caye. The proximity to good snorkeling and diving areas not frequented by the hoards from the mainland is terrific, so hope for good weather, bring a food stash and your experience ought to be memorable.

Anticipating the ensuing question as to whether or not I would recommend this hotel to a friend, with the above understanding of what to expect, I will answer a qualified "yes".

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews