We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Long Caye Resort
Nearby Hotels
Isla Marisol Resort(Glovers Reef Atoll)
$476
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Juntos Cottages(Teakettle)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Valley(Teakettle)
$96
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Inn(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
$220
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blancaneaux Lodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gaia Riverlodge(Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve)
$189
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
153
7
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
7
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskayak surfingslickrock adventureswater sportsadventure islandbelize citylead guidefishno pressuremarine lifeother guestspacking listfeel comfortablegreat escapefavorite partfacilities are excellentself rescuebuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 165 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Slickrock Rocks! We just got back this past week and my boys cannot stop talking about it.
It's just like going to camp! We spent our days playing...surf kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking, windsurfing, stand up paddleboarding, kite surfing, hammock surfing, etc. In the evening, there is volleyball, appetizers, and Mario games (Mario being a real human being who gets all kinds of fun games giong)board games.
The great thing about the whole experience is there are NO surprises. The island is a well run machine. When you sign up, they will send you daily itineraries (weather dependent), the menu for the week, and everything else you need to know.
The island is rustic! Do not expect to be able to charge your tech stuff quickly (or at all in some cases). The huts are basic - one small light, no bathroom, platform bed with a cushy mat. However, it was perfect. We stayed in #11 and it was very private, lots of vegetation all around.
There is a shower area. It's very clean but we never had warm water. There are two types of restrooms - sort of outhouse style. One is for pee, one is for the other and is a composting toilet.
The people (guides) there were all friendly, knowledgeable and fun to be around.
We cannot say enough about what a great experience we had! My boys want to go back NOW.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SlickrockAdventures, Owner at Long Caye Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is gratifying to know that you and your boys loved your week on the island --- including the unusual accommodations --- and that there were no surprises. We go to great lengths on our website and in talking directly with prospective customers to help them understand the unique nature of our resort. We've even coined a phrase to describe the experience -- "Five Star Camping". Glad the reality matched your expectations. -- Franklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent 6 days and 5 nights on this glorious island. I will make this short and sweet. If you do not like to camp, don't go. If you need room service, don't go. But if you want to see nature in all of its glory...GO! The snorkeling is out of this world...I have been to many places in the caribbean. Aruba, Turks and Caicos, Cozumel, Bahamas, the Keys....nothing compares to the wild life and coral at Grover's reef, a wildlife reserve. Slickrock is top notch. The food was so great, the people were just lovely, and the adventures were unforgettable. No TV, no phone (gasp) no e-mail, computers...just the waves, wind and relaxation.

Room Tip: Hmmm, they are wooden cabins all on the ocean. Don't know which one would be better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSSBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

WHY DID WE CHOOSE GLOVERS REEF ATOLL WITH SLICKROCK?

We were looking for a snorkel/kayak vacation and learned that the Barrier Reef in Belize was unmatched. We researched all of the available options and when we ran across Slickrock we were delighted because they offered not only snorkeling and kayaking, but windsurfing, kite sailing, surf kayaking, surfing, fishing, world class diving, SUP, and more! And all on a private island in the middle of the Caribbean!

WHY WOULD WE GO BACK TO SLICKROCK?

The experience exceeded our expectations on every level. The activities, the guides, the hosts, the cooks, the entire staff, and the experience were top notch. The snorkeling was the best we've ever experienced with octopus, eels, lobster, and the most abundant and beautiful fish we've ever seen. The trip was as personalized or group oriented as you chose. What we most enjoyed was that we could try anything we wanted, for as long as we wanted, get help if we wanted, refine it on our own if we wanted, be with the group if we wanted, have a personal activity if we wanted. The selection of activities and the pace were ours to choose. We would highly recommend this trip to all of our adventurous friends. The guides are excellent on and off the water. They are knowledgeable about the equipment, safety, instruction, marine life, history, geology, ecology, etc. The couldn't have done more to make sure we were well taken care of. The cooks prepared a wide variety of local favorites that were excellent and fresh. The cabanas are basic, with a beautiful setting on the water's edge. However, we spent almost no time at the cabana as we were always in/on the water. The trip was worth every penny and we'd do it again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debilouadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Slickrock Adventures' Long Caye trip was fantastic! Location, activities, food, guides/instruction, and hospitality were all wonderful! We spent much of our time kayaking, snorkeling and just kicking back on this idyllic island getaway. We were new to snorkeling and the instruction and guiding was excellent. Our guides were incredibly knowledgeable about the reefs and their inhabitants, we could not get enough! The life style and facilities are simple in the most positive way.....no distractions from the beauty of our surroundings. Everything was so well organized and fluid. we are already planning our return trip! Thank you Lucy, Mark, MJ, Meg, Luis, Ivor, and the whole Slickrock crew!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you are only comfotable at a five star hotel, please stay at one, this is not for you! But, if you love total seclusion, no cell phone, no internet, and tons of outdoor fun, then go to Glovers Reef w/Slickrock. The island is just so beautiful! The cabins, restrooms, and showers were very
very clean, and much nicer then I expected. The diving is completely amazing! Dove w
turtles, baracuda, nurse sharks, stingray, lion fish, parrot fish, scorpion fish, and many, many more. The cabin was right on the water, and I totally loved being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Lucy and Gerrish are wonderful hosts. The staff is always helpful.
If you want to be totally comfortable, and enjoy your trip, be properly prepared! READ everything
that they send! They took the time to write it for a reason.
And, diet before you go, because you will gain at least 5 pounds. All food is prepared from scratch, and is incredibly delicious. I would go back, just to eat the food!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nemosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews