We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Return Trip”
Review of Turneffe Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turneffe Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turneffe Flats
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Return Trip”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My first trip to Turneffe was so good, I returned for another week of fly fishing during the week of August 24, 2013. I am a casual fly fisherman (4-6 times a year) without all the gadgets and equipment you see all the diehard anglers caring. With that said, the guides were wonderful and I still caught a number of bonefish each day. So regardless of your skill, you will have a great time. For those less experienced I recommend bringing a spinning rod, it will be a good fun break. The guides take a lot of pride in their ability to put you on fish.

Travel tips: Unless you have ever stood on the surface of the sun, you have not experienced sun of the strength you get standing on the flats. I learned my lesson the first year. Bring long sleeve shirts, hat with a big brim and anything else you can imagine for sun protect. They sell a clothe that goes around your neck that you can pull over your head as well. All guides wear them, laugh, then go buy one. Worth every penny. Sun screen not an option. Good polarized sunglasses a must.

Rooms are immaculate and well cleaned each day. For a remote destination, the food is exceptional. Prepare to explain how you gained 5 pounds out in the middle of Caribbean ocean when you get home. They have local sauce that goes on just about everything, Lissette's Secret Sauce, the ingredients simple says "goodness".

Sadly, even paradise has some problems. At Turneffe, they come with two wings and are locally known as "doctor flies." There is nothing comforting or healing about them, so I renamed them while I was there. Do not expect swarms or clouds of them, I don't want to mislead. Occasionally one find your boat or you while you are fishing on the flats. I suspect they stalk you from the vegetation near the water, and then wait until the moment when you first hook a big bonefish or have a permit about to take your fly. At this moment, they know they have put you in a position to either, (A) stop the fly from biting you leg and lose the fish, or (B) get the fish and take the fly bite. Approximately 6 times I choose to take the bite.

I highly recommend this lodge and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
72
142
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calhan, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our second trip to Turneffe Flats but won't be our last. I was a novice diver and my goal was to be a better diver and Emi and Denroy answered my request. They were understanding and my final dive on Friday was amazing. A big thank you to them. They were understanding and great teachers. Never could understand how Capt could back that big boat right up to every diver! Karen, Craig, Cameron and all were excellent hosts and made everyone feel welcome. The cabanas were as close to the beach as you could get without getting wet. Hugs and Kisses to everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I returned to Turneffe Flats for the second year. It is remarkable for this to happen. We like a well -run, clean and efficient resort. We primarily went for the fly fishing, but many other guests went diving. The beach-front cabanas are great. Rooms so well maintained and clean. Towels were good and the sheets and pillowcases clean. Bedspread? Floors clean, even under the bed and in the corners.
Food was plentiful and generally good. Family style dining was OK. We had a very small group this week. Led to good conversation. Pre-dinner munchies very nice. Everyday a new drink special. Selection of drinks adequate. Lunch when out and about was OK The lodge was willing to make changes in the fare offered.
Our fishing guide Michael Anderson was great. Other guides also top-notch. Owners Karen and Craig Hayes were attentive and pleasant. Minor glitches with the electrical and hot water in our room,but was handled well. Overall we like the place so well we booked for next year. The boat trip from Belize City to Turneffe was about 1 1/2 hours. Biting bugs of various types live in this environment. Bring strong insect repellant...30-100% DEET and plenty of sunscreen. Use the overhead ceiling fan in the room to minimize the small flying bugs during your stay. Need flashlight at night around the grounds. All rooms have plenty of electrical outlets with 110 V.

Room Tip: Beachfront Cabanas are the best. Room 1 & 2 are the closest and 7 & 8 are the farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been to a handful of top "off the beaten" path destinations. This resort is a great sport destination.

I fished 6 days with success each day. This is the Rainy season bet the weather generally moved through quickly. The guide "Pops" was very knowledgeable and a great teacher.

The rooms were well done oceanfront villas and the main lodge was a great place to hang out in the evenings. Internet was reliable and fast enough to check email and read the news.

This is a rare place with a chance at a Flats Grand Slam as well as world class diving. I spotted crocodiles while I was down there and caught a number of Jacks off the dock in the evening in addition to fishing for Tarpon/Permit/Bonefish all day.

As an impulse decision, I decided to do an intro to Scuba one afternoon and had one on one time with the Divemaster. I was comfortable out there my first time and we did a real dive, not simply a shore dive looking at grass and rocks. A great experience.

I thought the food was excellent and they catered to my requests as needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robpiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

In the middle of nowhere paradise w/ 8 waterfront rooms with amazing views. With not much to work with, rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Food is average. Grounds are quite limited because it's an atoll. Biggest issue is sand fleas, mosquitoes, Dr. flies and green heads. Off is a must or you'll suffer. Bring your own dive equipment as rental fees are double usual rates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a couple of global fly fishers, both for fresh and salt water.
We have been travelling through out many countries and fishing lodges, looking for fishing oportunities associated to tourism and a trip to TLATS was always being considered, what we did this May, 2013. And we can state: was the best fishing operation we ever experienced in a remote fishing lodges. The reception at Belize City airport, the transfer to the lodge in a very safe and well manteined yacht, the reception at the lodge, everyting was TOP.
TLATS is located in a amazing point of the Atoll and the cottages are large, simple and imacullated clean, with a freezing air-conditioner and hot water running from the tap. A must in so remote location! The main lodge, with a well apointed restaurant, free internet and a well come bar was the meeting point of the guests - fishermen, divers and explorers. The food is also tastefull and well presented and all the staff was the more helpfull we ever met in our fishing trips.
But the principal atribute of the lodge is: LOCATION!!!!
Surrounded by flats, mongroves and waters coloured from the baby blue to turquoise, we found ourselves fishing on the heaven grounds...And after fishing, relaxing with a drink in the never end pool.
We're there for bonefishing and although the wather conditions were not the best the week we choosed - with some overcast skies and to breeze - we can caught and release plenty of them, some with honest 4 pounds, moreover some cudas and snappers on the coral reefs.
We only have good words to Craig and Kim, as to Jedi (fishing director) and Michael, our calm and patient guide, who put us on the fish.
Luiz and Jack, from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

PS: TFLATS is for travellers, not for tourists.
If you love shoppings, fashion restaurants, night clubs, loud music and dancing, please, do not go to TFLATS. You'd better stay in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wow - great service, Wow- great diving, Wow - wonderful facilities. This is a wonderful full place and with excellent diving but the staff top the list of Wows... We have over 300 logged dives and this is the best best place yet. The rooms were nice, appropriately furnished for divers and very, very clean.

The staff will go way out of their way to make your stay perfect. We had a relative that was a finalist on the Voice and they put together a Danielle watch party complete with food and satellite TV. We never guessed we could watch the show in the middle of the ocean... but they made it happen.

Again, top notch staff in every category and they all seemed to love their jobs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
15.7 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Turneffe Island
396 reviews
24.7 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
20.3 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
St. George's Caye Resort
St. George's Caye Resort
#1 of 2 in St. George's Caye
296 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Flats

Property: Turneffe Flats
Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Pampered in Paradise! Turneffe Flats has long been recognized as one of Belize's premier saltwater fly fishing, SCUBA diving and marine eco-tourism destinations. Located on the incredibly beautiful Turneffe Atoll, we specialize in superior service for a limited number of guests. Awaken in your air-conditioned beachfront cabana to a tropical Caribbean seascape, expansive bonefish flats, and surf breaking over the reef. We are ideally located to enjoy Turneffe's 250 square miles of world-class fishing flats, coral reefs and rich marine life. At Turneffe Flats we offer guests unparalleled guiding and service, along with the freedom to fish and dive the entire Turneffe Atoll at the best sites. Additionally, our unique Atoll Adventure program is a fantastic option for families and couples. This renowned program offers daily guided snorkeling, wildlife sightseeing, and eco-tours that are both fun and educational for everyone! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turneffe Flats Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Flats Islands
Turneffe Flats Hotel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing