We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glovers Reef Atoll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just came home from off the wall, sorry to say. What a peaceful, beautiful, refreshing resort! Pictures do not do it justice, you have to be there to appreciate it. Jim picks you up and Kendra meets you at the dock, nice touch of comfort. Wasn't sure what to expect other than what tripvisor people had been saying, but it surpassed my expectations. The huts were darn right cute! open air windows, doors, nice beds, shelves, even a mirror for us women! Showers, perfect for outdoors. The toilets are clean not bad at all, had a surprise under the toilet lid, an iguana decided to hung there lol!Hermit crabs everywhere! pet birds, cats, more iguana's. The food.... well Illeen did a wonderful job, she works hard and the food was great! Hats off to Matthew, Dorth, Mario (card shark), jr what a wonderful group of men, friendly and willing to help you out with anything. The snorkeling was great! weather fantastic! We met some very nice people there, Vickie and Mark from California, Ed and Fiona from England truly great company. Funny how well you get to know each other by the end of the trip. Kayaking was fun, you can take your snorkel gear and paddle out to a spot and dive in, in search of marine life. Kendra and Jim have certainly made off the wall a very special place. The touches that have been added, shells that line the walk way, lights made of coconuts, Tiki torches throughout, rooms nicely but modestly decorated, beautiful blue tiled showers all make this place just darn right cozy. We do definitely plan on returning! For those of you who think there's no way you could survive without a hair dryer, makeup, phone, cable, nightlife...think again! What a wonderful getaway. For you scuba divers I heard it was great! you need to checkout Jim's crack!!!

Room Tip: All are very nice, with special touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offthewallbelize, Owner at Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

What a wonderful review of your time with us. We are happy you had such a good time and enjoyed all the small details at our resort as well as the fun staff, great food and other guests. It is a very special place and a joy to share our private island paradise with both of you. We do hope to see you again!!! - Kendra, Jim and Off The Wall Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Off the Wall was everything we had hoped for and even more than that. If you want to spend time on Glover’s Reef, this is the place to be. The main reasons are:

• It is a very small resort (our group was 6 and the maximum is 10 guests). This allows a very personal touch and service. The owners Jim and Kendra and their entire team have an amazing gift of making you feel at home and getting you right into the island-groove.
• The cabanas are very nicely decorated, airy and secluded by vegetation, all with a private terrace, sea-view and with chairs, hammocks, swing beds in the vicinity to chill in.
• Outdoor showers (nicely tiled!) underneath the palm trees and super-de-luxe compost toilets with sea-breeze, magazines,… keep it eco-friendly on this small island
• Delicious food 3 times a day, with treats and drinks available all the time. Make your own freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning!
• You can snorkel of the beach, go on snorkel trips, or choose to go diving or get certified! Canoes and paddleboards are another active option.
• Other activities: look up the fish and corals you spotted in the kitchen-library, star-gazing is amazing, walk around the island, bird-watching, reading, yoga, good conversations with the other guests, owners and staff…

Thanks to the spectacular reef and the professional diving instructor (thanks Doreth!), I got my scuba certification at Off the Wall. I would not have wanted to do it in any other place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offthewallbelize, Owner at Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Ahhhh, wish you were still here too! Thanks for such a lovely review, you got it...exactly what we are trying to create...our little island oasis. We enjoyed having you both here and are so glad you had a great time, and got certified too! It was really fun. Take care and hope to see you again in the future - Kendra, Jim and Off The Wall Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked our holiday at Off The Wall for the first week of April on the basis of previous TripAdvisor ratings. Do believe the hype! This place is amazing and the island is stunning.

The Cabannas are situated right on the waters edge on the south side and face onto the Caribbean Sea. This is the windward side of the island so the waves roll in and there is quite a breeze. The Cabannas have louvered openings on all four sides which provide night time ventilation. Consequently we did not see the absence of air conditioning as a problem since the open windows and breeze were sufficient to keep cool.

Each Cabanna is provided with it's own private deck. I think the facilities differed depending on the Cabanna, but ours had a hammock which was extremely comfortable, a lounger and two chairs. Other Cabannas had outside beds. Plus there were an assortment of hammocks, outside beds and other loungers on the waters edge. The resort has a maximum occupancy of 10 guests so we found that we were always able to find a spot to sit or recline.

It is a short walk from the south side of the island that overlooks the Caribbean Sea to the north side that overlooks the lagoon, so there are always views of the sea. The dining area overlooks the lagoon. This is a great meeting spot and there is a wide choice of fresh fruit, fruit squash drinks, and water that are free for guests day and night. Three meals a day were served and the food was superb, although if anything there was too much of it. This is not good for the waistline and it appeared some was wasted, but I can't fault it for quality.

The lagoon has beautiful turquoise waters. This is perfect for sea kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling. The aquatic world in the lagoon did not disappoint: Across three snorkeling trips we saw a green moray eel in a hole at 1m distance, a dolphin in open water that we got to within 2m of, a stingray at 4m and a nurse shark at 5m.

The absolute highlight was the reef on the south side with the drop-off wall which gives the resort it's name. Simply brilliant! We saw numerous turtles, nurse sharks, stingrays, manta rays, barracudas and many other species across a range of dives and in all cases the aquatic life was very close by, between 2m and 4m away, therefore very visible.

The reef itself was intriguing. We are more familiar with the riot of colour that is the red sea with yellow, blue, green and orange coral, sponges and aquatic life. Here the colours are slightly more muted. In the main, the reef is cream, buff, brown, and green. However there are splashes of unexpected colours in the form of lilac, rusty red and lemon yellow tube sponges. Nonetheless I thought it was excellent and a refreshing change.

We elected to do an Open Water Advanced Course and thought Doreth the instructor was great. The remainder of the staff were also excellent, very friendly, and very helpful. In particular the resort owners Kendra and Jim went out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating. It is a rare holiday experience to come away thinking: "they were lovely people that it feels like I know on a personal level" but with Kendra and Jim this is the case. As a group we sat chatting about the island, other dive sites, places we had been to in Central America, and a whole range of other topics.

Coming from the UK, the flights were expensive and time consuming so unfortunately I fear this trip will be a one-off until finances allow. Without hesitation recommend this resort as a once in a lifetime dream and is certainly within my top ten all time lifetime experiences.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShadwellPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

In February, I returned to Off the Wall Dive Center and Resort for my second visit. While last year was wonderful, this year was even better. The setting is a small Caye in the middle of vast and varied coral reefs. The underwater flora and fauna are spectacular, the water a magical and calming turquoise. The resort has a great variety of water toys, from the dive boats to a selection of kayaks and standup paddleboards. You can also snorkel right from the sandy shore of Long Caye. The 3 meals a day that come with your weeklong stay are delicious. The staff are all wonderful. The owners are present, delightful, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sierrakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We WILL be going back! Starting with the ease of making reservations, great communications with Kendra, the boat ride out, staff, service, accommodations, food,and the unlimited water adventures... Everything was the best I've ever encountered. The snorkeling and diving can't be beat. Dive guides and Instructors were top notch. The food... I gained weight. It was quiet, laid back and peaceful. Hands down, would totally recommend OTW.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfd3795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Words can't describe the fabulous week spent on this beautiful island. My husband and I and the two other couples we traveled with were pampered and catered to by the owners and staff. The grounds are beautiful, the cabanas comfortable,and the patch coral reefs are bounding with life. Guided snorkel trips educate you on the reef life; opportunities to swim to or paddle a kayak out to reefs provide additional snorkeling opportunities. Not being an experienced snorkeler, I appreciated the attention, guidance and tips received from our snorkel guide to help me get comfortable with the snorkel and mask and to thoroughly enjoy my experience. The food was delicious and meals were served family style with other guests, the owners and staff. I loved the time spent chatting. I loved the fact that they power the island with solar and wind energy, have composting toilets (kept very clean), and catch rain water to shower and wash hands. Everyone makes you feel at home and comfortable and the owners and staff are so happy, you can't but enjoy yourself. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Five star without question! Beautiful setting; engaging, highly involved, personable and top notch owners and staff; very tasty and plentiful food, comfortable, clean cabins. We also became PADI Open Water certified, a program that was highly personalized and paced exactly to our needs - thanks Bev! The snorkeling and scuba diving are incredible at Glover's Reef. We're not really people who go to "resorts," but this was such an unostentatious place (yet everything done with a touch of class) in an incredible setting with enjoyable people that we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DualSportRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
5.2 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
193 reviews
24.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
999 reviews
24.1 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
89 reviews
20.3 mi away
IZE Belize
IZE Belize
#1 of 1 in South Water Caye
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort

Address: Long Caye, Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off The Wall Dive Center is situated on a private island in the turquoise waters of Glover's Atoll. We are a small Eco-friendly, PADI 5 star Dive Center and Resort and offer Scuba Courses, Whale Shark trips and the best diving, snorkeling and fly-fishing in Belize, as well as kayaking and stand up paddling. Or, just come to relax and enjoy our white, sandy beaches and idealistic setting for getting away from it all. Our packages include Saturday boat transportation to and from our island, 7 nights accommodations in charming, ocean front cabanas, and all your meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Off The Wall Dive Center And Resort
Off The Wall Dive Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Off The Wall Dive Center & Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing