We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most hospitable island stay imaginable!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I recently traveled alone to Off the Wall, Belize for a get-away and dive vacation. As a solo female traveler, I was guided all the way with both plane and mainland accommodations made by Kendra.

The SCUBA diving was top notch with the highlight being a whale shark dive where we encountered 7 whale sharks, 2 bull sharks and several dolphins!

The accommodations are rustic and real. My cabana was right on the Caribbean sea and was constructed of natural materials. Solar and wind power generated the necessary island needs and the refreshing open air shower with air temperature water was always refreshing.

Jim and Kendra have created a resort that operates with minimal impact to Long Caye.

The most impressive quality is the way that Jim and Kendra treat their guests. They go out of their way to think of your needs and wants and have the best hospitality of any place I have ever traveled!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

I miss all of you!!! Such a beautiful island with wonderful people made "Off the Wall" the highlight of our trip. It is a true paradise. The dive team made diving so easy and relaxing (Hi Tony!). The corals and sponges on the wall are some of the best I've ever seen. Food was fabulous. You couldn't ask for a better place. And of all the spots on Glover's Atoll, this one has very few, if any, bugs. Thanks for a great week Jim and Kendra. Say hi to everyone for us.

For any readers who haven't been on a remote location be warned - a composting toilet is a brighter, slightly less stinky outhouse and hot water showers are not really possible. If you want paradise, you have to give up a few of the amenities but it is worth it. So worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This place is truly a hidden gem. I almost do not want to post another great review because if too many people find out about this place it wont be as great.
Jim, Kendra (owners) and the whole staff are fantastic. The island is heaven and the snorkeling/scuba dive sites are some of the best in the Caribbean. The food was very good and the private bungalows made it so easy to relax and enjoy the island. Amazingly there are little to no bugs on the island. We spent every night with all the windows wide open to enjoy the breeze and listen to the waves.

The only downside is the bathroom situation. The shared composting toilets are basically "upscaled" outhouses. The shared outdoor showers are a pretty nice setup but the water isnt heated (other than the sun) and depending on how much rain they have received it may be quite brackish. However, Jim and Kendra do everything possible to make their guests as comfortable as possible. For example, when we returned from our night dives they had heated up fresh water for us to bathe with.

While some travelers may not be able to deal with the bathroom situation we definitely believe the small inconvenience is worth the amazing experience. This place is the perfect way to get away from the crowds and just relax. Jim hand Kendra have put together an impressive resort especially considering that the island is 20 miles off the coast of Belize. They now have a new boat that makes the trip to the island much easier/enjoyable. A smaller boat is used for the scuba diving and most of the dive sites are all within 5 minutes.

On the island they also have a little gift shop and even will allow you to use the wireless internet for quick emails (although the internet should be the last thing on your mind). Also they dont overcharge for drinks which was the only thing not included in our package price.

Not sure what else to say. This is a great place to scuba dive while avoiding the crowds. I would compare the diving experience to Bonaire but Jim and Kendra's island is more secluded and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This place is the BEST!! The owners Kendra and Jim, the staff, the dive/boat crew, everyone, was a delight. The setting is gorgeous, the tiny caye precious, the cabanas just right, the food good, and the reef pristine. The eco-focus is progressive and perfect given the fragile nature of the reef. They have given this place the creature comforts without sacrificing the environment to do so. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This place is a true gem. After reading all of the rave reviews, I had high expectations, and I am pleased to say that these expectations were met and even exceeded. The island scenery and accommodations are absolutely gorgeous. We chose Off the Wall for our first scuba diving vacation after carefully researching other destinations and resorts in Belize. We chose this resort based on the high PADI ranking (5 star dive resort) and location. We felt very comfortable scuba diving with Off the Wall- all of the equipment was well-maintained, they are DAN certified, and a dive master escorts all dive groups. With all of these attributes, in addition to the amazing wall dive opportunities, It is no wonder that divers love this place. The island has much more to offer than just diving, however. We also snorkeled, kayaked, and took out the paddle board. We especially loved the snorkeling. It is only a 5 min. swim from the shore to world-class reef diving. The corals, fish, rays and sharks make for some great underwater scenery. Kendra and Jim have also done a fabulous job customizing the island for relaxation. Hammocks, comfy chairs and accent pieces like tile mosaics, hand-carved coconut lights and candles created a unique island atmosphere. Another neat feature was an open-air yoga deck. Each room was even equipped with a yoga mat!

We loved our experience at Off the Wall. However, we should mention that there are aspects of this island that may not appeal to all travelers. Off the Wall is an eco resort, with shared composting toilets and cold showers, and minimal electricity. This was no problem for us, and we actually really appreciated the efforts that were made to conserve this lovely island. On cloudy days, Kendra was kind enough to bring us buckets of hot water to use in the showers, which was greatly appreciated. One depressing aspect is the trash that washes onshore. I'm sure that the owners do their share of trash pick-up, but when we walked around the island (only takes ~10 minutes), we saw a lot of trash, particularly on the southern part of the island that is not inhabited. Jim had mentioned something about a recent storm blowing in trash just before we arrived, so maybe it is not usually that bad. Nonetheless, it did spoil the idyll somewhat. Maybe hiring a person to pick up trash would be the solution. The only other negative comment that I have is that the boat ride out to the island was long (~1 hr), wet, and rough. Definitely bring your rain gear. We made the rookie mistake of sitting in the front of the boat, and the constant pounding of the boat into the waves was unpleasant to say the least. I don't see how this ride would be possible for elderly people with any sort of joint or back problem. Those sitting in the front row of the boat also had large tanks beneath their feet, which prevented sitting comfortably, even for a small person like myself. One thing that Jim and Kendra may consider is having the boat captain go slower to reduce the roughness of the ride; I would have preferred to leave earlier and have a longer boat ride to eliminate some of the discomfort.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KT-bird_on_the_bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Came back for a second trip and brought my 6 year old son last April. First time I stayed for 2 weeks with a buddy and this time cut it down to 1 as I was a little unsure about my son getting bored being out on a small island. Not a chance. He's an avid swimmer and snorkels well so everyday was an adventure. Not to mention the crabs, lizards and kitties. The far end of the island has shallows that are 3-4 ft and basically a big pool except with sea life. Started there but were swimming out to the sand bar inside the atoll before no time. Great time fishing and he soon had a daily routine of catching and releasing the Trunk fish around the dock. All the guys at the dive shop are great and make you feel very welcome. Only advice would be to get down to Dangriga the day before because I've been bitten by the airlines getting to BZE on each trip.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Bill-in-Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I are fairly new to scuba diving and were still somehwhat ambivalent, since our comfort level with diving isn't very high yet. We booked a12 dive package with Off the Wall, thinking we wouldn't do all the dives. Well...after about the 5th dive, we couldn't get enough! Everyone there was so supportive and enthusiastic, it made this vacation a joyful adventure! Jim was always there to greet us when we got back from a dive and to find out what we saw. Kendall joined us at the dock at night to shine lights into the water looking for baby squid and lobsters. This led to us spotting a batfish 6 feet off the dock one night and our first night snorkel to check it out. Amazing! A couple of nights later, we did our first night dive and had an adventure with over a 1000 pound loggerhead turtle our divemaster, Ralph discovered.
The food was fantastic, the views were breathtaking, the staff was fun and friendly (we even played volleyball with the staff from Off the Wall and the resort down the beach), the water was heaven. Perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
5.2 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
193 reviews
24.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,019 reviews
24.1 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
89 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Long Caye, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center and Resort is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Dive Center and Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, 2 guided snorkel trips, free use of Kayaks and Stand up Paddle boards, Park Fees, 9% Hotel Tax and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing