We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the Reef before it's too late”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isla Marisol Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“See the Reef before it's too late”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The main reason to come here is to see the amazing reef with its diversity of corals and fish. Because this place is so remote you have to pay a high price but it is worth it. The food was very good and the cabins adequate taking into account the remoteness of the place. I was bothered by the sand flies a lot and the screen doors in the cabin had great gaps but since you were allowed to turn the AC at night(only at night)that kept the coolness of the room kept the bugs out. The location is why you visit here so as long as you keep that in perspective and don't expect too much you will have a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with least exposure to sand flies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    37
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
92
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My family had a wonderful trip and would return again. We happily put away our electronic devices for the week, and three young children were content for the entire trip. The divemaster is one of the best I've been with in more than 30 years of diving. With 3 young children, we spent much of our time snorkeling, and the snorkel guide was helpful, understanding, and made special efforts to make the children comfortable but also educate them. The scuba diving was quite good and very easy, with the reef just a short boat ride away, and the staff very flexible in planning trips. I can't imagine a better environment for snorkeling than the atoll, with wonderful coral and sealife in shallow, calm water. I would suggest booking a snorkeling package if that is a primary focus, as most good spots were accessed by boat. The only negative for both snorkeling and diving was trash in the water from offshore, which at times was pretty bad, but must be an occasional problem anywhere on that coast.

The food was quite good, though not fancy, served in an informal manner. We had no complaints and the staff were fantastic and responsive.

We went in August, a bit concerned about the weather, but most days were great, though we often had strong storms late at night, which didn't interfere at all. We did use A/C in the evenings and were glad to have it. Power and hot water were not always available, but that was never a problem. We only accessed wifi to confirm return flights and were so happy to be disconnected. We did use the bar on the pier with regularity, and all ages loved it. Tarpon, squid and sharks that came to the lights in the evening provide unlimited entertainment.

The facilities and some equipment are not perfect (scuba equipment was in top condition), but this is an island only served by boat and 2-3 hours from the mainland. One must have reasonable expectations, and any inconvenience was a fair trade-off for the wonderful isolation. If you plan to fish, you should take your own equipment, and I'd recommend always taking your own fins and mask where ever you go.

Our fellow guests were quite pleasant, something that can't be controlled, but the staff were uniformly helpful, cheerful, and responsive.

My family would love to go back, and that's the best recommendation that I can give to a place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the reef house on the ocean side of the island. A short walk but more private and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDShack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Snorkelling and diving site galore all around the island and on both sides of the reef so whichever way the wind blows there is a shelterd side.
Bone fishing is great right in front of the resort and all around the island. A guest even caught a huge tarpon off the dock.
We went out with the staff spear fishing and they shot a 60lb grouper,which we had for dinner!
The staff are very friendly and attentive. The snorkelling and dive guides are very knowledgeable.
The cabanas are clean and although a little rustic have ac, ceiling fans and hot water.
Some of the cabanas are right over the, water and others just in amongst the palm trees.
Dining is family style with lots of good food and seconds available always.
The bar is out over the water is great and is visited by staff and even local commercial fishermen so is fun.
The ride out to the island takes 1.5hours and the boat, a cabin cruiser, is very noisy with hard,seats but a good opportunity to meet other guests before you arrive!

Room Tip: #2,3 and 4 are on/over the water but all the cabanas are so close that any are good. Second time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our family (adults and kids) had a fantastic and relaxing week at Isla Marisol. The staff were so welcoming and accommodating whether with meals or with snorkeling trips. We also tried a discovery Scuba course and Eddie is a "scuba whisperer" and helped our daughter overcome some trepidation about diving and ultimately want to get her scuba certification (next trip!). The reef health and fish we saw were just amazing. We enjoyed daily snorkel trips, kayak trips, stand up paddle boarding, yoga, a fishing trip, and relaxing at the bar. The meals surpassed our expectations and they graciously accommodated our children's more limited palates.
The boat ride back (subject to the whim's of the ocean and weather) was a little rough so bring motion sickness medication if in doubt. Don't go expecting a Four Seasons style resort but go expecting impressive accommodations given a delightfully secluded and remote location. The location and staff there are a treasure. It was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation for our family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rustic, clean and comfortable with unexpected luxuries like AC (not needed) and wi-fi. Step out of the privately situated cabana onto the beach to watch the pelicans busy fishing, and enjoy magnificent views even when stormy. Staff were all helpful and friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and playful. Enjoyed the large family style dinners, (breakfast was served, eggs any way with breads and ham etc.), as a great way to get to know fellow caye guests, management and staff, and hear about everyone's adventures of the day. There was always juice and tea and coffee available in the dining room. Yoga sessions were available for a modest fee early mornings and evenings. Safety while scuba and snorkeling was a high priority and I heard nothing but praise for the guides on that score. Isla Marisol's charm lies in its location, but with that comes a boat ride that felt longer the rougher the seas were. While the seas are under no one's control and the conditions may be routine to experienced travelers to the area, next time I will both wear and sit on a life jacket! The resort was populated by singles, couples and families during our stay, many of them repeat visitors.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Twomaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I can't say enough about how helpful staff were, especially with snorkeling and helping to get our masks in great shape. Thanks for the loan of the wetsuits - the reef was absolutely amazing and it didn't matter that it was raining at all.
Great food, clean accommodation, nice people to meet, great place for active people including families.
We had a calm boat ride to get to the atoll, but a little rough on the way back - nothing we couldn't handle.
It's a different world out there, and the owners are proud of what they've created.
3 days wasn't enough to see all we wanted to see, and sometimes weather can get in the way.
The condition of the reef is excellent - we saw lobster, barracuda, a nurse shark, stingrays, lion fish, lots of coral. The snorkeling trips are well staffed - they obviously enjoy their work and sharing with the guests.
We chose this location because of the healthy coral reefs - we made the right choice.

Room Tip: Any of the cabanas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayaFanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,136 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location, isolated resort on a small island with comfortable cabins with showers, fans, AC , and fabulous views. Cabins are basic but more than I expected in this location.
Resort basically for snorkelers and divers, sea kayaks available. The remoteness also allows for self discovery, great scenery.
Meals and kitchen staff are great, although lunch menu was very limited. Wifi although slow is great to have at dining room. Dinner buffet at large tables. Staff very helpful.
Snorkelling good, twice daily boat goes out with a guide who is very helpful. Reef I saw was very good and even the lagoon was interesting.
Just remember it is a significant boat ride out from mainland so u do lose some vacation time BUT the reefs are less damaged by casual snorkelers that are present closer to mainland. The ride can be rough in bad weather and I would hope the resort has started to tell people where the life jackets are and that there are sufficient numbers for the number of passengers.
This is a unique place to visit for snorkelers, definitely worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glovers Reef Atoll
21.2 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
931 reviews
21.4 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
526 reviews
16.9 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#7 of 19 in Placencia
258 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ranguana Caye Cabanas
Ranguana Caye Cabanas
#8 of 27 in Placencia
17 reviews
24.7 mi away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Marisol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Marisol Resort

Property: Isla Marisol Resort
Address: Glovers Reef Atoll, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Glovers Reef Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glovers Reef Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Isla Marisol Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isla Marisol Resort lies on a pristine, secluded palm-studded island on Glover's Reef Atoll (a UN World Heritage site) in Belize. Of the five inhabited island on Glover's Reef, Isla Marisol is the only one offering private en-suite bathrooms, fresh water showers, hot and cold water, air conditioning, and daily housekeeping service. Isla Marisol Resort also offers frosty cold libations at our infamous "over the water" bar and phenomenal Belizean style food in our dining room. Incredible watersports are just a stone's throw from the resort, with most diving and snorkeling sites just 5-15 minutes from the island. All ages and experience welcome! Anglers can hit the "grand-slam" from their front porch, with World class fly fishing for tarpon, permit, and bonefish, quite literally at our door step. Daily deep sea fishing trips for Wahoo, Kingfish, Marlin, and a host of other fun fish, depart from Isla Marisol daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Isla Marisol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Marisol Hotel Glovers Reef Atoll
Isla Marisol Dangriga
Isla Marisol Resort Belize/Glovers Reef Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing